We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Lovely place to stay! We were pleasantly surprised by the service and friendliness. Not ideal when on business in Durban as it is quite far out - but a definite must if you are looking for a holiday spot. The swimming pool and views are beautiful! The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The only let down is the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delia152
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Delia152 Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay, even though you found the location to be slightly far from where you were conducting your business. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful views at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge as...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I stayed a week at the Lodge. My first few days I was alone and stayed in room 409. It is a lovely room with darkening curtains, a beautiful view, great wifi, and central heat. The bed was nice and had a pillowy yet firm feel. The bartenders are great. I enjoyed the laid back bar in the afternoon around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuntieAnne22
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AuntieAnne22 Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are so glad to hear that you had a terrific stay and that you found the property to be peaceful and beautiful. We are sorry about the challenges that you experienced once you moved to a room to accommodate...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We spent 3 nights at Zimbali Lodge (the Forest Lodge - not the hotel... there is a very big difference). We were looking for some peace and quiet and a place to relax. This was the perfect spot. The lodge rooms are nestled in the coastal forests, and the view from the room is just of the trees. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SH27380
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SH27380 Thank you for sharing your lovely review of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy to hear that this was the perfect location for the peace and quiet that you were after, and that you left feeling completely relaxed . We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Professional, friendly & helpful staff. Best buffet breakfast I have ever had! I have been all around the world and this was THE best by far. Room was very, modern & luxurious. Beautiful and huge grounds. Short stroll to beach front. Spa (one of the best I have been to), gym, multiple pools and gift store.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bebesum01
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bebesum01 Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort and that you found it to be paradise. Thank you for rating our breakfast buffet as the best that you have ever experienced. We will be sure to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

I'm in two minds about the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. On the one hand: beautiful architecture, stunning pool, great setting in a lovely area (rooms are in villas around the grounds), generally good service from friendly staff. On the other (at least when we were there, late July 15), no proper restaurant on site, a very poor a la carte breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G D
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear G D Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful architecture of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, as well as the stunning rim flow pool and the great service that you received from our friendly staff. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Our room was comfortable, intimate, and clean. The staff were friendly and always greeted. There was a good variety for breakfast . We walked down to the beach and saw game and a variety of bird life. Don't expect to leave the Lodge much, you will be absorbed by the tranquility and the time will fly past. Dinner at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesShades
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JamesShades Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing getaway at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our friendly staff. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Zimbali again...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed two nights as a stopover to our Safari vacation. I was extremely disappointed in the quality of this hotel, having stayed at Fairmont's in other parts of the world before. I learned my lesson and will not choose a hotel in the future based on the reputation of the brand. After we had booked, but before we arrived,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Larry S Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are saddened to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations and that you left feeling disappointed. We would like to apologise for the challenges experienced with the shuttle service as well...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Lodge is set in dense natural coastal forest which gives it a surreal tropical ambiance. At night we could hear nocturnal animal calls and in the morning we were woken with bird song. Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom including a big tub and spacious shower. Service up at the Resort was fantastic! I found the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skoees
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Skoees Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the natural scenery of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge left a lasting impression on you. We always strive to deliver service that is engaging and we are very happy to hear that this...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

I've heard so much about Zimbali Lodge that it's an uncompromised 5 Star, indeed it is, my family and I love the place, as there is so much to do here ranging from Good restaurants, incredible surrounding and perfect views of the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdorableDoris
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AdorableDoris Thank you for sharing your review of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to live up to your expectation and that you and your family love our property, as well as all that it has to offer. We hope that you will be back again in the near...

Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

After reading some bad reviews about the place I could not find anything wrong with this awesome place on the natal North coast. Golf course was awesome. Did not play but drove a cart around it twice. breakfast was super, had dinners at a couple of their restaurants and all our needs were met. The rooms are revamped and fit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pierre P
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pierre P We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that all your needs were met. We are glad that you found the rooms to be fit for a king. Thank you...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,608 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
936 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
1.4 km away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 22 in Ballito
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $153 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask to be left alone, or you'll be easily annoyed”
 of 5 bubbles KarlKarl_Jacobs, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must !”
 of 5 bubbles HamzaYacoob, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“for families with children I would recommend you stay at the hotel and not the lodge .”
 of 5 bubbles 852rikab, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a higher floor to get an expansive view.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrow2015, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms, just behind reception, have amazing sea views and close enough to the lobby to access the dolphin/whale viewing deck”
  • A view of the main pool from the room
 of 5 bubbles VimalSardar, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5