We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Parkwood

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Parkwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The staff from the guard to the servers to the back office all may you feel like "what can we do for you." Room 10 was fabulous off the pool, and large enough to live in for awhile. The bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, outdoor shower and the pool and covered patio right outside of your room. Absolutely the right place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review !! Much appreciated from someone who has travelled so extensively! We all value your comments and we are really happy we were able to make your stay a really good one!!

Rotterdam
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This amazing place will always be our favorite. The stylish but understated decoration, the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff, the feeling of coming home and being part of the family is unique. We travel quite a lot, and have stayed in many places over the world, but we always look forward to coming here again. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvdWRotterdam
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your beautiful review! Equally, you are our favorite guests! We all love having you to stay so much and feel very privileged that you keep booking with us and so thrilled that we can continue to make you happy, comfortable & at home! Our staff absolutely love you both and so do we!

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with a group of friends while visiting Joburg for a wedding. The accommodation is beautiful. I have stayed at the Westcliff (now Four Seasons) before and the Executive room we had at The Parkwood was just as nice. The atmosphere is really relaxed and as a group we were able to hang out together in the seating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

We are so grateful for your fabulous review and happy that you enjoyed your stay .We hope you return some day for another happy occasion !

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I was attending a conference that was being held just across the road and I like it the standards we good and it was so affordable. I booked online there rates included pick up from and to the airport. Breakfast was really filling that u didn't space for lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank King L
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is much appreciated!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed overnight on our way to the safari holiday and again before we flied out of Africa. Our travel agent made a reservation for us promising that we were going to like it. She was not wrong. The place is beautifully decorated. The room is very spacious and the decoration is in high standard. The place is about 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beau2121
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review on us . We are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Your high praise is much appreciated!

Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had the pleasure of finishing our incredible South African adventure at the Parkwood and were blown away! The decor of the guesthouse is done in such a tranquil, luxurious style with great attention to detail. Our room was incredibly comfortable, spacious and the staff went the extra mile to ensure that we had a special time. I would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FussyLondoner
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the most uplifting review!! You have totally made our day, week, year. We are beyond thrilled that we were able to make your stay such a good one and thank you for your observations and compliments !

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

My stay at the Parkwood was for business reasons. It caters exceptionally well for both leisure and business guests with fast internet. The rooms are spacious, well-equipped and warm (the under-floor heating was particularly vital for the cold winter evenings in July. The breakfast was delicious with both a warm breakfast and continental offering. The Parkwood also has a chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 442ninah
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and observations. We are happy to hear that you were warm and comfortable even during our coldest month! Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated.

Cape Town
Reviewed 1 October 2016

It is so lovely to be able to give a great review to an establishment after several visits with fairly long gaps in-between stays. The staff have been the same for over 10 years. so wonderfully familiar and welcoming. the service, the standards, the decor and the location are all excellent. It's always such a pleasure to stay at The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monty101CapeTown
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your really lovely review. It is extremely rewarding for all of us to know that we can keep our valued repeat guests happy! We look forward to ensuring that you enjoy your next stay as much if not more!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I travel to Joburg often for work and always try to stay at the Parkwood. The standard of service as always is impeccable, my room that looks over the little Koi pond this most recent time was fantastic. The Parkwood always makes me feel like I am on holiday in Joburg even though most of the time its for business....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinemhicks
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such an uplifting review !! We are very grateful for your compliments and so happy that we continue to make your stays with us a great experience ! Our whole team are always inspired by lovely reviews like this!

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Since I moved to CT I stay at The Parkwood on most of my return trips for business and I find it to be very conveniently located, close to all the shops & restaurants in Rosebank as well as a short walk from the Gautrain. The service, rooms and ambiance are consistently good and the dinner option is a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mileshodge
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great review!! We hope to keep you coming back !! Thank you.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
1:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
336 reviews
0.9 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
522 reviews
0.6 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
656 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#8 of 70 in Johannesburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Parkwood is a relaxed boutique hotel combining elements of contemporary style with classic comfort.Luxurious,private & secure accommodation in the suburb of Parkwood within walking distance of the underground train station in Rosebank. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Parkwood

Address: 72 Worcester Road, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $198 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Parkwood 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Parkwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkwood Guest Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Parkwood staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Parkwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms that I have stayed in have been perfect”
 of 5 bubbles Monty101CapeTown, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in high teens are generally quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulRaphaely, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are only good rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles vanrhynbrendan, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles TraceyM726, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have privacy and lovely garden access, except the one right next to the public area.”
 of 5 bubbles JosephineTMB, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay