We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forum Homini Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Forum Homini Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Forum Homini Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here last weekend. We had read about the tasting menu at Roots, but had wrongly assumed that there would be other choices also, unfortunately there were not; for breakfast (4 course), lunch (4) or dinner (6)! There was a good room service offer of 'platters' which were ideal for lunch. All the food was excellent, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wayne B We appreciate your comments and lovely words with regards to your stay with us. We do also appreciate your constructive feedback and will embrace it as our own making work of the matters you raise. Kind Regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Forum Homini and Roots restaurant are close to Johannesburg, yet once there you might imagine being in the bush far from a bustling city. The rooms are tuck away under grasses and between trees and can hardly be seen from outside, yet are luxurious and beautiful. The food is superb, prepare for a long slow meal though. The staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartiJvR
Jaco M, General Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartiJvR We simply love the fact that our guest can be in our midst and experience a break , experience a bit of quiet in a very demanding life. Furthermore we always take pride in the knowing that once guest have experienced or visited our property that they will visit again and bring family and friends to share in...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

My husband took me here for my Birthday. We had a lovely room and loved our dining experience at Roots Reataurant. The staff are also friendly and accommodating. The flies, however, hindered our enjoyment. There were hundreds of flies everywhere which was very unpleasant. We also didn't have any wi-fi in our room and hardly any signal at all. Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 546tamras
Jaco M, Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tamras, Thank you for taking the to communicate with us. With regards to the flies, I can assure you that this is not constant however we are aware and mindful that we suffer the occasional break out, behind the scenes we are constantly and actively doing our best to prevent these from happening. We are embattled in legal action...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My husband treated me to the three course lunch menu. It was absolutely delicious and there is so much details that goes into the presentation, etc. The staff and service is absolutely fantastic. I can highly recommend this fine dining experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryke K
North-West Province, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

What I like taking friends for lunch, or having a business lunch at Forum Homini is the quite and tranquil atmosphere where you can have excellent food and top local wine tasting experiences. The interesting menu with the fine dining cuisines and local wines is so well planned and beautifully plated. I am always excited to see what they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evettevwyk
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Wow, that's all I could say until we had to sadly go back home. The service at Forum is out of this world, firstly we arrived very late but the patrons were waiting and ready for us. We then missed breakfast but when we called the reception they arranged for 4 course room service breakfast without hesitation. Then when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noxolo K
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The flies was a huge problem. Something definitely needs to be done about it. Ordered a dinner platter and it was very unpleasant. They offered to replace it but my appetite was spoilt. The channels offered on television definitely needs to be increased and their DVD list upgraded. Love the place overall and will definitely return. The staff was as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenilee D
Jaco M, Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Genilee, We are in receipt of your email and thank you for taking the time to communicate with us. We take comments and feedback such as yours very seriously and therefore ensure that the feedback received is discussed amongst the management team and that action is taken immediately. With regards to the flies, I can assure you that this...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Always amazing, always a treat. Love the sommelier. The food is exceptional. We've one back multiple times and never left unhappy. We even located the lamb sauce. Gordon Ramsay would be proud. Everything was super Dank.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank werfamily2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Thank you. It was a lovely evening away however I should note that unfortunately our aircon did not work in the night so we were pretty hot and although your staff were fantastic in trying to resolve it, the fly situation wasn't great. I would however still recommend Roots to friends and family as although we had our technical problems,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 879amy
Jaco M, Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy, While there are many yardstick one likes to use to measure performance and standards in this industry, the one which we always strive for is that of consistency, it is a most difficult task to have to learn that this time around that you found Forum Homini not up to the level and standards that you have come...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The food was excellent, beautiful plating and very tasty but the flies ruined the experience. I hate to think what the situation regarding the flies was like in the kitchen where the food was being prepared. The wine pairing with each course was very good. Everything would have been perfect if not for the flies. Such a pity!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DawnKdeS
Jaco M, Manager at Forum Homini Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn, We are in receipt of your review and thank you for taking the time to communicate with us. It is always nice to know that our guests leave Forum Homini with an unforgettable food experience. With regards to the flies, I can assure you that this is not constant however we are aware and mindful that we suffer...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
7.7 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
445 reviews
23.2 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
5.7 km away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
181 reviews
24.4 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
248 reviews
23.7 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Forum Homini offers luxury cave style accommodation and fine dining for connosieurs. Experience the gem in The Cradle of Humankind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forum Homini Hotel

Address: Letamo Game Estate | Kromdraai, R540 (Off N14), Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Price Range: $217 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Forum Homini Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Forum Homini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Forum Homini Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated. The presidential suite is an absolute must do.”
lreddy2016, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the presidential suite it is the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.”
SimonP3131, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance as they are very popular and availability might be a problem.”
mornem291, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a Fly Exterminator with you”
ryank62, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Looking little tired and could do with some maintenance. Was a great pity we really couldn't enjoy the outdoors either from restaurant surrounds or at room because of the HUGE amount of flies! Wish we had known about the pool!”
705judyp, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5