We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Expedia.comUS$201*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$227*
US$201*
US$227*
US$227*
US$201*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 782: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well appointed units,large clean and all the luxuries you would expect for a 5 star resort.The suites which are individually owner owned give you access to all the hotel ameneties, pools etc which are very impressive. We were very fortunate the owner of our unit was an absolute pleasure to deal with - Unit 115 Downsides - No real sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquiC6
Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very convenient for family and has great facilities, lovely pools and easy beach access. Rooms are very specious, I opted for the 1 bedroom king suite - it has a kitchenette too, suitable especially if you have small kids. Basically, you can spend your time at the resort and still plan other activities outside the resort - you have the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleJhb
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at the resort. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable! Exceptional housekeeping! Wifi in the room was nice and fast. All the staff were super friendly, helpful and accommodating. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were delicious with a large array of choices, from local to international cuisine. The grounds are beautiful and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Stell
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large area, several bars, lots of greenery, rugged and still interesting, several swimming pools, private beach walkway, 100% safety .... do not recommend to swim! Local residents appreciate this hotel as the most luxurious one they know

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveltibor
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear traveltibor Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us and the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to know that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. It is also wonderful to hear that the environment and facilities created a lasting impression on you and that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food, the sounds, the sights, the location, the ambiance, the staff - everything was fantastic! We truly appreciated our stay here. The staff were all kind and helpful, the places was big and clean. Our room was always taken care of, when we requested anything it always came in a timely manner. The grounds were meticulous and beautiful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andevero
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andevero Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are ecstatic to hear that your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort exceeded your expectations! It brings us joy to know that everything from our food to our staff made a favourable impression on you and contributed in turning your moments into memories. We look...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

21 of us being 10 adults and 11 children went to Zimbali for 6 nights. We were upgraded from a Queen room being 2 queen beds to a Junior Suite. This was a Kingsized bed and the worst sleeper couch imaginable. Had I known I would have insisted we stay in the Queen room. The rooms and hotel aa a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nates1968
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nates1968 Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is with sadness to hear that your overall stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you felt that your experience in our restaurants were limited in choice and that you did not feel adequately attended to. This is not the...

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

We just had the best dinner at the OSA Restaurant in Zimbali. A wonderful Indian restaurant overlooking the Indean Ocean. Excellent waiters, wonderful food, beautiful surroundings. Difficult not to love. We have been here twice now and we will definitely be back! We had a menu with 5 different meat dishes that was very satisfying. Very much worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Christine J Thank you for sharing your experience at OSA Restaurant with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time and that the dinner exceeded your expectations! OSA certainly does present a breathtaking view of the ocean which does lend to the tranquility of the evening. We are so pleased to hear that the waiters, food and scenery...

New York
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Everything was wonderful and the food was outstanding. The girl at the smoothie bar was extremely friendly and explained all about the Granadilla fruit which I was unfamiliar with. All the staff greeted us and were overall very friendly and helpful and helped us to have a wonderful stay. Definitely recommend this property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMV-NY
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear JMV-NY Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us exceeded your expectations. We are happy to know that our staff left a lasting impression on you and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer! We look forward to your next visit with...

Verulam, South Africa
Reviewed 24 March 2017

My family and I booked in for a two night stay. It was a lovely experience. Spacious and well appointed rooms with breathtaking sea views. Beautiful sight to behold. Staff well trained and willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Valet parking which was a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vasanthaknaidoo
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear vasanthaknaidoo Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family at our Resort. We are happy that the room offering, beautiful sea views and our staff all left a lasting impression on you. We hope that you will stay with us again giving us another opportunity to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. You must enjoy each and every moment and make it as part of best memories. You can enjoy the pools, spa and restaurants and other facilities in side hotel. You can try other restaurants in Ballito. It's a five star resort with full facilities and tours. All facilities from housekeeping, room dining and tours are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mahdi B
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mahdi B Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are ecstatic to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all of our facilities and even our tours and activities in the local area. Thank you for sharing your recommendations; we look forward to...

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (471)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (191)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
379 reviews
20.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,724 reviews
20.8 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
102 reviews
20.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
261 reviews
21.9 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $228 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms offer a better view, butt all rooms have a view”
hugo_coetzee, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“It's either ocean views or pool in your balcony. Braai areas ,spacious rooms and all amenities.”
Bongzah, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a sea view room”
Priya1942, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom king suites are very specious for families with small kids”
IsabelleJhb, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Easy access to the beach, but sea not suitable for swimming!”
Shaun_Stell, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$201* /night
View Deal
Fairmont.comUS$227
TravelocityUS$201
Orbitz.comUS$201
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates