We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Underberg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 37: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were traveling in the Drakensberg during the school holidays in October, and the first place we stayed confused our reservation for the 2nd night of our trip. Fortunately, we found rooms at Pile Inn. It was incredibly comfy--the beds were soft and I especially enjoyed the complimentary coffee and tea in the room. We were planning on getting up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeanVerde
New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We made a last-minute reservation here when our original plan fell through. We didn't know what to expect, as we didn't have internet access to see photos & reviews. We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The rooms were very cozy, clean, comfortable, and comparatively much more luxurious than the other places we had stayed (backpacker lodgings). This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed at the Pile Inn for two nights - one at each end of my hike in the Drakensberg Mountains. Lucia is a great hostess and serves a first class brekkie, but unfortunately for us travellers she is moving on to something different. Hopefully the new host(es) will be equally good. The rooms are basic but nice (as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lena H
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked a few months agog and this was a real gem of a holiday for our family of 5,including our very ill, moither-in-law. Lucia, did take care of ALL our needs, I mean ALL our needs. Weil be back, or i might even think of buying this little gem of a old house,if the price is right..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jutishra
pilesey, Owner at Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great response. I am Sure Lucia was thrilled to have received it, as we were to read it. ps, everything is for sale at the right price!!

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Lucia is certainly the best guesthouse keeper we met during our South African holiday. According to our Dutch needs she made us a special breakfast. And profided us with all the info and arrangement we needed. A trip to the Sani Pass was one of the highlights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niels B
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a great BB if you are looking for clean, friendly and good value for money in the Underberg area and intend to explore the area. The English breakfasts are awesome and the your are made to feel so so welcome. Not ideal if you are not good on stairs as all rooms are up some steep wooden stairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chefane
Durban
Reviewed 13 May 2012

No frills, but inexpensive, The rooms are simple, but comfortable. It's a good place to use as a base to explore the southern Drakensberg. There's no TV in the room, if that is what you are looking for, and not really much to do at night in Underberg. But the traditionaly English breakfast is great, cooked and served by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NautieZA
Roseville, California
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Upon entering the front door, we were put-off by the non-existent entry and run-down appearance of the establishment. I remembered that this was a marginally 3-star accommodation and decided that my husband and I would "wing it". I'm tremendously glad we did. We had plans to join renowned mountain/rock art guides, Philip and Christeen Grant for hikes to important San...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ougeekgirl
Gent, Belgium
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Pile Inn B&B is situated in a very quiet street with nice rooms and excellent personal service with quiet some flexibility (e.g. breakfast hours) . Ideally situated for visits to the Drakensberge and the Sani Pass and Lesotho.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uyunisalar
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Ian and Sue made us feel total relaxed and welcome. They were up VERY early to see to our breakfast needs on the day of the Sani Stagger race. The room we stayed in was clean neat and fely like home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glennandkaren

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Underberg hotels
25.4 km away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
23.2 km away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
8.1 km away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
1.4 km away
No photo provided
Douglas Drift Cottages
#8 of 12 in Underberg
1 reviews
28.2 km away
Elgin Guesthouse & Farm
Elgin Guesthouse & Farm
#10 of 12 in Underberg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pile-Inn achieved AA Awards, Semi Finalist, based purely on guest comments. Perfectly situated on the outskirts of Underberg, we ensure a memorable and relaxed stay. Tours into Lesotho now available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Old Main Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Price Range: $341 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A perfect stopover to explore thuis reall gem of an area, of Underberg, or just to unwind and relax. Thanks Lucia”
 of 5 bubbles jutishra, 24 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Would ask for the main room at end of passage. All rooms upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles Chefane, 24 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Definitely book the upstairs family room for sunshine, views and quiet. Nice furnishings and good, but rather drafty ensuite bathroom with ample shower. Best visited in South Africa's summer. Otherwise, bring your woolies”
 of 5 bubbles ougeekgirl, 21 Nov 2011 | Read review
3 of 3