We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandton Sun

Hotels.comUS$190*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$222*
US$190*
US$198*
US$222*
US$190*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandton Sun
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandton Sun
See the most recent reviews
Showing 747: English reviews
Kitwe, Zambia
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The staff are courteous and very friendly. Appears a lot goes into the training. Room was beautiful (got an upgrade at no extra cost). Access to the mall via the 6th floor is very convenient. Top hotel!!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lutek2016
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great five star review! I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We take pride in catering to our guests' needs in the best way we can. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Peter Davidson General Manager

USA
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Very good hotel in the heart of Sandton, convenient parking, great service, access to the Mandela Square and good views of the city, super friendly staff and accommodated a family of 4 with no issues unlike many other "great brands" that customer service is last.. You will love the friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelww40
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Sandton Sun, and for taking the time to write a review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our convenient location and friendly staff. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

A very big thank you to the hotel for making our stay 5 star also a big thank you to Sam concierge Francis our driver and philawi moduli barman in San for their help and kindness in making our stay first class

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne V
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Lynne V, Thank you for your five star rating and kind comments. I am delighted to hear that staff had such a positive impact on your stay, I will be sure to let them know. We are constantly looking for ways in which we can improve on the product and services we offer so if there is anything, however...

Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Despite arriving ery early to find room not yet available the business suite washrooms service, my eventual bed and dining in the hotel were all top notch. Thursday night was busy and the dining teams service slower that usual - which cost this review the final point. Will be back for my 10th stay!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Gareth C, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay, however I was disappointed to hear that our restaurant service was not to expectations. I have personally communicated your concerns to the relevant line managers for their immediate attention. Thank you for your patronage and I...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Best location close proximity to both business and leisure activities. Neat and pretty new after renovations. Spacious gym across the skywalk. Hospitality is relative, found most staff to be a bit on the exhausted side and felt like asking them what i could do to make their stay better.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roderickm853
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies that the service you received was below expectations, this is not the standard we strive for at Sandton Sun. I will ensure that corrective measures are put in place to avoid this from happening...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

A great Hotel. Very friendly staff. Nice rooms. Slippers robes chocolates etc. Prices are great for Aussies. If you need to be in Johannesburg this is the place. One of the best shopping centers attached. Everything from Gucci to Cotton On.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ge0ff54
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great five star review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive stay. We are constantly looking for ways in which we can improve on the product and services we offer so if there is anything, however small which you feel would have improved on your time here or could...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I am staying at the Sandton Sun for a couple of nights having just returned from the wonderful bushveld and before heading back to London. I have stayed here a number of times before and it has always been one of Sandton's better hotels but, over the years, was starting to show some real wear and tear. I am delighted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kruger C
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback following your visit. I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience with us. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as incorporating the needs of our...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Just come back from staying a few nights here. The location is great , the rooms really comfortable and the facilities excellent - a swimming pool, great sun deck and roof terrace dining area, which is beautifully furnished and lit up at night with a n open fire. The food is delicious and the staff so friendly and helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amhbrighton
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Sandton Sun, and for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and I am thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed at the Sandton Sun,Sandton,Johannesburg for 9 days. This is an exceptional hotel and goes way beyond the call of duty.Location is superb with easy access to Sandton city shops,Mandela square and the guatrain. Every single member of staff that we met was professional ,courteous ,friendly, and respectful .Their aim was to make your stay as comfortable and harmonious as...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sadie M
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Sadie, Thank you for your great 5 star review, I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that staff had such a positive impact on your experience. We are on the constant look out for ways in which we can enhance your time with us. If you found anything that would have...

Queenstown, South Africa
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I have enjoyed my stay at your beautiful Hotel. Reception staff very welcoming, professional and efficient. Your rooms are elegant and stylish. Hotel Breakfast services and staff excellent. I have indeed received value for money.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncumisar
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and wonderful comments. I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind...

298 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (276)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
892 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.0 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $265 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandton Sun staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Gateshead, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Metro Manila, Philippines
3 months ago
Atlanta, GA
22 days ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
6 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Sandton Sun staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room in a different hotel”
frankbjr527, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet and no problems with elevator noise because elevatro in side of atrium and all rooms face ourside.”
happyobserver, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are a tiny bit bigger. Room numbers ending in 20, 30 and 35 are largest on each floor.”
sav_c, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors rooms have nicer view and more quiet”
715adilg, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I presume all rooms are very good.”
senguptad2015, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$190* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$198
Orbitz.comUS$190
TripAdvisorUS$190
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates