We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
Johannesburg
Reviewed 5 October 2016

All good we had a great stay and we're looked after well. Nice breaky, service and info on local area. Charles drove us around town on private tour. The city is far different than we expected but were kept safe and we'll informed. Great history lesson.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J2066QTchrisb
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear that you had a good time in Johannesburg. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfasts and service too. Our suburb and country has such a varied and interesting history that we try to share this with guests, if they are interested in the past. We hope that the rest of your tour was a...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I would recommend family, friends and anyone who just need time out to relax and have a good time. Friendly and helpful staff. Owner very accommodating, helpful and friendly. I will definitely go back when I am in Jhb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D9488TEandrewl
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We will definitely welcome you back when next you're in Johannesburg! Thank you for the kind recommendation. Until your next visit.... our best wishes. Gerard & Jill Marais & the Rivonia B&B team.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Excellent service from day one till the last day. A welcoming smile from receptionist, it makes you feel at home. Wi-fi system always available if you need to use it. Rooms are kept clean everyday. And a nice breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank godfreyc648
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for writing in. We're so glad that you enjoyed our good service, rooms and also our 'legendary' breakfasts. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again soon. Best wishes. Gerard & Jill Marais.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Wanted somewhere that would allow easy access to Sandton, and the surrounding areas eg. Edenvale, Soweto , Fourways and Northcliff and this place was perfect. Slightly off the main road, in a gated community, the Rivonia B&B guarantees a sanctuary away from from the hustle and bustle of a city while providing quick access to the motorways.  The rooms are cleverly nestled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We loved your very comprehensive review. You call Rivonia B&B a 'sanctuary'; what a great compliment! We have passed your 'special mention' on to Di, Rene & Tau. We pride ourselves on our service. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes. Gerard & Jill Marais & the Rivonia B&B team.

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We received excellent service throughout our stay. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The venue is beautiful and we would highly recommend Rivonia B&B to our colleagues and friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanettek30
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your mention of 'excellent service'. Also thank you for your appreciation of the venue. Our staff try their utmost to please and we're also very proud of our gardens. Your recommendation is most highly valued. Best wishes from us all. Gerard & Jill Marais & the team.

Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Wonderful B&B in central location. Close to all amenities but need transport to get around easily. Free parking available. Good rooms with excellent service and unbelievable breakfast. Nothing is too much for the staff and are always ready for good advise. Wonderful facilities around the pool area with lots of colourful bird chirping. Will certainly be back when in Johannesburg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Your review is much appreciated and we thank you for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts, service, rooms and the bird song. We invite the birds to join us every morning, by filling the bird feeders to the brim. This is what we love about summer...... We look forward to your next visit. See you soon....

Johannesburg
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I enjoyed my stay. The property is really clean and well kept. Is just a bit hidden and wont be easily located by non-citizens but the service is EXCELLENT, the breakfast is awesome as well and the staff are really friendly and willing to assist. Diane is a sweetheart, i forgot the the other lady's name Diane was with. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 778hannan
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We love to hear that our service was EXCELLENT. We try very hard to please our guests and, when we hear we're succeeding, we're motivated to do even more. We've conveyed your comments to Diane and Renee; thank you so much. As for our location: we are located in a security area with a security boom, but we have an...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We always enjoy staying here and have no complaints. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is good and secure. The breakfast is always good. Overall they keep a high standard. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roslynb176
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in. We're glad you had a fantastic stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you, too, for your ongoing support. Best wishes from Gerard & Jill Marais and the Rivonia B&B team.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Cant really say much but it was a wonderful experience. Top class customer care and we were all treated like a big family. Just cant wait to come back may be next year with my family. Thank you Rivonia BB.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank felixo637
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Your review was welcomed by us all. Thank you so much. To offer top class customer care is our 'top' priority - thus we are thrilled to hear we're achieving that goal. We do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again and please bring your family. Best wishes to all. Gerard & Jill Marais & the Rivonia B&B...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Very pleasant and good situated. All you need. Breakfast very good in friendly atmosphere with all kinds of birds on the pool area. Parking with access key 24h and near room. Central location, ideal to access highway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 913ursa
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so glad you liked our breakfast. We love food and we love our birds too! We feed the them daily so that our guests can enjoy their chorus each morning. We all send our best wishes. Gerard & Jill Marais & the Rivonia B&B team.

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.9 km away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
78 reviews
12.7 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 71 in Johannesburg
324 reviews
0.9 km away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
6.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This award winning, country-style guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, within a security area. Attractive, well-equipped rooms, each with its own entrance, nestle amongst trees in a large rambling garden. Strategically located in Sandton, north of Johannesburg, Rivonia B&B offers easy access to all major highways and is within easy reach of Sandton City, the Sandton Convention Centre, Gallagher Estate, the Barnyard Theatre, Montecasino and Sunninghill and Morningside Clinics. Mouth watering breakfasts, buffet & cooked-to-order, are served daily. Dinners are served Mondays - Thursdays (by arrangement). A shuttle service is available for transfers to & from OR Tambo & Lanseria Airports (charges apply). Rivonia B&B offers free internet access and DSTV (the hotel bouquet). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 River Road | Gauteng, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Price Range: $105 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivonia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rivonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rivonia Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rivonia Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have any special needs for your stay get in touch with Fillitah and she'll sort it out.”
  • Really big bed
 of 5 bubbles tapiwamafara, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look out onto manicured gardens. Just beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles kinaboy19, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to specify the number and age (if kids included) and can ask for rooms that share a door if in group.”
 of 5 bubbles OlimpioM, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great. We stayed in a mini-kitchenette however others in our group had full kitchens.”
 of 5 bubbles bscrow11, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Perfect location to relax, quiet surrounding”
 of 5 bubbles gbankmann, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay