We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Parkwood

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Parkwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with a group of friends while visiting Joburg for a wedding. The accommodation is beautiful. I have stayed at the Westcliff (now Four Seasons) before and the Executive room we had at The Parkwood was just as nice. The atmosphere is really relaxed and as a group we were able to hang out together in the seating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

We are so grateful for your fabulous review and happy that you enjoyed your stay .We hope you return some day for another happy occasion !

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I was attending a conference that was being held just across the road and I like it the standards we good and it was so affordable. I booked online there rates included pick up from and to the airport. Breakfast was really filling that u didn't space for lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank King L
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is much appreciated!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed overnight on our way to the safari holiday and again before we flied out of Africa. Our travel agent made a reservation for us promising that we were going to like it. She was not wrong. The place is beautifully decorated. The room is very spacious and the decoration is in high standard. The place is about 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beau2121
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review on us . We are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Your high praise is much appreciated!

Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had the pleasure of finishing our incredible South African adventure at the Parkwood and were blown away! The decor of the guesthouse is done in such a tranquil, luxurious style with great attention to detail. Our room was incredibly comfortable, spacious and the staff went the extra mile to ensure that we had a special time. I would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FussyLondoner
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the most uplifting review!! You have totally made our day, week, year. We are beyond thrilled that we were able to make your stay such a good one and thank you for your observations and compliments !

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

My stay at the Parkwood was for business reasons. It caters exceptionally well for both leisure and business guests with fast internet. The rooms are spacious, well-equipped and warm (the under-floor heating was particularly vital for the cold winter evenings in July. The breakfast was delicious with both a warm breakfast and continental offering. The Parkwood also has a chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 442ninah
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and observations. We are happy to hear that you were warm and comfortable even during our coldest month! Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated.

Cape Town
Reviewed 1 October 2016

It is so lovely to be able to give a great review to an establishment after several visits with fairly long gaps in-between stays. The staff have been the same for over 10 years. so wonderfully familiar and welcoming. the service, the standards, the decor and the location are all excellent. It's always such a pleasure to stay at The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monty101CapeTown
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your really lovely review. It is extremely rewarding for all of us to know that we can keep our valued repeat guests happy! We look forward to ensuring that you enjoy your next stay as much if not more!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I travel to Joburg often for work and always try to stay at the Parkwood. The standard of service as always is impeccable, my room that looks over the little Koi pond this most recent time was fantastic. The Parkwood always makes me feel like I am on holiday in Joburg even though most of the time its for business....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinemhicks
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such an uplifting review !! We are very grateful for your compliments and so happy that we continue to make your stays with us a great experience ! Our whole team are always inspired by lovely reviews like this!

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Since I moved to CT I stay at The Parkwood on most of my return trips for business and I find it to be very conveniently located, close to all the shops & restaurants in Rosebank as well as a short walk from the Gautrain. The service, rooms and ambiance are consistently good and the dinner option is a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mileshodge
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great review!! We hope to keep you coming back !! Thank you.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Its taken a while to get to doing some reviews, but this was definitely on top of the list to review. Stayed back in April and loved every minute. From the time we booked to the time we left, the management was excellent and the staff were only more than happy to help. The room was perfect, with an awesome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7warren
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us no matter how long ago, thank you!! We are thrilled that you both enjoyed your stay and a big thank you from Nicki and the Parkwood team !

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 22 September 2016

As a periodic traveler to JHB/PTA, I will invariably choose the Parkwood as a hotel over several other options that might perhaps be positioned far more conveniently to meeting venues that may be much further away. But actually it's almost entirely because of the positioning of the Parkwood that I enjoy it so much. It feels less like a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulRaphaely
Sade7274, Owner at The Parkwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your incredibly rewarding review! Very high praise indeed ! I have read it to all our staff and we are all very grateful and happy that you constantly book with us and even more so that we make each stay an enjoyable one for you!! We look forward to continuing that service!

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
1:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.6 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
298 reviews
2.0 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
627 reviews
0.7 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 71 in Johannesburg
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 71 in Johannesburg
507 reviews
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 71 in Johannesburg
570 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Parkwood is a relaxed boutique hotel combining elements of contemporary style with classic comfort.Luxurious,private & secure accommodation in the suburb of Parkwood within walking distance of the underground train station in Rosebank. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Parkwood

Address: 72 Worcester Road, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $179 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Parkwood 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Parkwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkwood Guest Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Parkwood staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Parkwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms that I have stayed in have been perfect”
 of 5 bubbles Monty101CapeTown, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in high teens are generally quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulRaphaely, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are only good rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles vanrhynbrendan, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles TraceyM726, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have privacy and lovely garden access, except the one right next to the public area.”
 of 5 bubbles JosephineTMB, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay