We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 6 January 2016

It was my girlfriends first trip out to south Africa and i really wanted to treat her on her first outing. Found alot of choices on the net till i came across Liz at Lancaster., was a great find, Liz was so helpful at getting me organised for the trip. Put me onto a great transport option called UBER, saved...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arrnold B
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Arnold we are just so happy that your trip lived up to expectations and that you had such a great time. We really enjoyed meeting you. We think you chose the best time to come to Joburg - although a lot of restaurants and attractions are closed over Christmas, Joburg is so mellow and laid back over that time with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The service I received from Liz and staff was excellent, they made you feel welcome and at home. I had a cooked breakfast every morning in the dining-room looking out to a lush green garden. stayed in the Ochre studio flatlet which was fantastic and had its own courtyard. Location was great close to amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trendysetter
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we lived up to our reputation of providing good service, comfortable accommodation and a convenient location. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and hope that if you are next in Joburg you will come and stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Having come from working very hard in London and with a busy work schedule in Johannesburg I wanted somewhere calm and comfortable where I could relax in the evening as well as catch up with my paper work. Lizatlancaster was perfect. My little cottage was so sweet it really felt like home! And thanks to all the staff, gardener, cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Liz for taking the time and trouble to review your time here at Liz at Lancaster. It is indeed a perfect peaceful little oasis to tuck yourself away and do some work. It was good too that all the transport arrangements worked out well with Tagala (Zac has mentored him well) and that getting to and from work...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the guest house for 4 nights following a surgical procedure at the Rosebank Clinic. The flatlets are really comfortable, equipped with more then you require and your privacy is guaranteed! It is conveniently situated and the service is personalized and excellent! Highly recommended! Thank you Liz and team😀!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pratiksha C
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

I have just responded to more recent reviews and saw that for some reason I had not responded to your feedback Patriksha. I am so sorry - I saw your review when it was published and responded in my head .... but that's as far as it got. My apologies- I am not normally so remiss. We are just so...

Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Liz's was our first stop after our long flight from Canada and it offered a truly helpful environment for us on our first visit to South Africa/JoBurg. Wonderfully comfortable, clean room, beautiful gardens, great breakfast, and help at every turn, no matter what we asked.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddb3
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you ddb3 for taking the time and trouble to give feedback on your stay here. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that we were able to provide a support structure for you on your arrival in Johannesburg. Joburg can be a daunting city for first-timers. Like you, many guests appreciate the insider specialist knowledge...

Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Stayed at Liz at Lancaster's for a long weekend recently and really loved it. In fast-moving adrenalin fuelled Johannesburg, its good to kick back and relax in this pretty gem in a quiet walker-friendly neighbourhood. Although originally a private house, Liz's feels like a small boutique hotel with it's public lounge, pretty breakfast room, lovely garden, ample parking and stand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shazza127
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks Shazza127 for your feedback on your stay here. We really enjoyed meeting you and are so delighted with the start you gave to our in-house restaurant reviews with your suggestions of really good places to eat that are close to Liz at Lancaster. Other guests have already visited some of your recommendations and raved about their meals - particularly...

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Excellent place, I will definitely stay there again. It is centrally located, the breakfast is well cooked and more than sufficient. The room I was in was quiet and private. The beds sleep well and the sheeting, duvets are of a high quality. The service is excellent and Liz as well as her staff are very helpful, well done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkFairhurst
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Mark thank you so much for your feedback. We were worried that you came with such high expectations that you would be disappointed! We enjoyed meeting you both and are pleased you both had a relaxing week-end before you are off on your travels again. Hopefully when you are next in town and feel like a break, you'll come and...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 November 2015

My heartfelt thanks to Liz, I felt welcome & comfortable !!! The bed was most comfortable - I slept like a baby!!! Love the green everywhere :) Peaceful, tranquil !! Just the way I like it. I'll be back ! Thanks again. Lisa Jamieson, Cape Town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisajamieson
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Lisa for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback on your stay here. We really appreciate it. We love that you had such good sleeps and that the garden was still a green oasis despite the lack of rain. We had 3 days this week with big thunderstorms in the afternoon and the lovely rain brought...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Beautiful, quiet, home away from home. I've already recommended it to a friend who will be in Joburg for an extended stay--the self-catered flatlets are just perfect for that. I only stayed for one night unfortunately, but would have stayed much longer to enjoy little patio, garden and pool. Exactly what I needed after arriving from a long, long flight!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandrasl
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Alexandrasi for coming to stay albeit for such a short time. And thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback on your time here. Hopefully next time you can stay longer to enjoy the patio, the garden and the pool. The pool is the only place to be now - it is SOOO hot....

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 November 2015

The staff at Liz at Lancaster are excellent. They are friendly and attentive to an almost 5 star level. The bed is a little hard and the shower mixer a bit of a challenge but the bedding was of excellent quality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 783marceller
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you 783Marceller for taking the time and trouble to give feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We're delighted that the service was good. I'm sorry you found the mattress a little hard. Mattresses are really tricky in terms of being able to suit everybody's taste as, unlike with all other bedding where one can offer alternatives...

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
2.9 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
385 reviews
5.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
710 reviews
2.6 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
532 reviews
2.1 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
4.3 km away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $111 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Liz is a great communicator, just ask her for any ideas about your stay.”
Petra87, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Depending on the needs of your party, Liz is very good at matching her guests to the appropriate cottage.”
jjohnsongg6, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All are probably great but we loved the sage flat”
  • View from the breakfast room
TimManchester, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had the Coral Room. The patio had direct sun for parts of the day (I'd ask for this room again) and it was very private.”
Tburn2016, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are great, but if you can get the yellow cottage, go for it!”
  • Only messy because we have two boys!
annaelsinclair, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates