We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

An Upper Room

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
An Upper Room
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of An Upper Room
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm friendly environment with a nice room and en suite bathroom. Staff - especially Connie - are fantastic and extremely helpful. The breakfast was freshly prepared and delicious and the pool a welcome respite from the heat of Durban.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ross_co_za
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was really nice to stay in An Upper Room in Durban for two weeks. It's located on a small hill with beautiful view, safe and quiet, close to the Natal university. The staff are very friendly. Suppers are well prepared and different everyday (pasta, BBQ, salad). All the things make you feel like home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fanegenstein W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2017

An Upper Room is convenient, comfortable and close to the city. It is perfect for a work trip stay over. There are several good restaurants nearby too. The neighbourhood is quiet and leafy. There is a lovely swimming pool.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReneCapeTown
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stayed three nights with Edith and Leon and their staff. They were the best hosts we could have. They are friendly, flexible and helpful and made us always feel welcome. The rooms were clean and convenient and the breakfast very good. This is a great place if you want to explore Durban and the surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oivin2016
Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The view I'd great. The place Is quaint. The beds make you knock out. The rooms are quite. The towels are fluffy. It is definitely an upper room. The parking is high and the rooms are high. It was a very relaxed stay for us. No fuss.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boipelog
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We always enjoy having lovely people stay with us. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you back

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I honestly can't thank Edith and Leon enough for their kindness whilst we stayed with them, they made us feel so welcome. Our car broke down in Durban during our 2 week tour of SA. They were so kind and helpful, letting us use phones and tools to fix the car. The place is very clean and tidy, great location....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coles21
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we were happy we could help you and hope the rest of your trip was good. Hope to see you back again one day.

Sankt Gallenkirch, Austria
Reviewed 12 November 2016

During our roundtrip in SA we stayed one night in Durban with Edith and Leon. We arrived in the early afternoon and our rooms were not ready. However we could deposit our bags and Edith showed us the place were to go and to park in Durban city centre. It's just a short drive to the centre but you fell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XdamaX
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

We are happy enjoyed your stay as we did having you at our establishment.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Always made to feel so welcome. The warmth and friendliness of all the staff make you feel like family but you are spoilt like an honored guest! Always a great stay ! High standards consistently maintained over many years

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank loreines2016
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

Glad to hear the nice things you say about us, we always enjoy having you it makes it so pleasant when we have great guests like you. See you again.

Safi, Morocco
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I would like to come back for sure , very good service you feel at home a specially with the best owners Edith& Leon , the most thing i adore it is the desert that was fabulous you can just ask what you want

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 632insafe
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

Thanks for the review we loved having you all the way from Morocco. you were a wonderful guest .

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival I was warmly welcomed at the guest house. The house has a warmly family atmosphere to it. The whole house is very clean. Staff are all very friendly and the beds are very comfortable. Even though I was travelling alone, I felt very much at home here. I will definitely come stay here again when I am in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan B

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.5 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
1,320 reviews
5.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
5.9 km away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
4.0 km away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#5 of 254 in Durban
255 reviews
1.3 km away
Mackaya Bella Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Upper Room Bed and Breakfast is situated on the Durban's ridge with a spectacular view over the harbor. Set away from the main roads in tranquil surroundings and frequented by many species of birds. We are situated at the top of Pigeon Valley which teems with numerous species of wild life. An Upper Room offers peace and tranquility for the business executive or holiday maker. Children of all ages are welcome, and those who are 5 years and under stay for free. There is a street patrol 24 hours a day in the area to ensure that the area is safe. We are 800m from the KZN University Howard Collage, within walking distance. We have two dogs Lily & Bentley, who love visitors especially children, and are friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about An Upper Room

Address: 60 Clair Avenue | Manor Gardens, Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $79 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your An Upper Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from An Upper Room staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from An Upper Room staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great nights sleep but best breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles olibarnes, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A very quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles rwiles2016, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Tranquility. full aquipped kitchen in cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles Aloncohen2015, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room with view at the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles Miranda1880, 18 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies are super”
  • View from my blacony - looking up towards the University as evening set in
 of 5 bubbles DebA37, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5