We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tintswalo at Waterfall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Tintswalo at Waterfall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend of mine had her farewell party here. She booked for about 16 people on my recommendation as i had been here before and i know they are flexible with large group bookings. We ordered from a set menu and as always the food did not disappoint and the dessert was scrumptious. The only issue with the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yuggibear
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning, I hope you are well. Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and had a good experience.

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

My stay at Tintswalo at Waterfall was good and comfortable. I stayed there for one night only on business at the same venue. The rooms are very spacious. My only "complaint" was that the wifi did not work during my entire stay. Although I mentioned this to the manager they still could not get it to work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ratego
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning Ratego, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have since sorted our our Wifi and it works perfectly now. We look forward to have you stay with us again in the near future. Regards, Martin

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My experience at Tintswalo was unfortunately very disappointing. It started well enough and went downhill from there. Firstly, the positives: Room The room is very nice. Spacious and well appointed. We stayed on the polo field side and had a lovely view from the room over the polo fields. They provide sherry for sundowners. The bathroom was a good size...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carrolfam
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning, I am truly sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Waterfall. This is definitely not how we intend our guests to experience the hotel. We will make work of the points you mentioned in your review. Feel free to send me further details of your stay on gm@waterfall.tintswalo.com. I hope that you will grant us...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Just love driving into this safe and secure hotel located very central for business and pleasure. To entertain clients is so convenient as you can stay right where you are or travel just down the road to great restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 871elnac
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good day, We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you return soon. Regards, Martin

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 28 September 2016

What a wonderful service we have received and the staff members are very friendly and efficient. World class culinary arts. The environment is quite and decor very classy. i would recommend the venue to any person.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matlale
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning Matlale, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to host you again in the near future. Regards, Martin

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I was fortunate enough to be spoilt by my husband for our Anniversary. Tintswalo staff went above and beyond to make it very special for us right down to Sherry waiting for us in our room after dinner with roses and candles everywhere. A completely different experience from the average hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gill022015
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning, I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for making Tintswalo part of your special day. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards, Martin

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at the exquisite Tintswalo at Waterfall which is an exquisite, five star, boutique hotel. It is situated in close proximity to Waterfall Estate and the Mall of Africa so for those of you looking for an incredible staycation or accommodation for a business trip somewhere within Johannesburg, definitely keep reading. We arrived at Tintswalo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArumLilea
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you very much for the kind words. We enjoyed having you here, and hope you visit us again soon. Kind regards, Martin

UK
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

As a trainer you often expect facility's and resources to be good at best. This location I can safely say was brilliant on all the four workshops I have run there. Excellent for training and wonderful helpful staff. They cannot do more for you. All thus and tge location is just stunning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MADena
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good day, I am happy to hear that you enjoy working with us. We look forward to work with you again in future. Kind regards, Martin

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 September 2016

5 Stars? more like 3-star service. Staff are sullen and unattentive, Breakfast Buffet disappointing - we had to ask for refills as some of the chaffing dishes were just about empty and would not be enough for our group, coffee orders were only half delivered, toast arrived halfway through the meal, etc. What was supposed to be a lovely Secretaries'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvettedejager
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good day Yvette, I am sorry to read that you didn't have a good experience at Waterfall for breakfast as part of your Secretaries' day celebration. This is not the kind of experience we like our guests to have. Please email me on gm@waterfall.tintswalo.com. with further details. I would like to sort this our for future. Kind regards, Martin

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 August 2016

If you want to surprise your spouse, it could be your anniversary, birthday etc, Tintswalo at waterfall is the place to celebrate, no words could describe how beautiful the place is. The people who work their are friendly and welcoming, which makes your stay more enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 78musag
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for the kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your celebration with us. We love making special days even more so. We look forward to host you again in the near future. Kind regards, Martin

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
13.0 km away
Ten Bompas
Ten Bompas
#19 of 70 in Johannesburg
80 reviews
14.0 km away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#17 of 70 in Johannesburg
148 reviews
17.2 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
630 reviews
12.4 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
14.4 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique urban boutique hotel close to the JHB CBD and within distance from major airports. 16 rooms on a 230 hectare secure estate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tintswalo at Waterfall

Address: Cnr R55 & Maxwell Drive, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $368 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo at Waterfall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tintswalo at Waterfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tintswalo at Waterfall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the Polo Field side to stay - nice views”
 of 5 bubbles Carrolfam, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are equally beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles ArumLilea, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“lovely views of grass field where horses can be exercised.”
 of 5 bubbles yvettedejager, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“i have no complains with the room, but i would change the couches ”
 of 5 bubbles 78musag, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Great food, excellent service and private.”
 of 5 bubbles Ntoshane, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay