We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oceanic

Save
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Start your review of The Oceanic
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Rooms were without fault, big, clean, with a decent kitchenette and good air conditioning. Unfortunately, our stay was made less enjoyable by the desk staff, who were unprofessional and rude. First of all rang reception multiple times asking for a wifi login and was told every time 'I'll call you back, I'm busy' - they never did. Eventually had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
Bergville
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This was a pleasant stay the apartments is clean with everything you need the service excellent professional and friendly. We felt safe and our vehicle was safe. Will definitely stay at Oseanic again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 120gerdac
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for your inspiring review. Our staff certainly do us proud with their professionalism and friendly manner towards our guests. We cannot wait to host you at our beautiful resort again soon. Kind Regards Ian

Pretoria, south africa
Reviewed 4 April 2017

The best accommodation ever. Very clean and neat. Beautiful rooms very comfortable and impressive. I will recommend the oceanic to everyone. The location is very good, quiet and easily accessible. The oceanic corridors are quiet we had the best room and the quality of sleep was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank filicitys2017
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing The Oceanic as your holiday home, your motivating comments are highly appreciated. We are ecstatic to have exceeded your expectations with comfort, cleanliness and location. I hope you experienced the delight and talking point of our reception, THE BIG COUCH, it is unique to The Oceanic and a true luxury. Management look forward...

Dublin
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with hubby and baby after 2 long haul flights. Only about 30 mins from King Shaka airport and a pretty direct route to it, easy to find with the sat nav. Picked this hotel as it was relatively close to UShaka World and the promenade and we hoped to squeeze in some sunny walks beside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellaEIRE
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Valued Guest Thank you so much for positive feedback of our resort, I will it share with my team. I would like to further share with you the excitement that some of the floors are currently under renovation and will be completed in the near future. We would like to invite you back to come and experience the...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Travelled with my family everything was just perfect. We arrived an hour earlier for check-in and the hotel welcomed us and made sure we are settled. The room had minimal sea view but still awesome. Will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moncelia
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for positive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to our awesome hotel again soon. As you probably noticed, some of the units on certain floors are still being renovated, so when you come again it will be exciting for you and your family to experience the comfort of our new rooms....

Pretoria
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Our check in was delayed as the front desk informed us that they didn't receive the Bookings.com confirmation of the room number, which we believe shouldn't be the guests issue. We were given a room that was neat, yet a water leak was reported which we were told we were to receive a new room in the morning after sorting...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 811elmariev
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

'Good day Elmarie Thank you for your truly constructive criticism, and offering me the opportunity to respond to this matter. We would like to apologise for all the inconvenience caused. We have been in contact with Booking.com. and have rectified and improved our communication with them, so hopefully this unfortunate incident will not happen again. In our desparate attempts to...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I will start with the only positives - our room was reasonably sized, and we had a TV with DSTV. But its downhill from there... The location leaves a lot to be desired due to the park engrossed with unnecessary sounds and people throughout the night and day. Nestled in a district of rubble and somewhat rundown shops the area...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TheSugarBoogers
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Sugar Boogers Thank you for meeting with me on the 21st January 2017, as discussed in the meeting I apologize for all the inconvenience and unacceptable service you experienced. We have noted and highlighted all your concerns and, as some were beyond our control, we have been in contact with Local government, UIP and CPF items of dealing social...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Close to the beach, with shops and a SPAR close by Friendly staff, especially Queen who spent some time answering my touristy questions when she's so busy keeping the room sparkling. Good facilities - swimming pool and hot tub. Great value

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simbaldo
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Simbaldo At The Oceanic we always strive to improve our service levels so are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you soon and wish to meet you in person on your next visit. Thank you for your positive contribution, I have passed the compliment onto Queen too. Kind regards, Ian Moyo

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We enjoyed it. Location perfect. Will go there again. Hoop the stairs to the pool will be better. Could not go to the pool, because of the stairs. Height was the problem. Thank you for kindness.. Till later.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denisehX3641CX
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Denise Thank you for your positive review. I wish I had met you during your stay, but on your next visit I will make sure we show you another way to the pool and to avoid the stairs and height problem. Once again thank you, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ian Moyo

Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

we wen there for a week and an experience I wil never forget in my life we cmng bck agin .we were at home there I think we needed two weeks there thee people of Durban and the stuff at that hotel if I can say it they on fire

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mahlangub101
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! We are thrilled that you had a great rime and enjoyed our city, hotel and hospitality! I shared your review with the staff and encouraged them to stay "on fire!" We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards The Oceanic Management

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oceanic is situated within walking distance of Durban's beachfront, a mere 35km from King Shaka International Airport. he resort offers 27 luxury high-rise apartments, a stylish restaurant offering divine Italian cuisine and room service, Jacuzzi and entertainment facilities for the whole family. Guests can gather around the communal braai and swimming pool for family fun or a social dining experience. The Oceanic is perfect for those looking to relax, soak up the sun at the on-site pool and enjoy all the fun-filled activities Durban has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oceanic

Address: 20 John Mcintyre Road | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Don Oceanic)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $41 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oceanic 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oceanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Oceanic Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oceanic staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Hotels.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$69
Hotwire.comUS$63
Orbitz.comUS$63
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates