We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Birchwood Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Birchwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Birchwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 508: English reviews
Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Services of the hotel was poor. I was traveling with kids and I asked for a cot during booking and two times on arrival and I never received it. All those times I was told it's available and will get it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sindiswas
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sindiswas, We certainly express a sincere apology for the non-delivery of the cot after request and informing that you will receive it. This is not an acceptable standard from our side and should you wish to elaborate on any further aspect of your stay, or any way that we did not meet your expectations, kindly email me on gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za....

Durban
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very impressed with the facilities. I would like to extend a thank you to the teatime conference facility staff who went out of their way to provide me with gluten free treats. Much appreciated!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S2790URsarahc
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S2790URsarahc, We were happy to assist you with your dietary requests and appreciated your feedback on our facilities. Looking forward to seeing you again.

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We choose this hotel due to the proximity to OR Tambo airport. The premesis is huge thus golfcart transfer is somtimes needed to get to your room, this could take a while during rush hour. Wifi is OK but somtimes weak. The room was small but OK. Room service never managed to replenish 2 tea cup at once; one cup...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client, Thank you for your review, We have reviewed your comments and naturally, based on your frustrations with the WiFi, room size and housekeeping - it is clear that your stay with us was not at the level that we would have liked to provide. The items mentioned will be discussed internally - we continue to look for...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good except very poor Wifi connection. The staff at the hotel could not assist either. When I arrived the first eve I was advised that the IT technicians in charge had gone and I was very much stuck. I could not finish my works which I wanted to do neither could I respond to my urgent e-mails. All the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmU2391QT
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear johnmU2391QT, We certainly apologize for the WiFi connectivity which likely was affected by high-occupancy on the day. Naturally, however, you should have been efficiently assisted and this will be addressed internally as to why you were not. We are pleased that the rest of your stay was enjoyed and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was of quality and I would love to call again the device provide is likely what most of people need can but please check the irons they have black stains which makes our clothes daty that was the only problem acured

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAULOSTUMELO
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PAULOSTUMELO, Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and certainly apologize for the iron creating marks when using it. This will be communicated to our team internally! Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food during lunch time was to salty. I have a problem with accommodation for the team which had training on the 8 - 10 March 2017, The conference room was in Cape Town. I had a problem with transporting them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maseramep
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maseramep, We are sorry to hear that the food experienced was not to your liking and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We also, certainly apologize for any frustrations experienced with the accommodation transportation. I certainly hope that this will not prevent you from returning to us!

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very warm, friendly and refreshing reception that makes one feel at home as u enjoy a serene environment. The rooms are immaculate and the entire staff excellent; very professional, efficient, welcoming to make your stay really pleasurable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V M
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear V M, Thank you for review, Your comments regarding the rooms, staff and environment are happily noted, and we appreciate your feedback on the experience had! We are so happy that you enjoyed what we have to offer. See you again soon!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent service and friendliness of staff . Value for money .rooms are comfortable .peaceful environment. the efficiency and helpfulness at the airport kiosk was great. the shuttle drivers are polite and helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 196terrencep
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 196terrencep, Your feedback is much appreciated! Glad to hear we provided you with the standard we aim to uphold and look forward to welcoming you back.

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at the hotel was great, they should introduce herbal teas and honey in their teas as well. The food was great though and the staff was excellent.The Hotel should introduce rewards cards as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kgomotsegom
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kgomotsegom, Thank you for your review, Your comments regarding the additional tea / honey options as well as the reward system have been noted. A loyalty scheme is something we are looking implementing so watch this space! See you again soon1

Kuruman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Birchwood Hotel staff are always friendly and welcoming and that is making me feel at home whenever I visited their venue. Excellent services from arrival, checking in, meals provided and of course the shuttle services.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 517edgarv
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 517edgarv, We were so pleased to provide you with a memorable stay from start to finish! See you again soon!

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
0.2 km away
Silverbirch @ Birchwood
Silverbirch @ Birchwood
#2 of 6 in Boksburg
375 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
5.0 km away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
6.2 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,859 reviews
7.8 km away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre is South Africa's leading business-to-business conferencing facility, catering to hundreds of business travellers from all over the world each year. Over 17 years of experience in hospitality, and in understanding the needs of our guests, coupled with a location that is hard to beat, are the secrets to our success at the Birchwood Hotel. Added to our "success formula" is our staff who are highly trained and dedicated to exceeding the expectations of our guests. The Birchwood Hotel offers 665 accommodation rooms, 60 on-site venues, three restaurants, including a fine-dining steak-house, a café and wine bar for quick meals and drinks and our aviation bar, for relaxing after a hard day's business. Other facilities include the Mangwanani African Day Spa, a gym, pool and squash courts. We at the Birchwood Hotel pride ourselves on the exceptional service of our staff and their dedication to ensuring all our guests' needs and preferences are catered for. With our large range of venues and facilities which enables us to host any sized event, whether it be for two delegates or 3000 delegates, we guarantee the all-important personal touch, by ensuring flexibility and affordability for all event types and budgets. Let us at the Birchwood Hotel assist you with your next conference, banquet, product launch, exhibition, wedding or accommodation needs, because as Gauteng's premier hospitality hub we endeavour to make your occasion our occasion! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birchwood Hotel

Address: Viewpoint Street | Bartlett, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Price Range: $85 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Birchwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Boksburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Birchwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Birchwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in Silver Birch, room was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles AltaV, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from room 1008 - no cellphone reception and wi-fi connectivity. Spend a bit more and book at SilverBirch.”
 of 5 bubbles sanjaybmwx1, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The individual rooms are spread over the complex and there are different options at different prices to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles Piyaw, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Value stay rooms are quiet noisy”
 of 5 bubbles ThisPandaTravels, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Depends on whether you want to be near the lobby area, the conference center, the spa, or the Grill restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles D2612CWgarym, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5