We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Save
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Breakfast included
Restaurant
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
45
37
19
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
45
37
19
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorida roadbraai nightsbars and restaurantscommunal areasawesome placestayed one nightnight lifewithin walking distancesecure parkingenjoyed my stayhome away from homeradmattressesshannonkeysdurbssafety
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Stayed one night in the dorm room with my girlfriend before moving on. Beds were comfortable, staff were incredible and helpful. Had no worries about our safety or safety of our stuff. All in all an amazing environment with friendly people

Thank Joshua H
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 21 April 2017

We couldn't ask for more than that. Fantastic, especially the compliments on our staff. Thank you so much. We hope to see you back at some point.

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The place is really well situated near a busy Street. Keys and vacca matta is literally 2 min walk away. The hostel was busy enough and good value for money. The bathroom facilities can do with some work though.

Thank Andre B
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks for your review. Lots of positive there. Love the good value for money part. We think so also. Will have a closer look at the negative points. Hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

On numerous occasions I have stayed at Tekweni on passing business trips through Durban, hands down this has always been such a pleasurable experience. The staff are very friendly and accommodating towards guests. Tekwenis vibe is out of this world. Definitely highly reccomend to anyone...More

Thank marlonh760
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 15 February 2017

What a sensational review. You definitely get us. Fantastic! We look forward to your next trip through Durbs.

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night and would never stay again. The staff were not friendly and the morning of our stay the lady on reception was down right rude. We had a private room, the bed was uncomfortable with rubbish pillows, the bedding looked dirty,...More

Thank Cazzacoley
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 11 February 2017

We do remember your booking and it is obvious what is going on with this review. You stayed together with the person that reviewed us below "Worst experience ever". You weren't happy with your room as you stated which is fair enough. We have since...More

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We arrive to stay one night tired after a long journey greeted by a mumbling member of staff To then shown our room by another. Fan didn't work in room Sheets dirty people who was working there woke up at 5 am and had a...More

Thank Ben W
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 11 February 2017

We do remember your booking and it is obvious what is going on with this review. You stayed together with the person that reviewed us above "Stay somewhere else". You weren't happy with your room as you stated which is fair enough. We have since...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Durban
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"room 8, very quite corner and good for sleeping"
Read review
"Room Number 15 is extremely small"
Read review
"Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
Read review
"For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing