We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge

Booking.comUS$26*
View Deal
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$37*
US$26*
Great Deal
US$37*
US$37*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only good thing about this place was the warm welcome from a host as we checked in : he was very knowledgeable on the area and things to do. We booked here as it was the only place left on our booking website in the entire Knysna / Wilderness area early January 2017. The problems: Our room was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kombuis777
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights at this wonderful place. Our kajak paddle and following hike to the waterfall was incredible - you see it all from a different perspective. Home cooked dinners were enjoyed outdoors with candlelight and many interesting discussions were had. The garden provided a great opportunity for family badminton games ! Come and explore for yourselves !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars J
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! It was lovely having your family here with us. Warm Wilderness regards Didi

Hartenbos, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved the piece & quiet camping under the trees. Wi-Fi, high five! Had drinks at the outdoor bar before hitting the town. Restaurants & shops just a couple of minutes away. The next day had breakfast under the trees before starting of on the King Fisher Trail to the waterfall. A must walk if you are in the area. Saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubba D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interesting place...we stayed in a double bedroom a little further up a hill than the main living area. The weather wasn't kind to us, but the place had a nice bar area and pool table. Room was pretty basic, but the accommodation was cheap. Over heard a bit of an argument between workers, but the staff did organise for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Unfortunately, as with any family, arguments do happen once in a blue moon.

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The kitchen and bathrooms are filthy. Even though it says everyone should clean up, its really dirty. The carpet in the room was wet. No cupboards, or fan. Only stayed there the first night and then went and slept at another place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 377sharona
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sharona I am so terribly sorry about your experience! I wish you would have told one of the staff about the wet carpet, as we still do not know which room you were in. As far as the bathrooms and kitchen goes, the housekeeping staff clean it in the morning and just before knockoff at 16:00. We do ask...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The place is in a verynice area in the garden route surrounded by vegetation and close to the lakes, even though it is not right next the to the village (we had a car). The bar is an interesting place where locals hang out and the breakfast (not included) is good. The dorms are a bit crowded though and there's...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2160FEcristinaa
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I highly recommend staying at Fairy Knowe. Everyone working there was very friendly and as soon as I arrived I was invited on a walk that they had organised to a fascinating cave-turn-homeless shelter. The whole place has a really nice laid back vibe and the bar layout is very cool. The backpackers location is wonderfully placed in the woods...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia L
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Pretty decent backpackers, I stayed in main house at the top. With private room and had to share bathroom which was reasonable enough. They have a nice bar/ slash entertainment area with pool tables and foosball... Some people really lose their heads paying that game including the plastic men on the pitch. Gets quite partyfied in the evenings and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardinio0
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Sure it's cheap but as the saying goes "you get what you pay for" The staff were really friendly and helpful but if you not accustomed to this setup it really grates on you how inconsiderate guests can be. Having shared a room with 5 other people who came in and out the room all hours of the night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charlene Thank you for your feedback. It is true, dorm life is really not for everyone. We do have private rooms as well as lovely en suites available should you choose to be a bit more private. I agree that many guests tend to be a bit loud, especially in a dorm situation, but many are indeed considerate. Unfortunately...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Beautiful view,friendly people,comfortable and homely. We only stayed the one night but it had a nice atmosphere. Verandah has a magnificent view and we got to see the Guinea fowls with babies close up as well as a surprise visit from the Knysna Loerie. Rooms are clean and spacious. Kitchen area had easy access. Parking no problem .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathycV2275FM

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (19)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
607 reviews
2.4 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 km away
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Fairy Knowe Hotel
#24 of 56 in Wilderness
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Wilderness Beach house
Wilderness Beach house
#8 of 35 in Wilderness
161 reviews
4.7 km away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#20 of 56 in Wilderness
131 reviews
2.2 km away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Dumbleton Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Price Range: $28 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in a private room with ensuite - little thatched chalet huts”
 of 5 bubbles estill88, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The en suite roops are great”
 of 5 bubbles BDP_001, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stay away!”
 of 5 bubbles DiemsDay, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Definitely upstairs in the old house.”
 of 5 bubbles theod609, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you can get one of the cottage suites, they are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles RyderDA, 4 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$26* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$37
PricelineUS$37
Hostelworld.comUS$26
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates