We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

790 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 743: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

The actual hotel and facilities are so beautiful but the management of that hotel has slipped dramatically. The staff are not friendly nor do they look like they care about the people staying there, we had to call front desk at 7pm to get housekeeping to give us new gowns because they simply hung up the already dirty ones. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selloane P
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Selloane P Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are dismayed to learn that our service delivery did not meet your expectations. This is certainly not in keeping with the high standards that we strive for and we will be addressing these concerns to ensure that they will...

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Level of service has deteriorated. The rooms need a revamp, staff need to be more attentive to clients as it is a 5 star. I dont believe it is value for money from the breakfast to the service. I stayed at the hotel as well as Villa and the experience did not meet my expectations at all. This was the...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 452siyak
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 452siyak Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are most disheartened to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and that you left feeling disappointed by the facilities and the service received. We would like to address your concerns in further detail and kindly request that you send your...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

great resort, very comfortable, highly recommended. that said rooms are slightly dated, internet speed archaic. overall pricey for what you receive, room advertised on the Fairmont site and on booking confirmation with a 42inch led tv and when we arrived there was a small dated 32 inch tv which was disappointing. that said i would recommend and def would stay...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardoG638NM
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear richardoG638NM Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay at our resort and enjoyed our facilities. It is a delight to hear that you had a pleasurable experience with our staff. We are disheartened that the rooms did not meet your expectations. We will be taking your comments into consideration in order to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 August 2016

No child friendly restaurants. No baby changing facilities. No staff were aware about the "kids under 5 eat for free off the kids menu" statement. No place to wash baby bottles nor heat baby food (had to ask one of the kitchens to heat food). Whilst food was good, the prices are very high.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 206christiaand
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 206christiaand Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us. We are discouraged to hear that you did not feel catered for - please accept our apologies for the challenges which you experienced; this is certainly not what we wish for our guests. We will be giving further thought to your concerns...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 August 2016

A lovely hotel that gives one a true taste of coastal eco-estate living. Pity about the hotel forgetting that this was to be a surprise treat for my wife's milestone birthday and not doing anything special for her as promised, although the Coral Tree restaurant truly fulfilled their promises for the large family birthday dinner. Also, no Wifi connection for...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randall S
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Randall Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we sincerely appreciate it. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on arrival, especially as it was a special occasion for your wife and family. Despite this, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the family birthday dinner at the Coral Tree...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Although a lovely property there is not much to do for teenage kids if the weather is not great. Out of season there is no service at the pool and some things are closed. I wasn't happy to have to queue for breakfast. Cleanliness of room was good, toilet needed attention. Servicing of the room was poor over the weekend...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aju2000
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aju Thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort with us. We hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy the poolside service at our Beach Club during your stay with us. Beach Club is one of our most popular pools and the accompanying Ayoba restaurant provides great food & beverage service....

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Truly amazing hotel and a beautiful place to get away from the concrete jungle. I did not feel like I was in South Africa. The staff is so friendly and the service is absolutely amazing . I will definitely be back and looking forward to staying at the villas

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 232radhikap
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Radhikap Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We strive to provide a relaxing getaway to our guests and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The hotel/resort is spectacular and indeed 5 star. I Loved every minute of it and will indeed go once again. From the arrival to the breakfast hall to the spa everything was amazing. One of my best stays

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 514aminah
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 514aminah Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your very positive comments. We are overjoyed to hear that you took pleasure in everything our resort has to offer. We take pride in providing great service and sharing our wonderful facilities! We hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Group of friends we had a amazing stay. We will definitely be back. We were treated like queens from the time we drove in. Excellent service. View was amazing. Delicious food. Fairmont is home away from home.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 760charityz
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Charity We're so glad to hear that we were able to contribute to your holiday in such a positive way. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon! Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth

Reviewed 26 August 2016

My husband and I stayed here for an evening after our 11hour flight from London and then 1hour flight from Johannasburg, it was a welcome retreat before driving another 3 hours to the game preserve we were staying at the next several days. The staff was so welcoming and friendly. I had the chance for a facial and massage that...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn We are so glad that we were able to offer you a short respite from your long travels. Our location does make us the ideal stop over for further travels into our beautiful province. We are delighted that you were able to experience the spa and 31 Degrees during your short stay with us. We look forward to...

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (407)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
346 reviews
20.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,555 reviews
20.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
94 reviews
20.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
21.9 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $220 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The villas are the best option.”
 of 5 bubbles Wezlove, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe Double with Ocean View was worth the money. Huge room with patio.”
 of 5 bubbles CanGirl08, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you like looking at ocean, choose deluxe seaview rooms. Higher up. If you like gardens, close to pools. Choose junior suite.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineK2014Apr, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We reccomend booking Rooms with Ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles Rebecca769, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on south side quieter (away from pool noise).”
 of 5 bubbles Sandi112, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay