We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melrose Place Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We have stayed at this place several times now. The best thing for us is the setting. The grounds of Melrose Place with the trees and bushes allow you to feel that you are in the middle of a very peaceful place rather than a busy city. The rooms are lovely. You get a large bed, extra seating and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MThomson_11
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. Your kind words and wonderful comments will be passed on to all our staff members. Our greatest goal is to make each guest feel at home, we are so pleased we have achieved that with you. It is always such a compliment when our guests return...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I recently stayed at Melrose Place when I came to Johannesburg for a wedding. The host is exceptionally friendly and very helpful. The guest house operates as a BnB so she gave me great suggestions for places to grab lunch and dinner. The staff are also very friendly. The rooms are well sized and spotlessly clean. There was a heatwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candymapela
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear candymapela, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass on your compliments to Sue, the owner/hoestess and the rest of the staff. We so look forward to welcoming you back should you find yourself in Johannesburg again. Best wishes, Michelle

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We recently visited Johannesburg from Zimbabwe and had the most wonderful stay at Melrose Place Guest Lodge. The staff are such lovely warm people and the food is just the BEST! We particularly appreciated the guidance and kindness we received from the owner Sue . Clearly the hospitality business is her vocation. Thank you all for the most memorable happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 27trip123
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 27trip123 Thank you very much for taking the time to review Melrose Place. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your lovely compliments on to Sue and her team. We so look forward to welcoming you back to Melrose Place on your next visit to Johannesburg. Best wishes, Michelle

South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2016

I have stayed at Melrose Place on numerous occasions, and keep coming back. You can see that both Sue and her daughters have put their heart and soul into the business. They are always willing to accommodate anyone's needs and make you feel welcome. You regularly see Sue talking to guests as if they were old friends, meaning that people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJS0808
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AJS088, Thank you for your absolutely wonderful review, your kind words and compliments will be passed on to Sue and all our staff members. Your continued support of Melrose Place is so appreciated, as are all your referrals. We so look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. All the best, Michelle

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Although we did get a 100% refund for our 5 day stay we do feel that one should be aware that reality is different from info at websites when booking at this place. The images and discriptions on the internet are not representation of the general accomadation. We loved the setting in a lovely garden with a swimming pool, but:...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kees v
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are very sorry you did not have a good experience. It is such a pity you waited until the end of your 5 day stay to bring any of your concerns to our attention. As soon as you did I offered you your money back which you...

Harare
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

My mum and I were there for 1 night and then we came back for another 2 nights. The service was second to none. The food was divine, the room was beautiful and hygienic. The linen was soft and comfortable and the magnificent sofa gave it that extra home feeling to it. The bathrooms were spacious and clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewZimbo
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you so much for your super review, it was such a pleasure hosting you and your mum here at Melrose Place, we are so pleased that you were well looked after and comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Johannesburg. I will...

Driehuis, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 December 2015

The room was very nice. To our surprise we found a bottle with bubbles in our room because they knew we were on our honeymoon! So sweet! They have a beautiful breakfastroom where they serve a good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToosjeWevers
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It was such a pleasure to host you here at Melrose Place on your honeymoon to South Africa. We wish you a lifetime of happiness together. Regards Sue Truter

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 November 2015

What a lovely place! Friendly helpful staff, spacious warm rooms, gorgeous garden, which makes you feel like you are out of town. Excellent food and ambiance. Fast friendly service and very helpful. Can't wait to come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we so appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back again on another trip. regards Sue Truter

Florida
Reviewed 18 November 2015

I say "Never fails to deliver!" because my recent stay at Melrose Place Guest Lodge was once again as comfortable as expected. The same staff gave me the signature welcome and attention that I have come to expect from my home away from home. I'll be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exec786
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Exec786 Thank you very much indeed for your kind words and consistent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed another stay at Melrose Place and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With very best wishes from "your home away from home"

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 November 2015

My thatched roof smelled bad, was poorly decorated compared to what I was led to expect. there was no air-conditioning - just a desk fan on the other side of the room. There are birds living in the thatch so if you are light sleeper you will not sleep... then add the builders waking you up digging behind your head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonia S
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Antonia, Thank you very much for taking the time to give your constructive feedback.Each point has been noted. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your one night stay and that you did not request to be moved to a different room when you found that you disliked our thatch cottage. It is the only one on the...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.1 km away
Dunkeld Manor
Dunkeld Manor
#15 of 289 in Johannesburg
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
1.9 km away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#9 of 289 in Johannesburg
126 reviews
1.0 km away
MAX Executive Suites
MAX Executive Suites
#1 of 1 in Illovo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Country Home in the heart of Johannesburg. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton. Melrose Place offers luxurious en-suite accommodation and has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality and excellent service, making it a true home from home for the discerning guest. The wonderful garden shaded by many trees sets off the swimming pool where guests can take time out to relax from the pace of their travels. Secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Address: 12A North Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $117 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Place Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Place Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melrose Place Guest Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Melrose Place Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the bathroom for ants before you unpack.”
steam844, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house looked cosier”
annakatrine, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms near main house and pool”
, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed lovely”
JeannieD_12, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If it is very warm outside a ground floor may be cooler.......”
Z4969NFkevina, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5