We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
26/11/2017 27/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

    169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    26/11/2017 27/11/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DurbanSee available hotels in Durban
    Traveller (30)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hilton Durban
    1,510 reviews
    #2 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.4 km
     
    African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
    157 reviews
    #11 of 43 hotels in Durban
    1.0 km
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
    381 reviews
    #10 of 43 hotels in Durban
    3.2 km
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    243 reviews
    #7 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.7 km
     
    Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
    2,072 reviews
    #3 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.3 km
     
    Belaire Suites
    452 reviews
    #8 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.1 km
     
    The Benjamin
    235 reviews
    #5 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.1 km
     
    Florida Park Hotel
    85 reviews
    #21 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.1 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent35%
    • Very good28%
    • Average14%
    • Poor14%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    “florida road” (19 reviews)
    “tv room” (2 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (143)
    There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    31 - 35 of 123 reviews

    Reviewed 24 July 2016

    The staff was not really professional and careless when we arrived. Regarding the premices, the pool was dirty and the bathroom close to our room was really old and had missing tiles. The room had dead insects squashed on the walls. The bed sheets were...More

    1  Thank bestclem42
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Hmmmm. You really want to make a point. This is the second review medium that you have posted on. If you generally want to damage us then good job. We have looked into all the things you are unhappy about and dealt with most of...More

    Reviewed 15 July 2016

    I read the same thing that this is a big party hostel, which it wasn't. It's okay because I come here to sleep and relax, I can party out on the streets. My brother and I booked an apartment room which had bunk beds. The...More

    Thank Creeping_Death_LA
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Thanks for the review. You really must have caught us on a quiet night cuz there is generally always something going on. Thanks for the compliments on our staff. They are our pride and joy and we love it when peeps appreciate it.

    Reviewed 3 July 2016

    we went there December time it was very nice. friendly staff kitchen fully equipped we were a group of 10 its vibe place for December next to shopping its distance to the beach but we had fun improvements on some rooms must be done

    Thank leratoOOOOO
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 9 July 2016

    Thanks for your review. I can see you enjoyed us. We have been steadily working on our rooms and beds since then. Some of them needed attention. Thanks for the advice. We do hope to see you back.

    Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

    What a great experience. Great staff and great ambiance. Dont want to leave!!!! Was such a great vibe with music playing in the background and lights creating the awesome atmosphere. Its just shy off one of the best streets in Durban called Florida Rd. Filled...More

    Thank Loraine v
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 21 June 2016

    Thanks for the awesome review. Something tells me you will be back :)

    Reviewed 13 June 2016

    My wife and I recently passed through Durban and stayed a few nights at Tekweni. It is one of the longest running backpackers in Durban and is still a fantastic and fun place to stay. The staff was extremely helpful, the room was clean and...More

    Thank norcoast
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 21 June 2016

    A regular customer. We got lots of them but you are certainly one of our favorites. Thanks for the super review. I know you will be back. Until then.

    Hilton Durban
    1,510 reviews
    #2 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.4 km
     
    African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
    157 reviews
    #11 of 43 hotels in Durban
    1.0 km
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
    381 reviews
    #10 of 43 hotels in Durban
    3.2 km
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    243 reviews
    #7 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.7 km
     
    Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
    2,072 reviews
    #3 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.3 km
     
    Belaire Suites
    452 reviews
    #8 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.1 km
     
    The Benjamin
    235 reviews
    #5 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.1 km
     
    Florida Park Hotel
    85 reviews
    #21 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.1 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$23 - US$29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Durban
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (35)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Hilton Durban
    1,510 reviews
    2.44 km away
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
    381 reviews
    3.20 km away
     
    African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
    157 reviews
    .95 km away
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    243 reviews
    .66 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Butcher Boys Florida Road
    708 reviews
    .10 km away
    Butcher Block Steakhouse
    38 reviews
    .28 km away
    9th Avenue Bistro
    506 reviews
    .37 km away
    Spiga D'oro
    696 reviews
    .18 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Durban Botanic Gardens
    904 reviews
    1.46 km away
    Big Rush Urban Adrenaline
    134 reviews
    1.43 km away
    Mitchell Park
    203 reviews
    1.15 km away
    Greyville Racecourse
    63 reviews
    .86 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "room 8, very quite corner and good for sleeping"
    Read review
    "Room Number 15 is extremely small"
    Read review
    "Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
    Read review
    "For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing