We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Hotel The Richards

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Premier Hotel The Richards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Why is the rate so high but breakfast is not included. The place needs a revamp and I told kitchen staff that your food was not fresh at all. I chose Premier hotel because I have stayed in East London

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thabilem2017
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The bathrooms can definitely be improved. The shower left a lot to be desired. The water flow and pressure needs to be improved. Also extremely dated, Could do with a revamp. The staff was friendly and rooms were cleaned timeously.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherinem2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked for a room only via booking.com and I traveled with my daughter who was relocating to Richards Bay. I requested two single beds for the room - there was only a queen size bed in the room, after a long and frustrating day, I did not have the energy for a room switch or an argument as it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2188MCdavek
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Mr Keating, Thank you very much for your feedback. I received and responded to your review on booking.com, again I must apologize for the inconvenience caused. I do hope that you were able to get your daughter settled in ok, if there is any assistance you may require, please feel free to contact me directly at paige.c@premierhotels.co.za Regards...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long drive and looking forward to NRB and the hotel, I was fully rested and very happy. No disappointment whatsoever. Would do this trip again. I would love to have spent more time in and around town though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kabelop2017
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location. Friendly staff. Shower left a lot to be desired. Horrible spray and shower curtain too short. Had a sign that said - please help conserve water - don't run the taps, however in order to get hot water you had to run the water for 5-10 minutes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureenl873
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Maureen, Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable Christmas with us at The Richards. Thank you for bringing to my attention the issue with the shower in your room, I will pass this onto our maintenance team to have a look at....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is nice. Service was poor, we didn't get help with our bags. The air conditioner didn't work properly in one of the rooms. The extra cost for breakfast is too much, quote rooms with breakfast included.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kholekam863
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Kholeka, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I must apologize for the problem experienced with your air-conditioning unit, I will bring this to the attention of our maintenance team and have them investigate. We do hope to welcome...

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No Complaints, friendly people, clean rooms. In standard room would be nice to have hair drier and safe as a standard. Hair drier was supplied upon request promptly. Good selection of satellite channels, except ANN7, rather have another channel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brunoaH6976EL
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Bruno, Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing to my attention the various recommendations, I will certainly pass this onto management. We hope to welcome you back to our establishment in the near future. Regards Paige

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Customer satisfaction is not received from all staff. Some of the Staff doesn't smile or great at all.Housekeeping not the same-the quality of the towels is poor. Defying not changed often during our stay. Aircon leaked, fridge smelled horrible in the room and wasn't working at all.could watch some of our favorite shows because the channels were restricted. Our business...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lebz_majola
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Mr Majola, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay, it is greatly appreciated. Firstly I must apologize for any inconvenience caused. I will certainly bring your various points regarding the fridge and air-conditioning unit to the attention of both our maintenance and housekeeping teams. Our TV channels unfortunately these...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have said what I have 2 say happy with everything! Till I c u guys again thanks.like I said u guys shud at least have a rewards system for loyal customers,I hope u guys have a great X-MAS and n/year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 413edmunds
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was very nice, it is close to the main road. The food was wonderful and their beds are comfortable. The hotel is very clean, they also have free Wifi for the people to use free of charge. It was nice to sleep there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonginkosi Lenn... M
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review and your wonderful words. I will ensure to advise my staff during our next meeting on their great achievement. Till your next visit to Richards bay, keep well and see you soon. Kind Regards Paige Crooks

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richards Bay hotels
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
0.8 km away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
96 reviews
5.2 km away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#1 of 8 in Richards Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
10 reviews
0.5 km away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
40 reviews
0.1 km away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Premier Hotel The Richards is a true landmark of the Zulu land area and is situated just 90 minutes North of Durban. One of the longest established hotels in Richards Bay, the Premier Hotel The Richards is well renowned for its warm and welcoming atmosphere. The ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, Richards Bay offers business guests a convenient location close enough to the CBD, yet far enough away from the city pressures to make business a pleasure. Leisure travelers are spoilt for choice: from the un-spoilt beaches, sub tropical climate and coastal conservation areas to the game reserves in areas like Hluhhluwe, Richards Bay Country Club and the Deep Sea Harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Richards

Address: 3 Hibberd Drive | Meerensee, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay
Price Range: $81 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Richards 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Hotel The Richards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Hotel The Richards staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Premier Hotel The Richards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all room are not bad”
 of 5 bubbles bonganid640, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid if you value your privacy - it's not the rooms, it's the staff”
 of 5 bubbles ChrissieBGrahamstown, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Not sure which rooms are good, if any but room 159 not good.”
 of 5 bubbles 917mandyr, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Sue2364, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the garden instead of the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Bredenoord, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay