We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Personally i can only say s.t. bout the dorm: It is very basic (no lockers, chairs, tables ecc.) but it is clean and the price is budget. They have a safe at the reception. Carmen and her whole crew were absolutely amazing; trustful, welcoming, hearty, helpful; nice, nice, nice! Thank You so much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
Cape Town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was tiny, only a wall closet, a bed and a bin. Not even enough space for two suitcases. The ceiling had many strange spots. The room smelled a bit damp (could have been because of the weather, it was raining a lot). The sheet did not fit the mattress and it was badly stained with small holes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natascha755
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Ouch that is one terrible review. We will look into all the stuff you mentioned. Normally our staff is our strong point and believe it or not we have strong management in place.This is an isolated incident and very sorry it happened to you. Feel free to email me on info@tekwenibackpackers.co.za should you wish to discuss this further. Patrick

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Ok you get what you pay for. Rooms are clean and you have hot water. Dont expect a 5 star place. Nice bar and friendly staff the only problem was that the poeple who was also book in made noise early in the mornings and disturbed our sleep but this has nothing to do with place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey cool review. We can see you feel us. Hope to see you back.

Reviewed 7 October 2016

First off the location is great; a stone's throw away from some good stops on Florida Road. All the staff who helped us were so friendly and relaxed, it made our visit feel more like we were dealing old friends instead of strangers. We enjoyed the evening vibe created by the pool side lighting and "chill area", as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shroomsta
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Yes yes yes. You definitely get us. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you back.

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The location is great and close to restaurants and bars. Some of the personel is really friendly! Other ones try to sell you their tours or transport services. The place in general was clean enough, but a little bit run down. We didnt have warm water sometimes and there are 3 showers for a lot of people. So depending on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieter2401
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Just as a matter of interest your comments aren't that bad and you did say mixed feelings. We would think that would equate to maybe 60% and not 40%. Oh well. We are open to public criticism so what can we do. Just seems to us that you liked us more than your ratings reflect.

Hluhluwe, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Thanks Thekweni Staff for always a great welcome Great atmosphere great music (thanks Wattie ) staff will show you Durban and surround will always recommend this Hostel Flrorida road is close by for your needs to relax great restaurants and Pubs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey hey. A Teks fan. Cool! Thanks for the sensational review and we hope to see you back.

New York
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The best part of Tekweni Backpackers is their location, in Morningside area of Durban. A block away from Florida Rd, it is conveniently placed for cafés, bars, grocery stores and is a safe area to wander in. Dorms and doubles available. The facilities were likely good once but suffer from neglect and/or lack of replacements such sagging mattresses with holes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon N
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Pretty much a mixed bag. We have sorted out our beds and mattresses quite a bit since you stayed with us. Im not sure which staff you talked to but we are normally pretty good with that. We do understand how you feel though and hope to see you back.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

At booking time I asked to arrange for a transfer to Sodwana Bay for a PADI course as I was short on time. They assured me it is doable and that they have alternatives for that and that i should arrange it upon arrival. I got there at night, the reception/ bar was busy but finally got checked in my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristy001
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hmmm. It seems your bad experience with the taxi generally soured your stay. The taxi situation does work for some peeps and not for others. We drop you right at the taxi so you don't have to walk through that area. At that point you are actually safe. Yes the taxi waits to fill up and sometimes 2 hours. Its...

Reviewed 19 August 2016

This is the second time I have stayed at Tekweni, and I can honestly say that it is the only place I want to stay at when in Durban! Not only is it walking-distance to Florida Road, but something fun is always happening at the hostel. Whether it is a braai, or playing pool, or meeting interesting people from all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tish S
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Yes yes yes. You definitely feel us. Thanks for the sensational review. Guessing you will be back.

France
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The staff was not really professional and careless when we arrived. Regarding the premices, the pool was dirty and the bathroom close to our room was really old and had missing tiles. The room had dead insects squashed on the walls. The bed sheets were dirty, really thin and one had holes. One bed did not have a ladder. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bestclem42
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hmmmm. You really want to make a point. This is the second review medium that you have posted on. If you generally want to damage us then good job. We have looked into all the things you are unhappy about and dealt with most of them. Generally however I don't think we are your type of place and you would...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.5 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,222 reviews
14.7 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
208 reviews
3.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 42 in Durban
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 42 in Durban
400 reviews
3.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
3.3 km away
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Gooderson Beach Hotel
#26 of 42 in Durban
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $33 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Number 15 is extremely small”
 of 5 bubbles natascha755, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment rather than your typical hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the front of the house”
 of 5 bubbles GavinGrierson, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“The dorms are comfortable and clean but I wouldn't recommend room 4 as it's right by the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles RosieM942, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay