We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    De Kuilen Country House

    26 Glenluce Drive, Johannesburg 2004, South Africa
    Best prices for your stay
    03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    Traveller (2)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (1)
    • Excellent88%
    • Very good8%
    • Average0%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible2%
    13 Mar 2017
    “So disappointed”
    6 Jun 2016
    “Tranquility at its best”
    Free Parking
    All hotel details
    Offers from De Kuilen Country House
    3 Sep4 Sep
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Write a Review
    Reviews (34)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 31 reviews

    Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

    We thought we had found a little boutique hotel in north Johannesburg only to discover the opposite. The place was filthy, old and hugely out of date. Patio areas were overgrown with weeds and leaves. Pool area totally overgrown and unkempt. Bedrooms had dead bugs...More

    Thank Carmel B
    Response from Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country HouseResponded 16 March 2017

    We were also disappointed at the cancellation at the last minute. We were asked to prepare the rooms earlier than usual and although we had just had several days of hard rain when we could not get into the garden we have had a nothing...More

    Reviewed 7 June 2016

    This was our second visit to De Kuilen and our second time in the Pomegranate Suite. It is a perfect place for a getaway from the hustle and bustle and you leave re-charged every time. The breakfast served is second to none and Anne-Marie and...More

    Thank mikeq505
    Response from Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country HouseResponded 8 June 2016

    Many, many thanks for this lovely review. It has been such a pleasure to meet such charming new clients and then to also get such a nice review from you! We look forward to meeting you again in the future!

    Reviewed 18 April 2016

    Basking in the highveld's autumn colours while enjoying a breath of the Cape in De Kuilen's languid grounds made a business trip to bustling Johannesburg seem like a holiday. De Kuilen offers comfort, tranquility and repose and being on the doorstep of the Sandton business...More

    Thank sandik381
    Response from Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country HouseResponded 8 June 2016

    Many thanks for your excellent review of our beautiful De Kuilen. We always share our reviews with our staff and it is totally inspiring for all of us to receive such a nice review, particularly when it is from such really nice people whose company...More

    Reviewed 21 November 2015

    My husband, one year old daughter and I enjoyed two nights at De Kuilen House while transiting in Johannesburg on the way home from vacation. We wish that we could have stayed longer. De Kuilen is a one in a million B&B with wonderful hosts...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Deirdre D
    Response from Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country HouseResponded 23 November 2015

    Many thanks - not only for your lovely review of our beautiful De Kuilen Country House, but also for having chosen us for your stay. We so enjoyed meeting you and having the pleasure of your company! We look forward to your next stay with...More

    Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

    My family and I thoroughly enjoyed a three night stay at De Kuillen Country House over the long weekend in June. Anne Marie, Charles and staff saw to our every need, and went the extra mile to ensure that our party of 6 was comfortable...More

    1  Thank Nival_m
    Response from Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country HouseResponded 19 April 2016

    One of the really nice things about running a quality Guest house is that we meet and receive such really nice guests. Many thanks for your positive review - we hope to see all of you here again in the coming Autumn season.

    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Spa
    • Price range
    • US$81 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your De Kuilen Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Gauteng >
    • Greater Johannesburg >
    • Johannesburg
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (2)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (6)
    The Janana Guesthouse
    7 reviews
    3.34 km away
    SunSquare Montecasino
    885 reviews
    2.88 km away
    City Lodge Hotel Fourways
    190 reviews
    2.68 km away
    Riverbend Country House
    24 reviews
    5.20 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Baron Fourways
    108 reviews
    1.20 km away
    Clay Oven
    33 reviews
    .68 km away
    Nando's Douglasdale
    6 reviews
    .66 km away
    17 reviews
    1.47 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Wild Eye
    26 reviews
    2.20 km away
    1,378 reviews
    2.68 km away
    The Bryanston Organic and Natural Market
    76 reviews
    4.29 km away
    PwC Cycle Park
    18 reviews
    3.16 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from De Kuilen Country House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Their gardens are beautiful and the pleasant nature of the house allows you to be away from the business of..."
    Read review
    "If you like space, bird song has a lovely little lounge with a fireplace, a big patio and a little kitchen so..."
    Read review
    "The cottages are so nice for families to spread out."
    Read review
    "If you value your rest, and if food matters to you, then this is the place to go"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing