We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

    169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Lock in the lowest price from our partners
          US$28
          View Deal
          Traveller (28)
          Pool & Beach (5)
          Room & Suite (2)
          Gibela Backpackers Lodge
          156 reviews
          #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Curiocity Durban
          55 reviews
          #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Ballito Backpackers
          16 reviews
          #13 of 16 Speciality lodging in Ballito
           
          Parkview Hotel
          81 reviews
          #32 of 43 hotels in Durban
           
          Overview
          • Excellent30%
          • Very good30%
          • Average15%
          • Poor15%
          • Terrible8%
          Travellers talk about
          “baz bus” (9 reviews)
          “florida road” (18 reviews)
          “braai nights” (4 reviews)
          Free Internet
          Free Parking
          Pool
          Bar/Lounge
          Kitchenette
          Breakfast included
          Restaurant
          Room Service
          Fitness centre
          All hotel details
          Gibela Backpackers Lodge
          156 reviews
          #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Curiocity Durban
          55 reviews
          #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Ballito Backpackers
          16 reviews
          #13 of 16 Speciality lodging in Ballito
           
          Parkview Hotel
          81 reviews
          #32 of 43 hotels in Durban
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (131)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 131 reviews

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago

          This place was amazing! I had the opportunity to stay here for 3 nights and had the time of my life. It is located within walking distance of shops and restaurants while being a short ride from the beach. The people who work here are...More

          Thank Jacob R
          Reviewed 19 April 2017

          Stayed one night in the dorm room with my girlfriend before moving on. Beds were comfortable, staff were incredible and helpful. Had no worries about our safety or safety of our stuff. All in all an amazing environment with friendly people

          Thank Joshua H
          Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

          We couldn't ask for more than that. Fantastic, especially the compliments on our staff. Thank you so much. We hope to see you back at some point.

          Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

          The place is really well situated near a busy Street. Keys and vacca matta is literally 2 min walk away. The hostel was busy enough and good value for money. The bathroom facilities can do with some work though.

          Thank Andre B
          Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

          Thanks for your review. Lots of positive there. Love the good value for money part. We think so also. Will have a closer look at the negative points. Hope to see you back again soon.

          Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

          On numerous occasions I have stayed at Tekweni on passing business trips through Durban, hands down this has always been such a pleasurable experience. The staff are very friendly and accommodating towards guests. Tekwenis vibe is out of this world. Definitely highly reccomend to anyone...More

          Thank marlonh760
          Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

          What a sensational review. You definitely get us. Fantastic! We look forward to your next trip through Durbs.

          Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

          We stayed here one night and would never stay again. The staff were not friendly and the morning of our stay the lady on reception was down right rude. We had a private room, the bed was uncomfortable with rubbish pillows, the bedding looked dirty,...More

          Thank Cazzacoley
          Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

          We do remember your booking and it is obvious what is going on with this review. You stayed together with the person that reviewed us below "Worst experience ever". You weren't happy with your room as you stated which is fair enough. We have since...More

          Gibela Backpackers Lodge
          156 reviews
          #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Curiocity Durban
          55 reviews
          #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Ballito Backpackers
          16 reviews
          #13 of 16 Speciality lodging in Ballito
           
          Parkview Hotel
          81 reviews
          #32 of 43 hotels in Durban
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Free Internet
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$13 - US$39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 18
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • KwaZulu-Natal >
          • Durban
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (28)
          Pool & Beach (5)
          Room & Suite (2)
          Hotel & Grounds (33)
          Bathroom (1)
          Nearby
          The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
          230 reviews
          .65 km away
           
          African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
          144 reviews
          .96 km away
           
          Quarters Hotel Florida Road
          112 reviews
          .27 km away
           
          Florida Park Hotel
          82 reviews
          .13 km away
           
          The Benjamin
          223 reviews
          .12 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Butcher Block Steakhouse
          26 reviews
          .27 km away
          Butcher Boys
          633 reviews
          .10 km away
          9th Avenue Bistro
          472 reviews
          .36 km away
          Spiga D'oro
          651 reviews
          .18 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Durban Botanic Gardens
          848 reviews
          1.45 km away
          Moses Mabhida Stadium
          1,005 reviews
          1.47 km away
          Big Rush Urban Adrenaline
          129 reviews
          1.43 km away
          Mitchell Park
          191 reviews
          1.16 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          janena2014
          Hi. Please advise if pool and jacuzzi in working order. as previous reviews indicate they are not. Please advise on more info pertaining to Room 6.
          26 December 2014|
          What is your answer?
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Room Number 15 is extremely small"
          Read review
          "Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
          Read review
          "For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
          Read review
          "Quieter rooms are to the front of the house"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing