We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein

Expedia.comUS$80*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$80*
Great Deal
US$81*
US$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In a nutshell - Every Aspect was excellent. Room beautiful, very clean, quite, very helpful and friendly staff. Safe secure parking. Very accessible from the N1 Freeway. Information supplied in the room was fantastic. Will most definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zeldag2016
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife, I and two of our friends stayed over on Saturday evening for the one night. We had to check in late, about which we let the staff know when we realised it. The rooms were perfectly clean, with everything working. The staff, not only at reception, were most helpful and friendly. We did not have dinner there, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a recent bike ride from Johannesburg around Eastern Cape to Port Elizabeth and back we made an unscheduled overnight stop in Bloemfontein, with no reservation we pitched up at the City Lodge requested two rooms and the rooms were available so we checked in. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms were spotless - well done The Staff were welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLC_4play
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel is centrally located, typical basic City Lodge, average breakfast, friendly staff, basics in room, OK for business trip if only needing bed and shower! Must mention the great service I got when I checked in

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christelle S
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We slept over on our way to Cape Town. Reception were prompt and friendly. Room in excellent condition. Enjoyed a super great chicken salad and glass of wine in the restaurant. Full buffet Breakfast was served with happy smiles ann excellent service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moments_ago
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2017

When we arrived we had some challenges with booking that was soon sorted. however the reception was not welcoming. Hotel has a light meal restuarant who themselves suggest one needs to order from Mr delivery cause meal preparation will take longer with them. there are other options but that also is in a mall and requires a bit of walking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Punkie N
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad to hear that the problems with your booking were suitably resolved, but we’re sorry to hear about the other experiences you encountered during your stay. Our reception should always be welcoming, so this is disappointing to hear. The smoking situation does sound very annoying and uncomfortable – and we will certainly look...

Ames, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 19 March 2017

"You always know what to expect when you book at City Lodge." A quote from one of our party. We had a clean odor free room with a comfortable bed. The swimming pool was in need of attention but we enjoyed it nonetheless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time and that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The City Lodge in Bloem is well located across the road from the hospital and mall in Bloem and has plenty of enclosed guest parking. While not a big hotel I found it to be perfectly adequate for a city of this size. The staff are friendly , all of them, and I note particularly the barmen who still put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Faye, we appreciate your appraisal of our team, hotel facilities and hotel location. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed and pleasant review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stop over every year from East london with 2 small kids! And our experience was once again awesome!! This hotel is well maintained and super clean with a beautiful swimming pool to relax after the long road !! Staff is very very friendly and I must mention and compliment the house keeping manager Marlyn , We asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dino803
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We always come back to City Lodge in Bloem. We know exactly what we will get. Great service, clean room and bathroom. A very nice bar / restaurant area where you can order light meals. The meals are always great! There is a beautiful pool too where light meals and drinks can be served. A must for a stop over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estellecza
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
1.1 km away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
10.1 km away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 22 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#9 of 22 in Bloemfontein
93 reviews
3.2 km away
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
#10 of 22 in Bloemfontein
65 reviews
0.4 km away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 22 in Bloemfontein
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A pool set in a beautiful garden is a treat for those moments of relaxation. This convenient location has numerous amenities within walking distance, such as the Bloemfontein Medi Clinic, Zoo, Free State Stadium, restaurants and shopping centres. It is also close to the N1 motorway and 2 minutes away from Bloemfontein’s CBD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein

Address: Nelson Mandela Drive, Bloemfontein 9300, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Price Range: $111 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Bloemfontein
Bloemfontein City Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the stairs, ask for a first floor room.”
D7814SXrobertn, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pool facing rooms are more quiete than those facing the main road.”
deon-adel, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the Nelson Mandela Street side are a bit quieter than the ones on the Parfitt Avenue side.”
147jds, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to Mimosa mall (walking distance) with a several restaurants.”
248gertrudem, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ground floor perfect”
lesegol924, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$81
Orbitz.comUS$81
TravelocityUS$81
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates