We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Zeranka Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umhlanga Rocks
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Zeranka Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in the Zeranka lodge. The reception was very friendly and we felt very welcome. The rooms are nice and come with a separate kitchen! Every room has a small patio with a table and seats. The pool is very nice, just as the entrance to the beach. The staff and owner of the guest house made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arno V
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Arno for your kind words. We are sorry your stay was short as well. We try hard at Zeranka to give our guests a "home away from home stay" - as we know what its like travelling on the road for a few weeks at a time. Glad you enjoyed your stay and everything that is on offer her...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Super few days at Zeranka Lodge. Nothing is too much for the staff. Lovely room overlooking the pool and very clean. So nice to have the beach on our doorstep (only paddling because there are no shark nets!) Really nice place Umhlanga. Definitely worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise v
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Louise Thanks for the review. Glad we could be of assistance and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really try to give our guests a home away from home feeling. Yes, its very special to have the beach so close. Wishing you and your family a very blessed Christmas Regards Marcelle

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 December 2016

This is a nice home away from home. Spacious, comfortable, clean rooms with satellite tv, for Dutch travellers you can catch up with the Best of Nederland en Vlaanderen ;-). The bathroom is spacious too with seperate bath and shower. Even a small kitchen with fridge so you can make some snacks if you like. You can make some tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline920
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pauline Thanks for your kind words. We are so glad you felt "home away from home" as this is what we really try to achieve during our guests stay at Zeranka Lodge. We are really blessed to be able to own this little piece of paradise. Wishing you and your family a blessed Christmas and a healthy and happy...

Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We only stayed one night at Zeranka Lodge. We got the most remote room but nevertheless it was very nicely decorated and got all we needed. Very friendly staff which made reservations at a very good restaurant(Olive&Oil) and for the taxi! Thanks for having us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlouwe5
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. The room you had is a little way from the Lodge, but the most private and the nicest! So glad your enjoyed your meal at Olive and Oil and its always best to take a taxi then one has no problems drinking and driving. Travel on safely Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

It's the second time I've stayed here. All was spot on ! Conveniently located ..peaceful, calm , relaxed, clean and a home away from home. Marcelle is a great host and the staff are great too. Beds are comfortable, clean sheets and all conveniences are here. Private beach is about a 50 meter walk from the venue. The pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tcloud
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. We really try to have our guests experience a "home away from home" feeling. So glad your found your stay as great as it was last time. It was a pleasure having you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in zeranka lodge just one night after a long drive. Nonetheless we were very impressed by the Zeranka the spacious lodges and the bed was excellent. There are some nice restaurants in the area and the lodge is very close to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaanK1
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Daan Thanks for the review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good sleep after the long drive you had. We pride ourselves on our comfortable beds. Yes, we are very spoilt having the beach so near. Travel on safely Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Very cousy and relaxing place! We were a bit unlucky with the weather but with nice sunny weather it's the perfect place to be (nice swimming pool and terrace + own path to the beach). We stayed there because we had to take a flight from Durban, it's just a short and easy drive from Zeranka Lodge. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik T
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank Erik for your review... Yes, we try hard to have our guests feel that home away from home feeling. Glad you enjoyed the snack breakfast. Sorry about the weather, its raining again today!!! but no complaints as rain is badly needed. Hope you will visit us again and I will order our beautiful sunshine!!! Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We have really enjoyed our stay at the Zeranka Lodge. It was just a pitty that is was only 1 night. Very nice surroudings and the beach close by. Very nice and helpfull staf. Hope to return for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ellen Thanks for the review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay, even for such a short time. No matter how short or long the stay, we always try our best for you to have an enjoyable time, would love to have you back Regards Marcelle

Freiberg am Neckar, Germany
Reviewed 11 September 2016

well, for a 4 star accomodation the furniture was too old, bathrooms were very small and old. We had to leave early in the morning (about 6:30) 1 hour before regular breakfast time and we even didn't get some Toasts or any warm coffee or tea in the morning. only some Muffins and packaged apple Juice ... lol ... not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jens290972
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jens for your comments. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay or find anything to your satisfaction. We have a very strict Star grading in SA and I assure you I am 4 star. All the rooms are totally refurbished every 2 to 3 years and painted annually. When we bought the Lodge, it was...

Wijchen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Nice place to stay with very helpful and friendly people. Centrally and conveniently located in a quiet area. The rooms are clean and spacious. we had a kitchenette in it. The breakfast is good and they prepare what you want.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Germa v
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for your kind words. We at Zeranka, try very hard to offer as much help, assistance and information as possible, to make you stay as relaxing and pleasant as possible. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Travel safely Regards Marcelle

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
3.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,559 reviews
2.8 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
315 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
3.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
899 reviews
0.5 km away
LaLuxe B&B
LaLuxe B&B
#1 of 22 in La-Lucia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zeranka Lodge is the winner of the B&B sure/Kwababa Award and we are 4 star registered. It is a family run Lodge. We have a beautiful garden with pool and BBQ facilities. We are only 30 metres from the tranquil lower La Lucia beaches which can be accessed via a gate within Zeranka grounds, and approx 4km from Gateway (one of the largest shopping malls in the world) offering a multitude of shops, entertainment, and eating experiences. You will have one secure parking bay on the premises per room/unit and all rooms are air-conditioned. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zeranka Lodge

Address: 12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class:4 star — Zeranka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zeranka Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose another accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles jens290972, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the swimming pool are the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles 839germav, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You won't be disappointed once chosen one of these rooms”
 of 5 bubbles leointgroen, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose the left room when you enter the lodge garden. But in the morning you can hear people talking from the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles MjWebb1989, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“relaxing rooms pool side”
 of 5 bubbles Q1544SYmichaels, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5