We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Durban

1,571 reviews
Save
Traveller (248)
Room & Suite (133)
Dining (68)
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Free Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Hilton Durban
Special Offer: LIVE THE BIG EASY
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,571)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveller rating
584
463
235
96
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
584
463
235
96
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeeasy restaurantbusiness loungeconvention centerroom serviceattending a conferencefive star hotelcurriesexcellent servicebusiness tripcomrades marathonreception areasouth africaenjoyed my stayiccrainbowdoorman
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

No value for money with this establishment especially for a well travelled individual. Staff is generally too lax in attitude and are not fully informed of services paid for hence different explanations are given by different staff members dailyMore

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank b0itumel0g
Response from MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton DurbanResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking your time to send in your review about your recent visit to Durban and your stay with us. Your review really helps us in analyzing where things are going good and where...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Very disappointed with the lack of customer service at Hilton Durban. Guests wait tirelessly for someone to assist at the reception desks. There was no one in attendance for long periods. When asked about the lack of staff, we were told that staff are resigning...More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank muhammadjafars
Response from MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton DurbanResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest Many thanks for being our guest and for posting your review. We are truly very concerned and sorry to read the way you feel about our property and the service provided. Despite the impression created, however we want to assure you that...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Hotel does not meet 5 star quality. No gowns and slippers in rooms you have to ask for them. During breakfast certain food items finished, Executive lounge milk finished and lemonade finished and they are offering cola tonic, Finding parking mission impossibleMore

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank zodwam680
Response from MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton DurbanResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Blue Hilton Honors member, you are among our most valued guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of your...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Tried booking a family room nothing was available so took a standard room and needed two cots for the 2 babies unfortunately only had 1 cot in the room when i called at 11pm for a cot i was told at 1230am sorry not cots...More

2  Thank 2018-sma
Response from MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton DurbanResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform me of the disappointment you experienced with your recent reservations at Hilton Durban. Please accept our apologies for the level of service you experienced. We, at the...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

Hotel was beautiful and our problem of reservation accuracy on billings was solved by upgrading us to the business lounge . Manager has got excellent customer skill. Felt reassured and listened too. 5* experienceMore

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sihle N
Response from MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton DurbanResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Hilton Durban as the venue of your stay in Durban. We appreciate you taking the time to send in your review on this stay while you were our guest. It makes us very happy to note from your...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
134567295
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (248)
Room & Suite (133)
Dining (68)
Pool & Beach (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (11)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Muhammad C
14 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MarkusMFritz | Property representative |
Thank you for your question, unfortunately we do not offer shuttle services to and from the beaches, however we do have a preferred transport company that operates from the hotel and the fares to Ushaka Beach is R 50 for a... More
0
Votes
NormajoTampaUSA
23 October 2017|
Answer
Response from MarkusMFritz | Property representative |
Please contact our Reservations Team who will be able to assist your with our preferred transfer company that operates from the hotel. The current cost is approx. R500 one way. Call 031 336 8100
0
Votes
BBBrewing
23 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from MarkusMFritz | Property representative |
Dear BBBrewing, yes our Wi-Fi upgrade is currently taking place and will be completed by the week of 1st September, so perfect timing! Looking forward to welcoming you to the Hilton Durban. Kind regards Markus General... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
1234
Room Tips
"Go high floor"
Read review
"All rooms are good here but I prefer non smoker rooms."
Read review
"Higher floors (5+) are quieter."
Read review
"hotel is not in the nice part of Durban it doesn't matter where you are"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing