We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Michelangelo Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Michelangelo Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

871 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 746: English reviews
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewed 28 September 2015

A wonderful hotel where all the staff cannot do enough to help and right in the centre of Sandton Square! Plush, luxurious interior and superb dining in the in house restaurant. Thank you for for a memorable two days, cannot wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leonie602
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leonie602 Thank you for the wonderful words We will make sure we share your positive feedback with our team, who strives to achieve this level of guest satisfaction at all times. Looking forward to having you back with us soon Roberto Rosa General Manager

Yaounde, Cameroon
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Hotel management is extremely poor. I checked into room 4034 on September 08, 2015 as part of a group coming for training at the U.S. Consulate. The staff told me they could not find my name on the list and asked me to do an 'pre-authorized payment' of about $300 with my visa card and told me the money will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie N
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ngwa, We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of the authorisation on your card, however this was given as your first method of payment. The Michelangelo Team have been in contact with our Banking Institution to reverse the authorisation, however the Bank has advised us that you need to contact your Banking Institution to clear the preauthorisation, as it...

Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Great hotel,excellent service and lovely compound.I am always greatful for the lovely experience and best service I ever had.I can not wait to came again and again.First impression last forever.Do you travel more often?if you get a chance to visit South Africa get a chance to stay at Michael Angelo hotel because you worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LarthaM Thank you for your positive review. We, at The Michelangelo Hotel always strive to deliver best possible service to our valuable guest. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon Roberto Rosa General Manager

Reviewed 21 September 2015

The hotel is beautifully decorated and conveniently located in Mandela Square. We upgraded to a superior room and we were very happy with it. Breakfast was very good, as well. I was a little confused about who the drivers worked for, the hotel or an outside source, but either way, we were treated well and it was easy to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DoctorDebbie
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doctor Debbie Thank you for your positive review. We at The Michelangelo Hotel always strive to deliver best possible service to our valuable guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

San Mateo, California
Reviewed 18 September 2015

How can such an expensive hotel be so sucky? We stayed in this hotel one night on our way through Joburg on our way to Victoria Falls. It looks really lovely, and one of my stars is for decor/cleanliness. BUT. First, they have 3 elevators which don't seem to run independently- i.e. when you press the up button, if there's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uloixia
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Uloixia Thank you for your valuable feedback I would like to express my regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. We continuously strive to provide the best service impression for every one of our valued guest. Please note that the MW Business Centre and Classic Limousines Transport Desk are independent service providers and we don’t directly manage...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times on business and it's ok and in a good location. They can't seem to get airport transfers right though. My driver this time arrived 45 minutes after we landed. The hotel claimed traffic (lie, it was 3pm arrival) or ineptitude ("what is your name again"). If competence is your game Mr. business Travel, I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AfricaBusiness2015
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AfricaBusiness 2015, thank you for your post and am sorry to hear that one of the independent transport service providers disappointed you. Guests make use of various transport service providers to and from the hotel, i.e., taxi's, shuttles, etc. In this case you made use of Classic Limo services that is also not part of nor under the hotels...

McDonough, Georgia
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

My first stay in this wonderful hotel. The rate included breakfast offers a wonderful variety of healthy and delicious choices including a full traditional breakfast meal or cereal. The wide variety of choices will surely meet any traveler's expectations. The Mueslix yogurt is a delight that should be enjoyed by all! The room was well apportioned with a beautiful balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glenn M
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glenn M Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed feedback on Trip Advisor. Your observations are noted and have been conveyed to the relevant managers in order to improve and refine our service where necessary. We will be sure to share your feedback with the whole team who i am certain will be delighted...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2015

the room was big, spacious, and beautiful the bathroom was amazing as it had a jacuzzi . location was excellent staff were friendly the service was amazing the pool area and outdoor jacuzzi was simply amazing the valet service were punctual

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 777Mrp
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 777Mrp Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We hope to welcome you back again soon to share our warm hospitality with you. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I stayed for 10 days on a business trip. The hotel is about 20 years old so it appears to be outdated a bit but the style is very European and classic. It looks much nicer from inside than out. The restaurant served great food and the breakfast buffet had plenty of options to choose from. Although the daily menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeiMo
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PeiMo Thank you for yor feedbackon Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff and breakfast to be above your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager

Orinda, California
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

This 5 star hotel is located in the most expensive square mile in all of Africa! The service is so good, you can understand why the hotel boasts guests as varied as Queen Elizabeth and Angelina Jolie. Rooms are comfortable, well equipped and tastefully furnished. The problem is that when staying here you can easily imagine you are not in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jbschaffer Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is appreciated and we will be sure to share it with the entire team. We look frward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager

831 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (390)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (383)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (79)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Suite (112)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
763 reviews
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
2.0 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $329 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Michelangelo Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Michelangelo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles alexanderb221, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the square are a bit louder, but not really enough to be a problem for most.”
 of 5 bubbles 779NateB, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room that faces Mandela square”
 of 5 bubbles BondJ007, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room near the elevators as the hallways are long”
 of 5 bubbles BizTraveler0718, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There can be a little noise from the square but it dies down early and the view of the Nelson Mandela statue and the square is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Michelejjs, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5