We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

At booking time I asked to arrange for a transfer to Sodwana Bay for a PADI course as I was short on time. They assured me it is doable and that they have alternatives for that and that i should arrange it upon arrival. I got there at night, the reception/ bar was busy but finally got checked in my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristy001
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hmmm. It seems your bad experience with the taxi generally soured your stay. The taxi situation does work for some peeps and not for others. We drop you right at the taxi so you don't have to walk through that area. At that point you are actually safe. Yes the taxi waits to fill up and sometimes 2 hours. Its...

Reviewed 19 August 2016

This is the second time I have stayed at Tekweni, and I can honestly say that it is the only place I want to stay at when in Durban! Not only is it walking-distance to Florida Road, but something fun is always happening at the hostel. Whether it is a braai, or playing pool, or meeting interesting people from all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tish S
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Yes yes yes. You definitely feel us. Thanks for the sensational review. Guessing you will be back.

France
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The staff was not really professional and careless when we arrived. Regarding the premices, the pool was dirty and the bathroom close to our room was really old and had missing tiles. The room had dead insects squashed on the walls. The bed sheets were dirty, really thin and one had holes. One bed did not have a ladder. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bestclem42
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hmmmm. You really want to make a point. This is the second review medium that you have posted on. If you generally want to damage us then good job. We have looked into all the things you are unhappy about and dealt with most of them. Generally however I don't think we are your type of place and you would...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 July 2016

I read the same thing that this is a big party hostel, which it wasn't. It's okay because I come here to sleep and relax, I can party out on the streets. My brother and I booked an apartment room which had bunk beds. The room was so small we could barely move around, the regular shared rooms are much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. You really must have caught us on a quiet night cuz there is generally always something going on. Thanks for the compliments on our staff. They are our pride and joy and we love it when peeps appreciate it.

Reviewed 3 July 2016

we went there December time it was very nice. friendly staff kitchen fully equipped we were a group of 10 its vibe place for December next to shopping its distance to the beach but we had fun improvements on some rooms must be done

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leratoOOOOO
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I can see you enjoyed us. We have been steadily working on our rooms and beds since then. Some of them needed attention. Thanks for the advice. We do hope to see you back.

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

What a great experience. Great staff and great ambiance. Dont want to leave!!!! Was such a great vibe with music playing in the background and lights creating the awesome atmosphere. Its just shy off one of the best streets in Durban called Florida Rd. Filled with great restaurants and nightlife. Best location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loraine v
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review. Something tells me you will be back :)

Swakopmund, Namibia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

My wife and I recently passed through Durban and stayed a few nights at Tekweni. It is one of the longest running backpackers in Durban and is still a fantastic and fun place to stay. The staff was extremely helpful, the room was clean and their braai nights are still rolling with a great local atmosphere. The location, just off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norcoast
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

A regular customer. We got lots of them but you are certainly one of our favorites. Thanks for the super review. I know you will be back. Until then.

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I only stayed for one night with a friend but we had a great night! We were welcomed and taken to our spacious dorm. The beds were clean and comfortable. The shower was the best I'd had in SA! Really hot and good pressure. The atmosphere was great, everyone was very friendly and the drinks were cheap, happy days! If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhea R
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Fantastic review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon!

Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Before going to Durban everyone we knew told us we had to stay at Tekwenis, and that it was the best party backpackers in the area. However, on our trip we didn't agree. Both of the times me and my friends have stayed there is was very much not a party. One time there was even 30 school kids staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. Sounds like you had bad timing to come twice and we were quiet. We don't often take school kid groups and if we do they are always older kids that do enjoy us. With todays economy we are forced to diversify a bit. We do always try and manage the situation though assuring that we still...

Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Tekweni is a very nice hostel. It is a bit of an artsy and alternative place, not only in the way it looks, but also the vibe. Very relaxed. Always people around, always music (until approx. midnight). And the braai nights are really nice. We met all kinds of people with whom we had a nice time drinking, braaiing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manonvandermeer
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey hey. Fantastic review. Thanks so much. We are busy sorting out the few beds that are a bit lumpy BTW. I can see you really feel us. Thanks and hope to see you back soon.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
2.5 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,269 reviews
3.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 41 in Durban
63 reviews
14.7 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 41 in Durban
409 reviews
3.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $19 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Number 15 is extremely small”
 of 5 bubbles natascha755, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment rather than your typical hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the front of the house”
 of 5 bubbles GavinGrierson, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“The dorms are comfortable and clean but I wouldn't recommend room 4 as it's right by the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles RosieM942, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay