We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbotsford House

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Abbotsford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of Abbotsford House
 Click to rate
Kuruman, South Africa
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I do not recommend this establishment, it's very noisy the TV channels are not ok. I struggled to get out of the establishment and no one would answer the the phone to assist me. In the middle of the night I could hear the taps being opened in the other room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gracek400
Abbotsford G M, Guest House Supervisor at Abbotsford House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. We truly value the opinions of our guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the matters that you have brought up and we have resolved the TV issue and are currently working on strategies to improve the overall accommodation. If you do...

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Rooms claustrophobic. Beds horrible. Place shabby. Breakfast poor. Never again. Meant to stay 4 nights. Tolerated 1. Staff untidy. Owner not accommodating. Booked king size bed. Got 2 single beds. Only thing good is location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
Abbotsford G M, Guest House Supervisor at Abbotsford House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. We truly value the opinions of our guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the matters that you have brought up and we have spoken to the employees in question. If you do visit in the future we would love have the...

Blantyre, Malawi
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Abbotsford had a feel of home with wonderful staff who spoiled me rotten. My room was clean and welcoming, and Florence's breakfast was excellent. The area is also quite and I felt safe at all times. Being a walking distance to Melrose arch was also a plus. Sandton was also only 15min away. Will return on another visit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annierosechikondil
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I stayed at Abbotsford House during an extended layover. The owner & staff were extremely accommodating with my late (& further delayed arrival). The house is in a great location and decor gives it a homely feel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceyh219
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Being in the business just a few small things we picked up. There was a top sheet on one bed and not on the other. The top sheet is preferable as it allows the guest to sleep under something when it is hot. The amenities in the bathroom were not full so we were not able to have a really...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 16ronw
Abbotsford G M, General Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this review

Dear Mr Wale, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review - it is very helpful for us in order to plan an improved stay for our guests. The glitches that you pointed out highlight shortcomings in our quality control mechanism, so your time taken to point out your observations is truly appreciated. We would definitely...

wilderness
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Our room was sunny and large, however it was difficult to access due to narrow very steep short treaded staircase which requires both hands to climb up to the next floor landing, the room is old, shabby with dirty windows, carpets and worn out cupboards ..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aharri_831638
Abbotsford G M, General Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to create a review - we value your stay at the guest house, as well as your feedback We are currently in the process of appointing a change in management and will certainly take your feedback into account moving forward! If you like, once some of our changes are made in the new year,...

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I needed this accommodation for study purposes. It was a very comfortable, peaceful, relaxed and quiet place to be at to concentrate on my studies. The dinners were real, honest-to-goodness home-cooked meals. Wonderful to enjoy - one could taste real slow food made with care and time in a homey kitchen!!! Breakfasts were good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 688melindad
Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I am a female student, and I was traveling alone from the U.S. to Joburg and needed somewhere I could call home for 2 months. I couldn't have received a warmer welcome from Vanessa and everyone at the guest house. This guest house is so well run, organized and clean, friendly staff, and very accommodating overall. The house has recently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klc0814
Vanessa S, Owner at Abbotsford House, responded to this review

We all miss you so much but we hope you are enjoying some summer weather back home. Thank you for your wonderful review. It really means a lot to Florence and Zameka and me. We just want all our guests to make the most of their precious time and to leave South Africa wanting to return. We so look forward...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Breakfast wasn't good, we didn't get the option to decide if we want scrambles eggs, boiled eggs or fried, just eggs with peppers and mushrooms which the kids didn't like at all. The rooms were very small with 2 beds in it and we couldn't even open the door because of the space.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank EstiHugo
Vanessa S, Manager at Abbotsford House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your tennis players were unhappy with the rooms and the breakfasts. Unfortunately our larger rooms were booked as they hold twin beds very easily. As for the breakfasts, our main chef was away on leave and I will definitely take it up with her colleagues who were on duty. I just with your colleague who...

Tel Aviv District, Israel
Reviewed 18 July 2016

It was a chance to live in a house with old world charm and all the necessities for modern living. The host Vanessa was gracious as always and the staff welcoming and helpful. In summer, for sure, it has an added dimension with the extensive garden and swimming pool. In all our 14 days there felt as if we were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marydP7429CN
Vanessa S, Owner at Abbotsford House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your second visit to Abbotsford House as much as the first. We missed your lovely family that were with you last time. Thank you for your very favourable review. My colleagues were very happy to read it as I was. And thank you for booking your family to come and stay in a few...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
5.7 km away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 68 in Johannesburg
41 reviews
1.2 km away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
526 reviews
2.3 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 68 in Johannesburg
162 reviews
2.6 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
563 reviews
3.1 km away
The Munro Boutique Hotel
The Munro Boutique Hotel
#33 of 291 in Johannesburg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abbotsford House is a charming English - style guest house in Johannesburg, set in just under an acre of leafy, shaded gardens, in the secluded suburb of Abbotsford in the heart of the northern suburbs of Johannesburg, South Africa. We have 4 luxury rooms all with en-suite bathrooms. Every room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, safe and broad band internet. Enjoy our lovely patio and garden with pool. Guests have full use of their own guest lounge. Use Abbotsford House as a base when you are in Johannesburg on business or touring around. We are located within easy reach of Melrose Arch, Norwood Mall, Killarney Mall and it is quick to get to Rosebank or Sandton. We are 25 minutes away from the airport by car but also by Gautrain and there is a bus from the Rosebank station to Melrose Arch which stops 200m from our gate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbotsford House

Address: 18 First Street | Abbotsford, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $72 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbotsford House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Abbotsford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbotsford House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Abbotsford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Rose Room was our favorite!”
DavTucker2015, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Email Vanessa directly - she'll respond. What a charming lady!”
frankb885, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely and one is incredibly spacious. Attic bedroom also great!”
marionw933, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go for the Rose Room”
LaurenR12014, 25 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Rose Room is the best”
Liz658, 14 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates