We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manaar House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Manaar House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Manaar House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Manaar House was a great place to stay. Very friendly people, nice and clean room, best place to stay in Durban. Breakfast was delicious with view to the beautiful garden and pool. The team is unbelievably hospitable. Ideal place also for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatjaBlei123
ManaarHouse, General Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and especially our breakfast and pool and our lovely garden and our friendly staff. We have pass your well received compliments on to them. We are so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay as a family at Manaar house...

Reviewed 19 January 2016

We stayed for two nights and found it an extremely pleasant experience. The staff were very friendly and keen to help. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We also enjoyed the outdoor areas, pool and jacuzzi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us at Manaar House. We am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and that you found the accommodation and staff to be very friendly and keen on assisting you and making your stay a wonderful experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We stayed here for two nights during our trip through SA. This was one of the best guest houses we stayed in. our room was very nice, with air conditioning, with a very large modern bathroom. There is a very cosy outdoor area adjacent to the pool, we had breakfast in this outdoor area, which was very nice. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGH1010
ManaarHouse, General Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us at Manaar House. We am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves at Manaar House. We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the cosy outdoor area adjacent to the pool.The staff are passionate about ensuring all guests are comfortable and enjoying...

Reviewed 2 January 2016

We stayed here for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year. There are 3 rooms and 1 self-catering apartment, we stayed in the apartment. The house and gardens are compact but well designed - the swimming pool is just big enough for a reasonable swim and surrounded by a beautifully kept rockery garden. Herman and Gus who manage the property...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheffieldrose
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your extremely positive, as well as encouraging feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such an great review. Service excellence is extremely important to us, and we are so pleased you have highlighted these points regarding Manaar House. We were so please to have replaced the broken washing machine in the apartment for...

Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We stayed at Manaar House self-catering accommodation for 6 nights before Christmas and it was great. Quiet, friendly staff, well appointed and clean. We also had delicious breakfast at the guesthouse every morning and the staff were very accommodating towards our nine month old son. Thanks for everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizelle L
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Manaar House, it was great having you stay with us. We always aim to surprise and delight and its really good to know that we succeeded yet again. We trust that your Christmas was just as good and looking forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Regards The Team

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Our entire experience was an enjoyable one. Manaar Guesthouse is not only beautiful but peaceful and soul-refreshing. The staff was friendly and very helpful. All our leisurely needs were met with a smile and friendly conversation. The Great Dane is absolutely wonderful! Thank you to all those involved in making our stay a memorable one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathe-Mari
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

What a well behaved crowd of youngsters and its was a pleasure having you here, thanks for that! Must say that we missed the 'bustle' after you departed and wish you success on your life's journeys! Always a good feeling to share our space with great guests! Don't forget us when you are all grown ups!!! Kind Regards Gus, Herman...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2015

I had a lovely 1 night stay at Manaar Guesthouse, the rooms were very comfortable, had a lovely big bathroom which had a shower and a bath, because I had a very early check out to catch a flight I requested for fruit for breakfast I received a lovely fruit salad - great selection of fruit in my fruit salad....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SVR2015
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

Well thank you indeed for the 'short' little visit. We are glad you enjoyed the fruit salad and hopefully your next stay will be long enough for us to delight you with our full breakfast experience. Best wishes Gus and Hermann

London
Reviewed 4 December 2015

We stayed at Manaar house in one of the self catering houses and could not have been more comfortable. The house was well furnished and met our every need. We stayed with our 2 year old son so it was lovely to have space to relax in the evening and had breakfast every morning in the main house just next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara J
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

Room One stays the 'family favorite' and yet again it lived up to its promise, thank you for that! It was a pleasure in greeting you every morning at breakfast and good to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hope your trip home was not too 'hectic' and you arrived still well rested. Please do visit us again. Kind Regards Jack,...

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Stayed at Manaar guesthouse when visiting family in Durban. We drove from Gauteng and arrived late, and we were glad that we were accommodated for late check in. Host was very friendly, and the rooms was great. The bathroom was very spacious, and a nige big bathtub. The bed was extremely comfortable! Beautiful place, lovely garden and super clean pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordz84
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you as our guests at Manaar House and arriving late is no problem at all! It is a pity you never used the Jacuzzi as guests normally fall into the splash pool to cool down afterwards. Great to hear your stay was good as you were gone early and returned late. We play 'musical cars'...

Paternoster, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed on a business trip and decided on Manaar House in stead of a Hotel. Good decision. Thank you Manaar House for upgrading my stay. It is great to feel at home when you work away from home. Great breakfast very friendly staff. Clean bathrooms. No fuss comfortable stay. Amanda

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandaatemily
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review

It was entirely our pleasure having you stay with us. Travelling on business is 'drab' at best and making it homely and comfortable with a complimentary upgrade, the least we could have done. Don't forget us now!!! Best wishes Hermann and Gus

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,657 reviews
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
1.9 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
959 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.1 km away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guests have the choice of B & B or self catering accommodation. 2 luxury en-suite double bedrooms with full en-suite bathrooms (separate bath & shower) and 2 well appointed self catering units with modern, fully equipped kitchens. All bedrooms / apartments have satellite TV, air-conditioning, telephone, FREE wireless internet facilities and their own private entrance. Self catering apartments are also fully serviced. Barbeque facilities are available. Swimming pool and hot tub. 2 minutes drive to the beach and Umhlanga Centre. 5 minutes drive to Gateway. Secure undercover parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manaar House

Address: 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $124 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Manaar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manaar House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Paris

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Manaar House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 is the roomiest, apparently.”
 of 5 bubbles TashaStaples, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room without traffic noise so you can enjoy the veranda!”
 of 5 bubbles 24pierref, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent but there are two that have separate lounge and kitchen. They are in fact apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles SCM-Cornwall, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the biggest room #3, which had a private loung area.”
 of 5 bubbles MarkO373, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For a family, the appartment with two bedrooms is a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 11markusn, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5