We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

872 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 787: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros: - Overall good experience - Lovely romatic turndown service - Efficient check in - Spacious room,large bed - Good value room service Cons: - Room carpet was stained could've been cleaned - Bathroom basin was slightly blocked, would've called for maintenance had I been staying for longer than 1 night Overall a nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muhammeda527
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Interesting hotel built above a very large shopping mall. Entire underground floor parking accessed by lift from reception. Ground floor shops mainly designer, clothing, cars and restaurants. Hotel very new and 'modern'. Decor all black and white with b/w photographs of old movie stars. Bedroom on first floor above street but little traffic so quiet. Bedroom incorporated shower room, 'modesty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeB2010
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear MikeB2010, Jazzy and Ultra - Modern are definitely best ways to describe the hotel. The hotels décor is inspired by the "Old Hollywood Glamour" as you can visibly tell by all the famous faces that litter the floors of the hotel. Our style is UNIQUE, SEXY AND BOLD, That's why we choose black & white with a touch of...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved the ambiance of this hotel. We stayed here two nights as part of a tour package. Breakfast is very nice with lots of variety....even dark and white chocolate! Later, for a special treat relax on the patio and try the elephant trunk milkshake made with local amarula liqueur from their famous milkshake bar. The hotel is located in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlynn63
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear tlynn63, Thank you for the awesome review! really amazing. Our milkshakes have a naughtier side to them as well which I see you utterly enjoyed. Our oh so talented chefs show off with their array of breakfast options. They definitely know the importance of a good breakfast, It is the most important meal of the day after all. We...

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Relaxed environment and quite funky design in nice location of Melrose Arch. Would recommend for the location due to proximity to great restaurants, shopping and relaxation. Nothing to complain about...you must try the milkshakes. Wow!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micheal E
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Micheal E, Thank you for the kind words. We are world famous for our milkshakes and I am utterly thrilled that you had the chance to indulge in one or a few. The Melrose Arch Precinct is buzzing with trendy restaurants and so much to choose from. I am glad you had a wonderful stay with us. Regards, Gabrielle...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nailed it. This hotel is well situated in Melrose Arch in one the nicest spots in the city for modern chic. Close to all types of restaurant, shopping and entertainment choices. The hotel movie theme is fun as is the decor. Food was outstanding .... including some fantastic cocktails.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PinUpBoy
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear PinUpBody, Thank you for the heartfelt review. The TEAM were suitably impressed to receive your positive feedback and it is with words such as yours that motivate and encourage our TEAM to continue putting in all the effort they do on a daily basis. This proves that with true passion to serve, we have been able to engage and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a one night stay before going on safari... funky rooms with icons featured on the walls and you MUST enjoy a milkshake!! The room felt a little small but very clean and great service. I would go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindseyr449
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear lindseyr449, Thank you ever so much for your very kind words, I was truly thrilled to receive your positive feedback. I was delighted to share this with my TEAM and especially the wonderful commendation about our milkshakes that never fail to please. Your valued feedback really goes a long way and is a great reward for all the hard...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time everything was excellent I was granted a late checkout the reception staff were very helpful & went out of there way. Bar staff a bit slow. The shower in the bedroom was quirky.Room service good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philomena5
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Philomena5, Thank you so much for your very kind words and for sharing your positive feedback of your experience with us. I have already sent this to my TEAM and congratulated them for making such a wonderful impact, especially the mentions! We look forward to serving you soon. Regards, Gabrielle Marnewick General Manager Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were guests of friends who were staying at the hotel and looking forward to a great evening. Sadly it all fell apart. What can you say about a great venue with reasonably priced, ok food? Nothing bad right? NO! The service was nothing short of dreadful so everything else paled into insignificance. Not to be repeated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Gabrielle_Abrahams, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Sandra H, Thank you for using this platform to reach out to us. As horrifying as your experience sounds myself and the Food & Beverage Manager Evan, would like to reach out to you personally so we can learn more about what transpired during your dinning experience with us. evan.weinberg@proteahotels.com We look forward to hearing from you. Regards, Sisanda...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service, Great food. Would definitely go back to this place. Fine dining, even if it is just breakfast. The staff are very pleasant and the lounge areas are very classy N.B you have to try their milk shakes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordache M
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Jordache M, We are world famous for our milkshakes and they are legendary if I may add that. Very curious to know which one out of the 36 flavors you enjoyed. I will be sure to share this with the TEAM so they can use this as a form of motivation so they can carry on being the stars...

Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Protea Ice & Fire for 2 nights. I have to say that I really enjoy this hotel: good service, courteous staff members; modern decor, comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Our room was on the first floor at the end of the hallway. It was nice and quiet. The room is mid size. The bed and pillows were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthAmericaTravel
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear NorthAmericaTravel, Thank you so much for your very kind words and for sharing your positive feedback of your experience with us. I have already sent this to my TEAM and congratulated them for making such a wonderful impact on your stay with us. We rarely take the time to acknowledge when the service delivery was outstanding. Therefore we are...

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (316)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.7 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
681 reviews
3.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.8 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
360 reviews
3.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $129 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
melbourne
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
4 months ago
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request the complimentary romantic turn down service, nice special touch”
 of 5 bubbles muhammeda527, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Music was quick loud on the first floor. Get a room at the end of the hallway. It is more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NorthAmericaTravel, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 551 on the fifth floor with good pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles devonmax123, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ideally a pool-facing room rather than a traffic-facing one but not if the staff carry on shouting at each other around the pool”
 of 5 bubbles JamesD870, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel transportation is expensive, use Uber.”
 of 5 bubbles asiahand1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5