We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Roodepoort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

As much as big corporates and large chain operations want to believe and aim to get “the coke to taste the same” at all branches it very seldom is the case. However, I do believe they getting it right at Protea Roodepoort as reception is friendly, alert and ensure a rapid check-in. Have stayed here a number of times because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christelle S
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Christelle S, Thank you for your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Roodepoort. We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience for all our GUESTS travels. We have shared your feedback with the hotel TEAM to ensure they continue to meet and exceed GUESTS expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is probably not one of those you would put among the "must go back" ones. Rooms are pretty basic, no wardrobe, no complimentary water, room key that stopped working three time in four days, there is often bad smell in the corridors... But if the hotel itself should probably need one star taken off the declared 3, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlbertNijn
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear AlbertNijn, I refer to the feedback you kindly sent to us after your recent stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback is viewed in a serious light. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. It is correct that we offer only standard rooms with an open... More 

Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel seemed good but after our arrival, we had bad surprises!! The hair dryer was out of order, I stayed wit my wet hair waiting for service and they arrived after two hours!!! No iron in room... Empty and dirty chiller in the room and no international channels in TV... Nothing to do in spare time, no pool, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pattykiari1980
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Patrizia G, I refer to the feedback that you kindly sent after your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and the inconvenience that was caused to you.We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Roodepoort is viewed in a serious light. We have noted your comments... More 

Travellers are raving about these Roodepoort hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2016

nice hotel, nice people, nice room. no complaints. Good location near highways. Parking in the evening a problem though, due to Spur resturant next door.Breakfast was nice, good menu, could use a few more DSTV channels.

Helpful?
Thank mohamedallie
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear mohamedallie, Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. We apologize for the delayed response. We are delighted to have hosted you recently. We have communal parking which we share with Spur Patrons, our security personnel are always alert to ensure that the hotel GUESTS get preference to park near the hotel at all times, we will once again communicate... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2015

The hotel appears 'clean' and the staff was friendly however, there were tiny friends crawling all around our rooms. We stayed on the 4th floor (room 415 & 416) and reported roaches in the room. The first thing that the staff member asked was, 'are the windows open?' Seriously! these are resident roaches, they don't come in an out through... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank disgusted201566
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear disgusted201566, Firstly I would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in our response. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologize profusely for the discomfort and the inconvenience caused during your stay. The cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured... More 

Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I was pleasantly surprised by this venue. Read some previous reviews and was not sure what to expect. Friendly staff, clean facilities, everything was more than adequate. I will definitely stay again. Breakfast might be a bit overpriced? The rest is good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank KiloDelta65
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We know the Protea group has always held a high standard, so we did not hesitate to book. But what we received was a huge surprise. We staff were so friendly and professional, and catered to our every need. It like they just keep getting better and better. In the rooms, a box of Astro chocolates we waiting for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madelein B
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Whatever you do, do not book a room on the ground or first floor, as you will not be able to sleep. We had the misfortune of staying in room G2 which is close to reception and the lifts. On the way to the room you pass the staff doors which are situated on either side of the corridor and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 27AmandaS312
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

What a pleasant surprise this Hotel was. Lovely new modern building, right on the freeway to everything. After a warm and friendly welcome with a lovely cool glass of grapetiser, a seamless check-in, we were shown our room. This was comfortably spacious, spotlessly clean, warm and inviting. Suitable for both business and pleasure. On site Spur Steakhouse, humming with activity,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paddymerc
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

My stay was an absolute pleasurable experience. The hotel is quiet and after a long day at an expo this is a great, clean and comfortable place sleep. Room service is friendly and the hotel's reception was extremely helpful. All the other staff also make you feel welcome. Breakfast was delicious and the food was all fresh. There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank KateW0909

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
0.3 km away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
25 reviews
8.4 km away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
32 reviews
15.2 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.5 km away
Silver Birch
Silver Birch
#3 of 26 in Roodepoort
45 reviews
9.2 km away
Amadwala Lodge
Amadwala Lodge
#1 of 5 in Roodepoort
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Roodepoort - modern comfort you can afford. The Protea Hotel Roodepoort is ideally located in the West Rand, connected to the major business parks and head offices. Let everything go after a busy day whilst overlooking a beautiful lake and gazing at the lovely views of the city to the east and Magaliesburg to the west. Mix business with pleasure - make the most of your trip and visit some of the many attractions in the area. Get in touch with your roots with a trip to the Cradle of Humankind, and then explore your wild side at the Lion Park. Other sites nearby include Soccer City Stadium, Monte Casino and the Witwatersrand Botanical Gardens. The hotel has easy access to the N1, providing easy access to Greater Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Sandton, Soweto and Johannesburg CBD. Roodepoort also has a busy business centre, with a large variety of shopping centres for guests to choose from; perfect for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Address: corner of 14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street | Weltevreden Park, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Price Range: $77 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Roodepoort 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Roodepoort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Roodepoort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room facing the lake, away from the motorway.”
 of 5 bubbles StevenL1965, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles mohamedallie, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face the busy intersections.”
 of 5 bubbles KiloDelta65, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are qreat, we stayed on the 3rd floor. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MadeleinB_12, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Check in on the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles 27AmandaS312, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay