We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Agterplaas B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Agterplaas B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Agterplaas B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 January 2017

it was very relaxing...very friendly staff....comfortable. the atmosphere was very ambient. loved the smell of fresh baked bread in the morning. rooms were very neat. i loved the ambience. we get so caught up in the hustle and bustle of city life that we forget the importance and benefits of nature and the simple pleasures in life.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thavanir
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest. I'm so glad to hear that we were able to offer you a refuge from your busy schedule. The chef is so pleased that you loved the smell of freshly baked bread - we all do! Looking forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Johannesburg and hope you'll be able to explore the area further. Best...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We were given a lovely spacious room on the other side of the road in a adjoining building. It had a small terrace overlooking the garden and private parking space. The owners and staff were more than welcoming. They made us feel right at home. Just around the corner there are numerous eating out-options, some quirky shops and a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frederique L
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Frederique, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Agterplaas B&B. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your room, balcony and garden. We are so privileged to have this location - so near to the vibey Melville eateries and little iconic shops, but at the same time, a tranquil view of...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Had a fantastic stay here. Staff was extremely kind and generous, took special care of us on our Honeymoon. Nice rooms, bigger than expected, and clean. Great Hospitality. Will stay again when in Jburg!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C9236ZTjohnr
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Happy Guests, I am so delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion - as part of your your honeymoon - with us. We wish you both a very happy marriage and hope to have you back in the near future and take part in more of your life's celebrations and milestones. All the best for the...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Location is about 1 km from Melville shops from where you can get a taxi or tuk tuk and about 100m from a large range of restaurants. Not close to CBD but that's why i chose it because it is safe, peaceful and quiet so can have great night's sleep. Staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent cooked full breakfast with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4807HMjohnm
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Melville and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from restaurants and modern-day conveniences. Our staff will be pleased to hear that you valued...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We had a lovely big room with a terrace overlooking the garden and very comfortable beds.Everyone working at the guesthouse was very welcoming and they were extremely helpful to us when we had a problem. Super breakfasts cooked to order.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 351suee
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will let our staff know that you were pleased with their service, and the chef will be especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the 'super breakfasts'. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Essen, Germany
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed at Agterplaas for two nights on a family vacation. The place is conveniently located and beautifully decorated. Two things about Agterplaas stood out for us especially. First, the complimentary breakfast was fantastic. Great choice of food, amazing quality and simply delicious! All 5 family members agree that we had the best breakfast at Agterplaas out of our whole...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmafreitag
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you and your family when next you visit South Africa. All the best.

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Agterplaas is centrally located in Mellville/Auckland Park. We stayed there as participants of the 2016 World Masters Squash Torunament. It was safe and clean with very friendly staff. The breakfasts (included) was amazing with lots of home made food. It was like a home from home. Well done!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwentyTwelve
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can, that also includes our breakfast! Thank you for your support, we hope'll you stay with us again when next in Johannesburg. Take care!

Tzaneen
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I recently had to attend a course at Wits Business School and decided to try out the Agerplaas B&B. After staying in a hotel the previous month the Agterplaas was a breath of fresh air! The staff were very friendly, the decor fabulous, the birds sang to us over a breakfast of fresh farm bread and fruit salad. The cooked...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 493zeldav
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear happy guest, I am so glad to hear that we were able to offer you a refuge from your busy schedule, thank you for your positive comments about our friendly staff, decor and delicious breakfast. The birds are such welcome visitors, we also enjoy their presence. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us!...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Need a place to stay in Joburg. Well look no further. Agterplaas is a fantastic little B & B in Melville. The staff are friendly, talkative, easy going and will go out of their way to help you. The rooms are large and comfy, basically akin to rooms at much pricier hotels. The property is safe and only a minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Happy Guest. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Melville and a strategic location - tranquility, the view of the Melville koppiesand also just a few steps (via our secure alley) from restaurants, eateries and iconic shops. We...

Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Were looking for nice and quiet accommodation close to the WITS business school - found it in Agterplaas B&B. Had everything I need and a homey feeling. I got the "disabled" room with a toilet a bit high and no shower door, but nothing to complain about. Breakfast was fantastic with freshly home-baked break and other "goodies"; a great menu...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheoDoris
Santie W, General Manager at Agterplaas B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall and enjoyed the breakfast especially. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your room, it was specially designed and built to accommodate our guests with disabilities - and unfortunately - the last available room. Please...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.5 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
549 reviews
5.1 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
679 reviews
4.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 290 in Johannesburg
121 reviews
0.5 km away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 290 in Johannesburg
256 reviews
1.2 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 290 in Johannesburg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Agterplaas B&B is a piece of countryside in the heart of Johannesburg. We are a hundred meters from the '7de laan' boutiques, book stores, pubs and restaurants, but supper can also be enjoyed by appointment where we overlook the Melville 'Koppies'. We are centrally situated - close to UJ, Wits, Helen Joseph- and Milpark-hospitals, Mediapark and the SABC, with a bus route close by. Airport and Gautrain transfers are available on request at competitive prices. There is also the Melville E-Tuk Tuk for short trips - even as far as the Rosebank and Park Gautrain Stations. Our rooms are all en suite with WiFi internet access. We offer a bouquet of DSTV - channels, complimentary cool drinks and coffee/tea facilities and our rooms are equipped with heaters and fans. Our motto is: Old-world Tranquility and Affordable Comfort. In general we are disabled-friendly and one of our units and a kitchen facility are geared specifically to accommodate guests in wheelchairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Agterplaas B&B

Address: 66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $78 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agterplaas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Agterplaas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Agterplaas B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about a shower if it is important to you.”
 of 5 bubbles R8979PFandrewe, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Decide if you want to be in main house or to have a larger room. Each has benefits.”
 of 5 bubbles doubledome, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is good in the main house but was problematic in the upper hillside rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles NoniN_13, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the rooms at the top of the hill - newest, best views.”
 of 5 bubbles cdn-npl, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
“rooms 1-3, they have sliding doors as separate entrance”
 of 5 bubbles 744annas, 10 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5