We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport Game Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Airport Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Airport Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Ithaca, New York
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Clean rooms surrounding a beautiful green area with ostrich, springbok, duiker etc. This is a simple set-up located 10 mins drive from the airport. The staff pick you up when called and shuttle you back on a regular basis. Serves a full breakfast and will get you take-away for dinner if you wish. Has a vending machine stocked with beer,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgr8
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our services. We are very glad that we have reached your expectations. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

If necessary to overnight in Johannesburg, I always use the Airport Game Lodge. There is a courtesy bus from and to the Airport. The rooms are large and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, all at a very reasonable price. I will continue to patronise this establishment because it is good!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank einhorrido
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Ms Einhorrido Thank you for taking the time to recommending our lodge. We are glad that you enjoy staying with us. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights before beginning a tour with STA travel. The free airport collection service was excellent. The staff were friendly. I stayed in the 'funky' room for the first night and an ordinary twin room for the second. It was quite cold but there were heaters in the rooms. Unfortunately the wifi was not working while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice L
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ms Patrice L Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience with us. We are glad that you were happy with our overall service. We apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the internet problem we were facing at the time. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards

Maputo Province, Mozambique
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Rough stay here! Room was so very cold. Temperature was below freezing and we had a tiny space heater that was not sufficient for the room. We asked for another heater but they didn't have one. It was a tough night. Very cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruanne B
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ruanne B Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We feel great regret that you were not offered a hot water bottle or an extra blanket since we did not have an extra heater available. We apologise sincerely for your cold experience. Kind Regards

Marloth Park, South Africa
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We stayed in a lovely clean and airy room. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. We experienced the very adequate shuttle service wich is free of charge.. Enjoyed the breakfast.This was the second time we stayed in Airport Game Lodge and will come back here when we need to stay overnight in Joburg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonsR9356FT
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Simons Thank you for taking the time to publish these kind words about our lodge. We are glad that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your feedback is much appreciated. Kind Regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I stayed here for one night before starting a G Adventures tour. The hotel does free airport transfers, email ahead to arrange. I was met in the arrivals hall and all was very smoothly. I arrived at the hotel at 7am, and the staff did all they could to get a room ready for me asap, which was 8am, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank footballfan123
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Footballfan123 We are delighted that we could make your stay with us an enjoyable one and that everything went smoothly. Your feedback is much appreciated as it motivates our staff to continue providing a quality service to our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards

Ludwigsburg, Germany
Reviewed 18 June 2016

I made a call to be collected from the airport and asked to be collected in a hour (as I know that in the early evening there is quite a rush hour around the airport). Yet, they were still over half an hour late, leaving me standing outside the airport, without notice (although they had my phone number); paid a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dan831984
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dan Thanks for your feedback, it’s essential for any business to know what the costumer experiences. But let’s get real here. If I was in your shoes I would have complained to the driver immediately. If someone mistreats you take his name firstly and then report him to the supervisor or the owner. If I had the drivers name...

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Was suppose to stay friday and saturday booked out this morning after arranging for breakfast @ 9 and there's leftovers NO coffee no assistance,plates etc.after calling for assistance and waiting another half an hour...still nothing we left.apologies apologies and looking at these comments I suppose management will once again only apologise! You have a great establishment;but due to lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yolande F
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Fouche We appreciate your review and thank you for taking the time to do so. I looked at the CCTV coverage from the morning you and your family had breakfast, and also spoke to my staff who worked that morning after I was told that you had left and would not return for the second night’s stay. It...

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

There are several reasons I would not recommend this hotel. It is extremely dated, we found bugs in our room, they ran out of almost everything at the already skimpy breakfast....and to top it off there was NO wifi which they said was due to ongoing construction nearby. If we could have left, we would have. However, I should mention...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sprucewood
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sprucewood Thank you for taking the time to publish this review. We express great regret for your bad experience. Our staff had made various efforts to resolve the Wi-fi issue as it became due, namely, various phone calls to the Wi-fi providers were made and the issue was taken up with the City Council due to the great inconvenience...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The facilities are lacking but possibly by design to facilitate peaceful relaxation and connection with nature but the remote location which makes it difficult to get a cab at times and high cost of the transfer service to entertainment outside the lodge impedes on options. The first receptionist was amazing. She really went above and beyond for all guests regardless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren W
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Warren W Thank you for taking the time to publish this review. Our aim is to create a peaceful environment , however customer satisfaction is of greater importance. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to our remoteness. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to motivate our staff to follow the good example that the first...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
6.7 km away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 25 in Kempton Park
390 reviews
8.5 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,625 reviews
7.6 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
9.8 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
9.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $43 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Airport Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Airport Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 25 was just remodeled and has a nicer shower and nicer tv.”
 of 5 bubbles Leucosia, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the rooms are all ground level. Cost depends on which room you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles einhorrido, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just right!”
 of 5 bubbles simonsR9356FT, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were in the rooms on the far end of the lodge. During the day its quieter than those around the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles 119warrenw, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay