We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

I'm in two minds about the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. On the one hand: beautiful architecture, stunning pool, great setting in a lovely area (rooms are in villas around the grounds), generally good service from friendly staff. On the other (at least when we were there, late July 15), no proper restaurant on site, a very poor a la carte breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G D
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear G D Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful architecture of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, as well as the stunning rim flow pool and the great service that you received from our friendly staff. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Our room was comfortable, intimate, and clean. The staff were friendly and always greeted. There was a good variety for breakfast . We walked down to the beach and saw game and a variety of bird life. Don't expect to leave the Lodge much, you will be absorbed by the tranquility and the time will fly past. Dinner at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesShades
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JamesShades Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing getaway at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our friendly staff. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Zimbali again...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed two nights as a stopover to our Safari vacation. I was extremely disappointed in the quality of this hotel, having stayed at Fairmont's in other parts of the world before. I learned my lesson and will not choose a hotel in the future based on the reputation of the brand. After we had booked, but before we arrived,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Larry S Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are saddened to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations and that you left feeling disappointed. We would like to apologise for the challenges experienced with the shuttle service as well...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Lodge is set in dense natural coastal forest which gives it a surreal tropical ambiance. At night we could hear nocturnal animal calls and in the morning we were woken with bird song. Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom including a big tub and spacious shower. Service up at the Resort was fantastic! I found the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skoees
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Skoees Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the natural scenery of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge left a lasting impression on you. We always strive to deliver service that is engaging and we are very happy to hear that this...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

I've heard so much about Zimbali Lodge that it's an uncompromised 5 Star, indeed it is, my family and I love the place, as there is so much to do here ranging from Good restaurants, incredible surrounding and perfect views of the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdorableDoris
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AdorableDoris Thank you for sharing your review of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to live up to your expectation and that you and your family love our property, as well as all that it has to offer. We hope that you will be back again in the near...

Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

After reading some bad reviews about the place I could not find anything wrong with this awesome place on the natal North coast. Golf course was awesome. Did not play but drove a cart around it twice. breakfast was super, had dinners at a couple of their restaurants and all our needs were met. The rooms are revamped and fit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pierre P
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pierre P We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that all your needs were met. We are glad that you found the rooms to be fit for a king. Thank you...

Springs, South Africa
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Room was large but very dated and needed renovating. Restaurant only served breakfast, which was a menu on weekdays and buffet at weekend. Other meals could be taken at the resort. The hotel is well situated and after a 15 min walk can reach the sea and swimming pools. Very expensive drinks but nice bar area next to the infinity...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janice Y
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Janice Y Thank you for your sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the bar service next to the infinity pool at the Lodge, and that you were able to make use of the other facilities within the estate. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to...

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

We where looking so forward to our break at Zimbali only to be met with disappointment. Services is non exciting, 90% of the services has been closed down at the lodge, which is something they omitted to tell us at the time we made our booking and at the time we booked into the hotel. It's extremely expensive, even by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RonnieB79
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RonnieB79 Thank you for sharing your review with us. We value your feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for the disappointing experience had during your stay with us at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Please can I ask you to send an email to zim.marketing@fairmont.com with all the details of your stay, including all the challenges that you...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Too expensive, over the top cost on drinks (including soft drinks) and cigarettes (more than 2.5 times the cost). Breakfast buffet very basic. Front desk were not prompt as should be for a 5* establishment. One of our room access cards were demagnetized, we handed in before having breakfast, went to conference for the entire day but the card was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RoshneeG2803
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RoshneeG2803 Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We would like to extend our apologies for the issues that you were faced with during your conference at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are sad to hear that you left feeling disappointed by the service and that we did not live up to your expectation....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 June 2015

My wife and I returned to Zimbali lodge after 10 yrs, having had a 5 star experience back in 2005. Wow how things have changed unfortunately not for the better. On our arrival at the lodge we were looking for a quick bite before heading off to a wedding, we were informed that lunch and dinner were no longer served...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kia1tow
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kia1tow Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your recent return to the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not live up to expectation and previous experience. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused with the closure of our lunch and dinner restaurant at the Lodge. We would also like...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,652 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
954 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $139 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the ocean but those on the upper floors have the bd them to have no ocean view and to be too public.”
 of 5 bubbles Mountainmann, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At the end of the row of rooms at the top”
 of 5 bubbles aluettev, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask to be left alone, or you'll be easily annoyed”
 of 5 bubbles KarlKarl_Jacobs, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must !”
 of 5 bubbles HamzaYacoob, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5