We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Of all the places in the world we've visited, this is the one we return to. It's like a piece of top class heaven. We occupied 4 2-sleeper units in the Lodge to accommodate 8 family members. The units are very spacious and well equipped, serviced daily. Hair dryer, iron, big bath, shower, TV, microwave, stove, kettle, toaster, fridge, washing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelBabeSA
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TravelBabeSA Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad to hear that you found the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and its service to be of immaculate standard and that this is one property that you will return to. It was our pleasure having you stay at our 'piece of top class heaven', and...

Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

Tranquil, beautiful and picturesque... there was a soft drizzle for about 2 nights while I was here,I sat on the balcony ordered champagne and literally closed my eyes as I enjoyed the sounds of nature blending perfectly well with the subtle rain. Yes we went around Durban,Ballito,Umhlanga during the day and did what tourists do but my highlight was always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ladubbel
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ladubbel We loved receiving your feedback of your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us. From the tranquil and picturesque scenery to the sounds of nature blending with the rain as you sipped away on champagne, we understand why this was the highlight of your stay in KwaZulu...

Mysore, India
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This place is unique and the service was above par. The rooms are very cozy and the balcony facing the forest and lush green garden. They provided fairly good Veg breakfast ( a little rare in SA) and the dinner was also very good. More than any thing, the attitude of the staff was extremely good. Worth staying at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GURURAJA
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GURURAJA Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that you found the staff and the service to be extremely good. We look forward to welcoming you back to our unique and beautiful property, and offering you another memorable stay...

Reviewed 24 April 2015

We're a family of 5 and have just spent a wonderful week here. Idyllic location, not crowded, very friendly staff. The rooms are very big and we had no problems fitting in all 5 of us for a game of Monopoly. At dusk and dawn the monkeys come and visit and provide good entertainment. Keep your balcony doors shut when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcborl
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marcborl We are so thrilled to hear that you had a lovely family getaway at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We loved hearing that you were able to make use of our spacious rooms for a game of Monopoly with your family. We hope that you will be back again in the near...

Reviewed 24 April 2015

I stayed at the Fairmont Zimbali for about a week. It is important to note that Zimbali and the Fairmont gated community is said to be one of the most opulent and exclusive areas in all of South Africa. The locals know that the property is reserved for the most elite guests. Keep in mind that this gated community houses...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hotel_Sam
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hotel_Sam Thank you for your lovely review of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. We are so glad that you loved the property and the surroundings within the estate. We strive to deliver excellent service to all of our guests, and I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive. Please accept our...

Lower Heyford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

I recently booked to stay at Zimbali Lodge as I needed a few days quiet in the midst of a few hectic weeks. I had done no research, so had no expectations. On arrival at the Zimbali complex, I was feeling let down with my choice as the complex looked very built up, and when I arrived at the resort,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucles
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lucles Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are so glad to hear that although you did not have expectations before arriving at Fairmont Zimbali, that we were able to deliver exactly what you were hoping for - a peaceful getaway. From the helpful and friendly staff that made your stay more...

Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

We stay in durban and ballito a short drive away we were pleasantly surprised. A real get-away zimbali is nestled in a jungle. Our room facing the golf course. Overall the service was to international standards. Hotel manager Mayar i think his name made our stay more memorable. Linked to fairmont zimbali resort that a wide range of swimming pools....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahdiy4
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mahdiy4 Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and that found the service to be that of international standards. We strive to deliver engaging service that ensures that guests feel valued, and I am so glad that Maye and the rest...

Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

What a shame the room service is so appalling here. It's a great venue, beautiful hotel and the food (when it arrives) is lovely. Sadly on more than one occasion during our stay we were terribly let down by the room service. Waiting 2 hours for service in my opinion is unacceptable with no explanation or compensation offered. Not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidimercedes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Heidimercedes Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We would like to extend our apologies for the challenges that you faced with our In Room Dining service during your stay with us recently. We are sorry to hear that you left feeling disappointed and that this hindered your stay. We are reviewing the situation and will ensure...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We booked to spend Easter here with my family. The hotel was busy as one expects for the holidays. Our rooms were dirty and late (5pm) , the main restaurant closed due to a function for a whole week,with no warning at the time we booked, room service over an an hour and half late and part of the order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrIm19NW
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Prim19NW Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to extend our apologies for any inconveniences that you may have experienced during your stay with us. We are sad to hear that there was a delay with your room on check in and that you had some challenges with our In Room...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We stayed at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for one night before flying to East London from Durban International Airport. The location is superb if you need to be close to Durban International Airport. The lodge is easy to find - plenty of free parking and only about 30 mins from the airport. The colonial style room has its charm but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GLJDavies
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GLJDavies Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We value your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge to be a superb location and that you found our pool to be stunning. We are sad to hear that we did not live up to your expectation, and that...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,609 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
936 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
1.4 km away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 22 in Ballito
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $153 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask to be left alone, or you'll be easily annoyed”
 of 5 bubbles KarlKarl_Jacobs, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must !”
 of 5 bubbles HamzaYacoob, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“for families with children I would recommend you stay at the hotel and not the lodge .”
 of 5 bubbles 852rikab, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a higher floor to get an expansive view.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrow2015, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms, just behind reception, have amazing sea views and close enough to the lobby to access the dolphin/whale viewing deck”
  • A view of the main pool from the room
 of 5 bubbles VimalSardar, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5