We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Show Prices
#2 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,455: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2016

parked on 1floor but lift did not work so carried bags to ground floor to get to the room.should have been notified by receptionist when she charged out the parking ticket.and water is more scarce than petrol in your hotel.we have to beg than too you have a quota and that's it.poor attitude for a five rand bottle.we had to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ahmedashrafr
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your feedback.' Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the faulty lift, which was unfortunately damaged during the recent heavy rains. The complimentary bottle of water is placed in the room as a courtesy, as the water in Durban is safe to drink. Additional beverages... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Please update your records and do proper preparation before welcoming customers.. your welcoming standards ad service need radical improvements. it does not represent the normal Southern Sun levels (and from my past visit to your hotels)

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank tshikinyaamosm
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Close to the promenade, you might want to rent a car to visit or shopping in other areas, like umslanga. The restaurant at the hotel, both for breakfast or dining is fantastic and reasonable price. Wifi connection is hard, and if you need more speed you have an extra charge

Helpful?
Thank eobieta
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This hotel was chosen for me by my employer when I attended a conference, but I would definitely use it again if I return. It's right on the beachfront so that's great for the view, but also a place that's safe to take a walk after a long day of work/conferencing. The lobby is well appointed, all the staff were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ShutterGo
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban. Regards Samantha More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

All rooms at the Maharani has sea-facing rooms. Rooms are comfortable and larger than most hotel rooms. I found the staff to be very friendly. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a lot of options. Great option for a business trip to Durban.

Helpful?
Thank Helenedt
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

What an awesome stay at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani.Rooms are clean.Excellent service.Friendly staff.Beautiful view of the ocean was really relaxing.Really enjoyed my stay.Looking forward to going again.

Helpful?
Thank kogie n
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed for a conference last year at the icc. Position wise I think it would have been easier to be located closer to the icc however we used uber at a minimum cost and they were readily available. The hotel is modern and well located on the promenade. There are bikes which you can hire and I got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lara S
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and managed to enjoy our beautiful promenade. We look forward to welcoming you back to Durban again soon Regards Samantha More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The young Receptionist was rude and flippant when checking in. Beds made up late without a tip sheet. Tissues left around even after daily clean up. Breakfast buffet is forgettable.... City Lodge offers a superior one

Helpful?
2 Thank tajandtiger
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which you were treated upon arrival - your comments have been shared with the team, in order for them to address this. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast - which is usually... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This lovely hotel offers a wonderful stay. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is great! I loved my sea-view through a big window that you could almost completely open. Well done Elangeni, I can certainly recommend you!

Helpful?
Thank Mabet V
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I've stayed at this hotel three times and have always enjoyed its location - right on the waterfront in Durban. The hotel is designed so that all the rooms face the ocean and the views are spectacular particularly at sunrise. Unlike prior trips, I was in Durban for a major international conference and the hotel - and entire city -... More 

Helpful?
Thank John H
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbance caused by the noise on the pool deck - we do try to control it by lowering the music and encouraging patrons to move indoors - in order to reduce the possibility of disturbing Guests in the rooms above the area. I... More 

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (370)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (144)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,217 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 42 in Durban
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 42 in Durban
519 reviews
0.5 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 42 in Durban
382 reviews
16.7 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $196 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and HRS so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prefer the Maharani hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 473michellen, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“412 was near the lifts and had a fantastic view over the bay”
 of 5 bubbles chrisgL5115YC, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room is good, higher rooms have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at maharani are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles srane_125311, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles andrewbW8364KJ, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay