We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 524: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was super excited to stay at this particular hotel and booked it via the Marriott rewards website. As a platinum member (4 platinum members with group) I expected free wifi, breakfast, and executive lounge access. Only free wifi was offered. Extremely disappointed in the breakfast, we will not come back to the hotel in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrchristiangrey
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mrchristiangrey, Thank you for taking the time to upload your delightful comment in regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED GUEST, your feedback will...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a good hotel, spoilt by a duty manager that was rather ignorant and entirely unhelpful. We booked 3 nights- 2 with points and 1 paid for. We were told by the check in person that 'breakfast is included in the stay'. On check out we found that not to be the case. Only the 'paid' night was with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph T
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Turner, The TEAM would again like to thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. We would also like to thank you for communicating with us in aims of resolving the unfortunate incident that took place during your stay. We hope...

Encinitas, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

In the upscale area of Melrose Arch. The hotel and service were beautiful. Good location, close to most things in Johannesburg. The pool and lounge area are also very nice and the breakfast is delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NancyK2
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NancyK2, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel through this platform. As a GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice and big rooms in the heart of Melrose Arch. Design is interesting and quite particular. Ideal for a one night stop in Jo'burg. Plenty of nice restaurants around. Unfortunately, staff was a bit distracted when we arrived (wrong room and no excuses, forgot to hand back passport,...). Breakfast price is quite over-rated as well as the tours organized by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakalui
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jakalui, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations. Our Front office TEAM has become so well know for its swift and professional service and I am deeply disappointed...

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the African Pride overnight on my last night of a two week trip around South Africa. The hotel is modern and very comfortable and in the heart of the Melrose Arch precinct. Check in was a breeze with the added bonus of an upgrade :) The room was spacious, immaculate and the bed divine. I was very tired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cam20801
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cam20801, The TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel would like to thank you for the delightful feedback received regarding your recent stay with us. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a GUEST, your feedback will...

New York City
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the African Pride Melrose Arch hotel for three nights November 14th-17th and it was truly an amazing experience from the day we arrived to check out. The staff lead by General Manager Tania Malan were extraordinarily helpful with arranging transportation, restaurant reservations and making sure that all of our needs were meet. My Marriott...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hmanNewYorkCity
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hmanNewYorkCity, On behalf of Tania Malan and the rest of off the TEAM, we would like to thank you for sharing such an amazing review of your stay at The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. As a Marriott rewards Platinum Member it gives us great pleasure to read that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very stylish hotel in an excellent location and service, but be aware that this property DOES NOT have a GYM and they charge you about 20$ daily to use a nearby facility. Oh, and if you drink coffee, just be aware that they don't clean the coffee maker nor replenish the coffee supply. Just a few must know details...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco4902000
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marco4902000, Th TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel would like to thank you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the few drawbacks that clearly could of ruined a great stay. It is unacceptable to read that the coffee station was not replenished and...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is an incredible establishment. Five star treatment from the minute you arrive until you leave. Attention to detail and excellent treatment of guests and diners. The restaurant is superb they have an excellent wine selection and the staff are incredibly attentive. An absolute treat to stay at this incredible hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmin2014
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carmin2014, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel through this platform. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. We are also delighted to hear that we were able to provide the 5star service...

minneapolis/saint paul
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We tend to alternate between quirky and luxury. We love ending our trips with luxury, especially if the rest of the trip was an adventure. This trip had loads of adventure, so we were really happy to get to a stylish hotel, with lovely staff and reliable amenities. I have decided that Protea is my new favorite hotel brand. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank harado
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear harado, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. The TEAM is truly delighted to hear that we were able to offer a luxuries end to your trip. It is so very exciting to hear that our brand has become your favorite. With a mission to provide superior customer service,...

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel staff was very friendly, the room was clean and neat. Well situated in the heart of Melrose Arch, walking distance to all the surrounding activities. The free breakfast was awesome, attention to detail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacBarnard
APMelroseArch, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MacBarnard, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to continue to inspire and motivate...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.5 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
631 reviews
5.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
326 reviews
3.0 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
508 reviews
0.9 km away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $188 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 1st floor, and there were some stairs, so if mobility is a problem, try and stay on another level.”
 of 5 bubbles harado, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You need to go up and down steps to get to some rooms, so let staff know if this is an issue.”
  • Rubber duckies with the bathtub!
  • Comfy beds
 of 5 bubbles Daman1992, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 112 is right off the pool and is a bit bigger than other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Wolfpack81, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an Executive Room - overlooking the pool”
 of 5 bubbles Aneesh2011, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick top floors overlooking the poolside”
 of 5 bubbles 110kelvinm, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay