We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shumba Valley Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Shumba Valley Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Shumba Valley Lodge is very conveniently situated to Lanseria Arport as well as a number of nearby day excursions, namely the Lion Park & the Cradle of Humankind. The accomodation at Shumba Lodge is clean & respectable - but dont expect any lavish attention or special favours. We arrived at 3pm in the afternoon, only to find that the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peta H
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week end of October whilst visiting the area. Room simple but everything we needed. Good shower. Tv quite poor choices and no wifi in the room. Breakfast a good selection each day, although most of the preserves on the table were out of date . Staff were lovely and helpful. Would recommend staying here.

Helpful?
Thank hattie411
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All the points raised are immensely significant and can help us to direct our efforts in areas where we did not hit the mark. Your feedback has been shared with the whole team at Shumba Valley and they are pleased to hear that they were lovely and... More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The facilities matched our theme for the meeting. Breathe taking surrounding with less noise interuption. Easy access to major recreational facilities and tourist attractions. Its a peace of mind just a stone throw away from the City buzz

Helpful?
Thank Ofentse015
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ofentse015 Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities were perfect for your conference. Shumba is indeed a hidden gem in Lanseria and the ideal spot for both leisure and business activities. Please spread the word and we hope to see you on your next conference. Kind regards Tafadzwa... More 

Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I think the reason why there are so many rather negative reviews for this place is that people expect more then they pay for! Its a pretty cheap place, so you're not going to get 5 star luxury! I stayed here for 5 nights and everything was to my expectation, great food, comfortable and clean rooms and their staff are... More 

Helpful?
Thank FelixBorner
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Felix Borner Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted we were able to deliver our promise to you. Our team works hard to ensure all guests are comfortable and that they receive value for their money. Thank you for being very loyal and sharing your wonderful experience about what we offer as a brand. This is... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015

On my way from Haartbeespoort dam, I pulled through to have dinner with my family, we were greeted on arrival by the Front Desk Agent and proceeded to Restaurant where no one was manning the desk, we set ourselves and grabbed three menus from the desk, we only got attention after about 10 minutes, order was placed and took a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steevenmas
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steevenmas I appreciate you taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay and can assure you that this feedback is instrumental in allowing us the opportunity to better our guest experiences. I sincerely apologise for not finding a waiter in the restaurant to courteously welcome and provide you with menus. This is sadly not the level of... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The Shumba Valley Lodge is well located to Johannesburg and the Lanseria airport. However, even driving by and looking at the site when you pull up it looks a bit short of attention. Everything is well presented and clean but it just looks like something that has been painted over to hide the blemishes. Food was actually better then expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred S
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fred S Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay. I assure you that this feedback is vital for us to improve on all areas of the hotel. We have already embarked on projects to improve certain areas of the hotel to ensure that it is sightly for all guests driving through. We are very... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed at this venue for 2 nights for a work conference. First impression from the outside was that it was a bit tired and needed freshening up. The rooms were adequate but the chairs in the room and the restaurant had stains. The toilet did not flush properly and sounded like running water all night. The room I stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lilibee243
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking your time to review us following your stay at the lodge. While we are happy to hear that our food was very good, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the challenges you experienced during your stay. We are already working on a refurbishment project that will... More 

Upington, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2015

We stayed here one night as a stop over... The place isn't terrible but could use some basic improvements, as i did not enjoy our stay based on simple "troubles" ... Our Bedside Lamps had no Lamp Shades. My Lamp was missing feet and wiggled... The Wardrobe mirror was dirty, the chairs had stains on them, the towels had stains... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wanderluster05
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We truly appreciate you taking time to write this review and we are saddened that certain aspects of your stay were not to your liking. Even though we look forward to positive reviews, it is constructive feedback such as yours that is more crucial and helps us to continually improve. All the concerns you have raised have... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We were very excited to go and stay at this hotel. I have to say that I read the other reviews and thought 'How bad can it be for a 4 star hotel?" - it's that bad. The rooms need so much attention. Fixtures in the bathrooms, broken lamps, etc. Not to mention that the pool was a completed disaster.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 889lieslb
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking time to raise your concerns with us. Based on the valuable points you have mentioned, we can certainly improve to guarantee you and all other guests future stays that will meet or even exceed your expectations. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused. I will pass on your words of appreciation to... More 

Athens
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Service is average or poor, internet connection was a big problem, the switchboard for trnasfering a call to the room not working, the hotel at least during this period doesnt look at it best... All the rest of basics are provided, is clean and pleasent but not the one to choose among so many excellent choices in the greater area.

Helpful?
Thank gerkouv
ManyowaT, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gerkouv I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing crucial areas for improvement to our attention. We do regret that your stay at the hotel was not up to standard and please kindly accept my sincere apologies. Our aim is to provide all our guests with an unforgettable experience, because they... More 

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
12.0 km away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
5 reviews
10.7 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
409 reviews
24.6 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
61 reviews
35.8 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
36.0 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travellers who seek the tranquillity of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel.Lanseria Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shumba Valley Lodge

Address: R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $141 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shumba Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Shumba Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shumba Valley Hotel Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shumba Valley Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shumba Valley Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Individual chalets, all appointed the same. I did not see any superior rooms or honeymoon suites for that matter.”
 of 5 bubbles 458petah, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 142 is adjacent to room 143 and the walls are very thin so you can hear everything that is going on next door.”
 of 5 bubbles Lilibee243, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Give them a chance they will improve if owners really care”
 of 5 bubbles 512joer, 15 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Request a room close to reception!”
 of 5 bubbles AdeleE70, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Pay a little extra but opt for the suite-well worth it. Offers a huge bathroom, a lounge and a private splash pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Billy3011, 29 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay