We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Durban

Booking.comUS$136*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,277: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This hotel is ideally suited for anybody planning a business or leisure trip to Durban. It is ideally located for easy access to the beach, waterfront, sporting facilities and city centre. The quality of service and facilities is world class and come highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 950danied
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to post them online. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Hilton Durban and we hope that when your travel plans next include Durban that you will allow us to be of service to you once again. Yours sincerely...

Durban
Reviewed 6 October 2016

classy hotel with all the frills of five star. enjoyed our stay. Dinner was great at Big Easy. will return for next stay .Room was spacious , bed was very comfortable,TV had all channels. RECOMMEND to all travellers to stay at this hotel in Durban.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mogie4
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us as a place to stay when visiting Durban. I appreciate your comments about our Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els, which I will surely pass onto the team. I...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

not up to standard- Hilton - to me should be quality more than 5 star - the rooms and cleanliness much to be desired for- reception needs to jacked up and clients requested honored and if not possible advise before client arrives

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 246ingridh
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to send in your review and sharing it with TripAdvisor. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us, and I addressed these issues with our Reservations Manager, Front Office Manager and the Executive Housekeeper. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback helps us...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My teenage son and I spent a night in an executive room last weekend. The hotel has recently been renovated/refurnished and I have to say that the result is impressive. The staff have to be commended on their willing attitudes, customer awareness and their focus on service excellence. It's not often that one comes across such excellent service in South...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison_R_Travel_Mad
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that Hilton Durban had to offer and we met all of your needs. We appreciate your feedback and will surely pass on your great comments about Lungelo to the entire team. We look forward welcoming you and...

Lenasia, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Hilton earlier this week. Seems a very busy hotel, foyer, check in / checkout queues always crowded. Very conveniently located right next to the ICC. Rooms are comfortable, fairly modern and so are the bathrooms. Maybe not 100% like Hilton standards we have come to accept, but adequate enough. It takes about 30/40 minutes from the airport,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AzTee
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for posting your experience with us. These comments give us a chance to improve the service our team provides to our guests. We deeply value your loyalty and realize that there are many other locations to choose from and happy to see that you would consider us again and so we can show you the...

Kempton Park
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I Have had the opportunity of staying here 3 times but the last time i stayed was definately below par and thus i will review all three stays. If your away for a business trip this is the hotel for you. Things i like: close to the beach, not close to walk but a quick drive. Gym was good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ofentse M
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I’m terribly sorry to hear about the experience you had at the Hilton Durban. On behalf of our entire team, let me assure you that we strive for spectacular service experiences in each and every guest encounter. I am sorry that our location to the beach was not close enough, the service from our staff and also...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 October 2016

spent a weekend at this hotel and was spoilt from the time that I arrived until I left. Would highly recommend staying at the Hilton for excellent hotel amenities, breakfast and location and especially friendliness from all the staff.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aziza A
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Hilton Durban on TripAdvisor. I cannot say anything else than thank you for writing such a warm words about all of our team members and excellent hotel amenities. We truly hope to welcome back soon. Yours sincerely, Markus

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I had an enjoyable stay at the Hilton Durban Hotel from 29 September to 02 October 2016. Great location to the Durban ICC and approximately 5 minutes drive to Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Durban beach front. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good as always! However, I found that the front of house staff (ie. doorman and tea...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadia E
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you were impressed with the hotel's location and will address...

Springbok, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The worst 5 star experience ever, definitely not worth going to Hilton, not value for money, dirty rooms, leaking toilet pot, dirty carpets, smelly rooms,hated and regretted every time staying at this place

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marcellinoa2016
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. We take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We have discussed this matter with the individuals involved, such as our Executive Housekeeper, Chief Engineer and Front Office Manager and hopefully incidents like this can be handled better...

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Our stay at this hotel was absolutely incredible. We had a really great time and the staff members are extremely kind. The food is divine and so is the service. A great place to take your significant other.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Molemo M
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that Hilton Durban has to offer and we met all of your needs. We appreciate your feedback and value your patronage and hope that you choose to stay with us again. Yours sincerely Markus

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (26)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.4 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
587 reviews
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
0.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Vasco's Restaurant
Vasco's Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, African, International, Asian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $136 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King size rooms are fab - huge bed and very spacious but any room will be fine to be honest.”
h0ward16, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request sea facing room.”
afzale, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
Zakera, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
896geoffreys, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
rosaposer165, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$136* /night
View Deal
getaroom.comUS$194
Hotwire.comUS$136
CancelonUS$144
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates