We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Misty Mountain Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Misty Mountain Reserve
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Misty Mountain Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Maarssen, Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We were there in winter time as a one night stay over on the garden route, and it was very quiet, but staff was so nice for us. We stayed at the family lodge which was great, with view overlooking the sea. We even saw a whale! Restaurant food was amazing!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogier C
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Rogier C Thank you for the great comments on our menu, accommodation and views, we are happy you enjoyed the serenity at Misty and that you saw a whale, it is always a treat to watch them. We look forward to your return visit. Warm regards Management & Staff

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Lovely weekend, will recommend the venue to all friends and family, very casual environment and staff are very friendly. Was richly blessed on Saturday with a birthday cake supplied by the staff on my 60th. All the staff were great, however I would single out Janine.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlh494
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear carth494 We are so delighted that you enjoyed your 60th birthday celebration at Misty Mountain Reserve and that Janine and the staff made it very special. Thank you for recommending Misty to your family and friends, we look forward to welcoming them. Warm regards Management & Staff

Palo Alto, CA
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We only stayed one night at Misty Mountain and, unfortunately, the weather was not ideal so we could not take full advantage of all that the Reserve has to offer. However, we can say that the luxury, ocean view lodge we stayed in was very nice with beautiful views of the grounds and ocean. Although it's log cabin style, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkrause3
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear mkrause3 What a wonderful review, thank you, we will certainly pass your compliments to Jermiena. We are delighted you enjoyed the lodge and meals, it's a pity the weather was miserable, the Tsitsikamma is truly a gem to explore with so much on offer. We look forward to welcoming you on a longer visit next time. Warm regards Management...

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The staff and their service was the best. Really such nice people. Very welcoming and accommodating. The only negative point is the early start of the farmers that we could hear from our room. But we do know people have to work, so its not really a negative on Misty Mountains. Its a personal opinion.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 928madeleins
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 928madeleins "The staff and their service was the best." Thank you for the lovely compliments. We appreciate you taking the time to review our establishment. Warm regards Management & Staff

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The name is misleading if one is expecting to be located in a mountain reserve. However , once there , the peace and tranquility one experiences is rejuvenating in a true Farm environment. Definitely a Winter Getaway with great sea views and hiking trails. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 925beverleyc
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 925beverleyc Highly recommended Winter Getaway. Thank you for wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity at Misty and that you departed rejuvenated. We look forward to your return visit. Safe travels. Warm regards Management & Staff

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed at the lodge in February and had a fantastic time! The sunset, food, friendly and professional staff made our stay well worth it. I would recommend to everyone looking for a place to stay in Tsitsikamma. regards Marthinus

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UntouchedAdventures
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear UntouchedAdventures "Well worth it!" Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Misty Mountain Reserve. We hope you had a wonderful time with the family and enjoyed being in nature. Come visit again soon. Warm regards Management & Staff

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 27 June 2016

On my invoice and at the breakfast table it was said we get 10% discount on surrounding activities, however, at the front desk no such discount was offered! We were told that's no longer available! This was one of the reasons for booking with Misty!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B3468UNjasonw
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear B3468UNjasonw Thank you for your comment, we value your feedback and have looked into your enquiry. There was a misunderstanding with our new staff member, please contact us via email to redeem your discounted voucher on the activities, it will be a pleasure to resolve this matter. We hope you had a wonderful stay in nature. We look forward...

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Excellent Stay. Accommodation, View, Meals, Efficiency and Friendliness all outstanding. Located on a working farm. Various types of accommodation. 4 x Chalets in close proximity ideal for a large family - Aunts, Uncles, Cousins, overlooking the mountains. Tented accommodation overlooking a lake. Log cabins overlooking the ocean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 901viviennel
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 901viviennel "Excellent stay", thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our team appreciate the reviews and take great pride in offering excellent customer service. We cater for all styles of accommodation, all offering unique features and views. We look forward to your return visit, thank you for choosing to visit Misty. Warm regards Management & Staff

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

So after my reservation earlier this year it was eventually time to leave for our weekend. As Murphy has it crisis after crisis we only got on the toad late and it was raining and dark outside. Werner fromthe Reserve guided us telephonically after we took a wrong turn (never trust your gps 😉 ) Eventually we got there cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natassja U
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Natassja U What a lovely review on our establishment, thank you for the detailed report. We are delighted you enjoyed your break away and the great customer service from our team. We look forward to you visiting your "happy place" very soon. Warm regards Management & Staff

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We had an overall good stay Misty Mountains. The cabin was spacious with lovely views and the spa bath was great. Food was excellent and service overall great. The establishment is a bit out of the way (quite a bit of gravel road to cover) and being located next to a dairy farm, flies and some farm smells may be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PE_Travelmeister
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear PE_Travelmeister "Enjoyable stay". Thank you for taking the time to comment on our establishment. We value your feedback and take note of your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed the accommodation, meals and that our team took great care of you. Warm regards Management & Staff

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsitsikamma National Park hotels
8.4 km away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
770 reviews
8.1 km away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
587 reviews
8.2 km away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Storms River
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
359 reviews
8.1 km away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
217 reviews
8.4 km away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#10 of 13 in Storms River
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adventure for those who venture out ... Whether you’re seeking a family holiday, romantic breakaway or adventure weekend or simply needing to retreat in nature, Misty Mountain Reserve offers the perfect getaway, surrounded by nature offering 360 degree views of the ocean, indigenous forest and Tsitsikamma Mountains. A variety of accommodation from Ocean View Lodges, Lake Side Tents and self-catering Rustic Farm Cottages, each offering a unique experience. On site activities include scenic indigenous forest walks, guided David Lane Trail, fresh water fishing, a 9 hole mashie chip and wedge golf course and 4 mountain biking routes varying in difficulty from 8.7km – 65km. The reserve is also surrounded by many wild animal sanctuaries and adventurous activities including canopy tours, bungy jumping, Segway, ziplining, Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Elephant Sanctuary, Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, Tenikwa Wild Cat Sanctuary, Lawnwood Snakepark and much more. We pride ourselves on good value, luxury accommodation; delicious meals, friendly staff and great customer service, guests departing inspired and rested with wonderful experiences in nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Reserve

Address: | Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park
Price Range: $134 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Mountain Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It doesn't matter because all are beautiful and warm”
 of 5 bubbles GeraldineNtai, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“tent 4 is set apart ( book as excecutive sea view)”
 of 5 bubbles philippeD350, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite was at the end of the chalet row which ensured privacy from those walking to and from the restaurant on the board walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Mourneadventurer, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view lodges were my first choice!”
 of 5 bubbles KriBauer09, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Three types of accommodation: we loved the shabby chic cottages”
 of 5 bubbles mandl14, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay