We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cutty Sark Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scottburgh
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cutty Sark Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of Cutty Sark Hotel
 Click to rate
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Location: the Cutty Sark Hotel is a few hundred meters along the beach from Scottburgh’s picturesque bathing area. While Scottburgh is less than an hour on the N2 from Durban, the hotel’s views are of a stretch of coast surrounded by cane fields and forestry and retains a sense of wild isloation absent from so many other parts of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antipodean_Jeannots
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Let me start with the positive: great location (right on the beach and next to the best dive center I have experienced), some very friendly staff. Otherwise, if you expect good sleep, clean place, good food, pick another hotel! Our double bed was a 1 and half adult, our mattress probably touched the floor at some point, and - worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelle g
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Emmanuelle g...sorry that your experience at Cutty Sark was below expectations....promise we can do better!! if you visit again give me a call and we will try...Best wishes...Cutty Sark Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Took advantage of the pensioners special. Had a great time even though the weather was not 100% .Very clean and comfortable. Good food although variety can be samey for longer stays. Reception very friendly and helpful .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ek540913
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay...hope to see you again soon.! Best wishes.. The Cutty Sark Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a four day stay at this resort. I must admit due to the age of the hotel and a few reviews that we had read we were a bit apprehensive and not sure what to expect. Well what a Pleasant Surprise we had everything from check in by friendly helpful reception staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clive n
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris..am so please you and your wife had a good stay at Cutty Sark. It was great having you...Look forward to seeing you again soon..

Reviewed 3 September 2016

On a golfing visit to KZN we were recommended the Cutty Sark as a convenient ,value for money, place to base ourselves. We experienced a true old-style hotel, well appointed rooms, excellent dining room and bar , near the highway making travel even to the North of Durban , quite convenient. Friendly staff, good service, most of the staff have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Peter R, Manager at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John..so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...Hope you putting was also as good. See you again soon..Regards The Cutty Sark Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The stay-over at Cutty Sark Hotel was part of an organised shark dive weekend. The hotel is a hit aged, but still a nice venue and pleasantly laid out and furnished. Food and staff was excellent. Good breakfast and dinner buffet in comparison with other venues. The rooms need a bit attention. The bed we slept on was uncomfortable. What...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hein_Benoni
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We had an average stay at the Cutty Sark, picked mostly for its proximity to the dive centre we were diving from. However, a few things: 1) there is a need from some maintenance. In our room, light bulbs had broken, shower flooded the bathroom floors, telephone wasn't working 2) if you are looking for an early night, DON'T take...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sunrisedh100
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Hi "sunrisedh100" ..Many thanks for your comments. My sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us...especially the attitude at reception..All have been addressed and hopefully we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit so we can show you our full worth. Thanks again!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We were a little apprehensive about staying in this hotel but were pleasantly surprised. Besides much of hotel being 'tired', it was clean, the views were out of this world, the food was great and the service was friendly. It is a great value for money spot with very close proximity to the beach. If you're not looking for fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh-Anne A
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you had a good experience.. Thanks for staying and hope to see you again soon 😀

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Checked in on a whim and found everything to be 1st class. Great food with fantastic service. We highly recommend this hotel. The pricing for dinner, bed and breakfast is excellent value for money. There is a pensioner rate and we were happy to take advantage of this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Great to have had you with us and that you had a good stay....Look forward to welcoming you back to Cutty Sark soon...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Good rooms, good food, good price. If you're diving with ScubaXcursions, it's the perfect place to stay! Hotel is well maintained and clean, reasonably stocked bar, great sea view and very close to the beach. Friendly staff and restful environment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marié W
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your time with us and had a good dive... Look forward to welcoming you back again soon..

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
0.6 km away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
175 reviews
18.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
13.1 km away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
37 reviews
25.4 km away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
8.0 km away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 8 in Umkomaas
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Hotel

Address: Beachfront, Scottburgh, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Price Range: $70 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cutty Sark Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cutty Sark Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms have garden access”
 of 5 bubbles Ek540913, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 was lovely with fantastic view”
 of 5 bubbles cliven35, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms, near the beach are best.”
 of 5 bubbles F4408XWjohnh, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“see review”
 of 5 bubbles 454MarcoM, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Most rooms are sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles Merricks72, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5