We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rain Farm Game and Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rain Farm Game and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 148: English reviews
Durban
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 1 night and enjoyed the break in a perfect location. We had a room with a view of the dam, and it was spacious, with a king-size bed, kitchenette area, and spa bath and shower, and a small balcony overlooking the dam. The luxury tents looked really comfy too, and we saw a range of animals...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anfield33
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant stay for my family and I. Friendly staff and were always keen to help out. Game drive was a bit expensive for what you are offered to see. Rooms are clean. Restaurant food is great. I will definitely be back soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpallettiZA
Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a beautiful scenic place. I would highly recommend this place. The food is good. Friendly staff. Real value for your money. It is the ideal place to stay if you want to really rest and just get away from everything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthpalm
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was relaxing. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rain Farm - Management

Pinetown, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our 5 day stay at the lodge was excellent and we were made very welcome. Service we found was excellent and the food was 5 star and well presented. There could have been a variation in the breakfasts, which were good, and cereals would have been welcome. I would definitely recommend the lodge to anyone for a complete getaway and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K3177ECcolinh
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the food you received. We really appreciate that you would recommend our establishment - this keeps us motivated to keep offering the service we do. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rain Farm -...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a surprise holiday planned for my parents as a way to thank them for all they do for me. They absolutely loved Rain Farm & Game Lodge, they said the food was divine, my mom could not stop raving about the food. They said the staff was polite and helpful, the staff made sure to communicate always about...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wenzilem
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad that your parents enjoyed their stay with us. We do apologise about the TV issue and have since fixed it. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rain Farm - Management

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was highly dissapointed in the service, when we got to our room it was not cleaned. The reception staff was not friendly. The phone and internet was not working. In your pictures you show Giraffes, i did not see a single Girraffe. Dinner was terrible, the chicken curry was sweet and I was unable to finish my meal because...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sinjing
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sinjin, Thank you for your review. We would like to take this opportunity to address the issues you have raised. 1) We remember your check in - I was personally present and can vouch for our reception staff that the service that you received was incredibly friendly. 2) Our phone lines were down and as a result, our internet...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent our last four days of our South African Holiday at Rain Farm in Waterbuck cabin which was over the Christmas weekend and if there was ever a way to spend Christmas this is it have a bath or shower under the stars and bass fishing in the lake with a BBQ thrown in what is better. The staff...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robincC3247HA
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Robin, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your family was an absolute pleasure to have and our staff loved your company. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rain Farm - Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Atrocious service! Considering it was a kids party, the kids food was terrible and not served on time. Very late and not all dishes were ready. Very poor management. The quality of the service has let down what is in fact an excellent location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolkev
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review and suggestions. We apologise for the experience you received when you visited our establishment. We have taken the issues you have raised into account and will look into improving upon them. Kind Regards, Rain Farm - Management

Stanger, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i absolutely love love this place. the staff are really friendly and welcoming, the food is great and views are breathtakingly beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed the game drive and picnic (food was divine). we will definitely be visiting again!! :D :D

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lenisha_kissoonlal
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lenisha, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rain Farm - Management

Durban-sur-Arize, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to the rain farm twice now. We love the accommodation. The luxury tent is a perfect romantic getaway. The only disappointment is the meals included in the package. The meals were of very poor quality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tasc120
RainFarmGL, Marketing Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for the lovely review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for raising concern over the food we will look into this issue and do our best to improve on it. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rain Farm - Management

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
43.3 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,267 reviews
41.5 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 41 in Durban
409 reviews
42.6 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
43.8 km away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#63 of 251 in Durban
32 reviews
15.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rain Farm Game & Lodge has a stunning restaurant which offers breath taking views of the farm. Rain Farm Game & Lodge offers luxury accommodation in the tranquil wildlife surrounds. - Luxury Tree Top Tents (Dinner bed & breakfast only) - Luxury Dam Facing Units (Self-catering or dinner bed & breakfast) - Farm House River facing Units (Self-catering or dinner bed & breakfast) Rain Farm Game & Lodge offers the following activities - Game Drives - Horse Trails - Archery - Pellet Gun Shooting - Childrens Playground - Day Spa - Miniature Golf Rain Farm is the closest Game reserve to Durban, a mere 30 minute drive from King Shaka International Airport. Game you can see at our farm includes: Dassies Porcupine Mongoose Giraffe Wildebeest Zebra Impala Nyala Waterbuck Blesbok Springbok Eland Red Hartebeest Ostrich Emu Warthog Caracal Serval Bush Buck Mountain Reedbuck Common Reedbuck Steenbok Blue/Red/Grey Duiker Wide variety of Snakes, most spotted is the endangered African Rock Python A massively wide variety of bird life including: King Fisher, Hornbill, Fish Eagle, Bee Eater, Secretary Bird, Nightjar, Egyptian Geese ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rain Farm Game and Lodge

Address: Esenembe Road | Farm 9, Durban 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $120 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rain Farm Game and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rain Farm Game and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rain Farm Game and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luxury Dam Units, spacious”
 of 5 bubbles nitashah2016, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose Tent 3 and 4 for maximum seclusion”
 of 5 bubbles jporter2407, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Falcon isi where we stayed and I cannot recommend this highly enough. Views were fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles mr382, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Day visitor”
 of 5 bubbles 837AliciaM, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Did not stay only used restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles sandras32, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay