We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 330: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is good, almost like being on a tropical island. The check-in process is straightforward and easy though the staff don't seem pleasant. The rooms are good, a little aged. The lodge pool was a bit noisy, seemed like something was wrong with the filter or something but the view from the pool and the deck around the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shainaln
Cape Town
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had a room inside the main hotel building, attending a conference and being a woman traveling by myself it was very thoughtful of the staff to allocate me a room on the same level as the entrance. My room was huge and beautifully appointed with a generous balcony and comfortable furniture. Wish I had more time to sit outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karoobaby
Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly we returned here to celebrate our wedding anniversary of which we hosted here about 8 years back and we were planning my wife's birthday next year Sadly it has been neglected and almost left to ruin and we won't be back Some points most backed by photos: - The pool is a patchwork quilt - The paving is cracking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dowsettdave
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear dowsettdave Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are most disheartened to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your previous expectations. We are so sorry to hear of the challenges you faced during your stay with us and we apologize that you did not feel that our facilities have...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Magnificent setting with superb seaview. A choice of a few swimming pools and so many activities. A paradise for children. food at the restaurants expensive and average. There are betters options in Ballito (5 min drive)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulPauwen
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear PaulPauwen Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and that our setting, views, facilities and activities on offer all left a lasting impression on you! We are so happy to hear that you felt that the Lodge is a paradise for children,...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Positive: 1) Very spacious rooms 2) Room service and hotel amenities at a 5-star standard 3) Breakfast is well stocked and worth inclusive rate 4) Many pool options - try the Mexican themed pool closest to the beach 5) Great golf course Negative: 1) Main pool can get crowded 2) Room service is pricey - but it is 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank King_Size8888
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear King_Size8888 Thank you for taking the time to share aspects of your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that our room offering, room service, amenities, facilities, dining options and golf course access all made a positive impression on you. We are happy to note that despite the busy pool areas and price, the standard of our Lodge...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was looking for a relaxing place to stay after a longer stay in St Lucia. I thought this would be a nice place close to the airport since I had an early flight the next day and was counting on Fairmont's reputation for quality. This is by far the worst fairmont branded hotel I've ever stayed in. Checkin was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slc-john
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sic-john Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you had a frustrating stay with us. We apologize for the delay and confusion in checking you into a room timeously and we are most apologetic for the miscommunication regarding the reservation of transport to the airport. This is not to...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An impressive hotel in a fantastically lush natural environment. - AMAZING interesting cocktails, personal, friendly service from well trained staff. - A real treat, and a great romantic getaway! We will go again, but for longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Julie R Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is a joy to hear that our hotel left a lasting impression on you and we are delighted that you took pleasure in our lush natural environment, enjoyed our delicious cocktails and had a positive interaction with our staff. We look forward to your...

drogheda
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice property. Comfortable spacious rooms. Lovely pool area. Service very poor for breakfast. Usually empty dining room, yet no tables set. Bar closes at 8 pm except for Friday and Saturday. The hotel consists of a series of lodges (really apartments) with an excellent shuttle service from the main building (this was done in golf buggies)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda f
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear linda f Thank you sharing your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and had a relaxing time due to our room offering and pool area. We are sorry to hear that the service delivery at breakfast did not meet your expectations and we have discussed this with our team to ensure improvement...

North Shore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't make the most of the infinity pool, the restaurants, the grounds and the rest of the facilities, but the staff were extremely attentive. I would recommend anyone to stay there. It's close to Durban airport and very easy to find in the dark!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoldenOldie99
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GoldenOldie99 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are ecstatic to hear that your stay with us delighted you! It is always a pleasure to hear good feedback regarding our staff and we will be sure to share this with our team. Thank you for your recommendations! We look forward to your next...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have mixed feelings about the lodge: it has a lovely setting but feels a bit like a ghost town and lacks a little tlc. We arrived at the lodge and had to feel our way around a group check-in. None of the staff had taken the initiative to welcome us us or explain the process. We were then driven...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Henry S Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking setting and relaxed ambiance of our beautiful hotel. We are however sorry to hear that you did felt at a loss at check-in. We will most...

240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,688 reviews
22.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
981 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
254 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $147 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms inside the main building are bigger and more convenient to getting around the premises.”
Karoobaby, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room furthest from the elevators best - less noise.”
King_Size8888, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the sea”
, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the ocean but those on the upper floors have the bd them to have no ocean view and to be too public.”
Mountainmann, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At the end of the row of rooms at the top”
aluettev, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5