We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse

  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Start your review of The Boathouse
 Click to rate
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's just such a great position ! Family orientated and a wonderful vieuw ! I always have the sea vieuw rooms !! They have the nicest wildest and untouched beach and friendly reception ! It's close by many nice restaurants and a daily trip to durban is only 48 km away ! Great shopping centers good restaurants but staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hekpoortheksie
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wedding was held recently at the Boathouse. I had rented the Penthouse for the night before the wedding and the day of the wedding, as well as one of the function rooms that had the ocean view. I have to say in all honesty, this venue is over priced and service levels extremely low. For what my fiancé and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nirissa
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

DEAR GUEST, Thank you very much for your review. December is our peak season, when we quoted you, you did agree to the Price and our prices were given to you way ahead of time. We are very sorry that you might feel that our Rates are overpriced. When a guest books our venue, the venue is available to the...

Umzinto
Reviewed 10 January 2017

reading the reviews below actually puts me in total dismay,is this the same place my hubby and I stayed at on the 8 and 9 January 2017 as we don't agree with any of the sad reviews below. I guess its left to ones own discretion. Our experience was totally amazing,from smiling friendly staff at reception to a fantastic clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Good afternoon dear Guest! Thank you very much for staying with us on the start of your new journey as Mr and Mrs! We wish you lots of Love, Peace, Prosperity and Happiness on your new Journey together! Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Establishment. It warms our hearts as an Establishment and also...

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We have spent a weekend at the Boathouse mid December. We were dissapointed as we feel we paid way too much for what we got (+R 2700 per night), hence my review. This is a 4 star guesthouse but does not deserve this grading. Apart from the reception area everything looks a bit dirty and not well maintained (trash on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lien F
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our Establishment. We really appreciate it. We are proud to announce that we have ordered very exclusive brand new Deck Lounge chairs and received them on 3 January 2017. They were placed around our Pool area for our Guests comfort. They are highly recommended and very...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We actually stayed here in 2008, and it was amazing and we vowed to return when next we went to the coast. However it appears that the place has changed owners Don't even know where to start. This hotel is terrible now and seems more of a money making operation, and not even remotely close to value for money I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddieca
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Good day Sir! We really appreciate you taking the time to write the review on how we can better our Service to our valued Customers. We are truly sorry and apologize for your inconvenience and have taking very serious measures to correct these findings. I would just like to take this opportunity to assure you we view these complains in...

Vadstena, Sweden
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Really crappy hotel considering the prices they charge. The rooms are very small and I've got bigger cupboards at home then the bathroom. The pooldeck is broken in several places and there is only six lounge chairs by the pool, with very dirty and thin mattresses - to some of the chairs not all of them. Their couldn't charge my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHede1979
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Good morning Sir! Thank you very much for your review. I truly appreciate your feedback on the areas where we can better our Service to you. I sincerely apologise that upon arrival, you could not immediately use the Credit Card Facility, but sometimes, on very few occasions, the machines will loose signal with the Bank, and its not on our...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Very adequate rooms, food and services - just a few minor maintenance issues). Fair value for money - great location - nice walks along the boardwalk and / or beach. Falling asleep at night with the sound of the surf is a great way to spend a holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrisbaneNugget
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We were on training at the Boathouse and had booked in for a few nights, we had asked for 3 conference rooms which all were prepared just the way we wanted them. Without doubt the Boathouse is one of the most beautiful hotels I had stayed in one of the favourite hotels I stayed in, the pictures on the web...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonesjanine31
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Janine! Thank you very much in taking the time to Review our Establishment! We really appreciate the kind words. We strive every minute of our day to be of Excellent Service to our Customers and we are really happy to get such positive feedback! Warmest regards Adri Robertson / General Manager Boathouse

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My family and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Boathouse. It's difficult to understand how the hotel is rated as a 4 star facility. We booked a luxury sea facing family room. The main room was spacious but the kids' "room" was basically a bunk bed. It was very difficult to access the cupboard with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisha C
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Lisha C Thank you for your Review. We are very sorry that you experienced your stay like this. And I thank you for your contribution in order for us to ensure our Important Guests enjoy their stay with us to the max! We experienced a very bad storm, hence the damages you might have seen, but we were already...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Last night we stayed at the Boathouse only to find out that there was a 21st birthday party including a disco below our room which started around 8 pm and lasted until 2 at midnight. The sliding doors and bed were rattling. Also, the room was right above the reception which did not help either. When talking to the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaHadida
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear SaHadia! Thank you very much for your review of you stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Please allow me to offer my apologies for the noise that impacted your stay. The sound from functions are not always impactful, but we will try to lower...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballito hotels
2.8 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
95 reviews
1.2 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
355 reviews
2.8 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
0.9 km away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 22 in Ballito
326 reviews
0.3 km away
Ballito Backpackers
Ballito Backpackers
#13 of 16 in Ballito
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: 33 Compensation Beach Road | PO Box 1166, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boathouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 3 very nice with sweet tantalizing aromas from the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles melissasR6758TC, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 1!!”
 of 5 bubbles eddieca, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worth paying a little extra for best rooms upstairs with balconies overlooking surf”
  • View from balcony of room 8 as an example
 of 5 bubbles BrisbaneNugget, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a sea facing room”
  • Broken hinge on door
  • Rotting cupboard
 of 5 bubbles lishac2014, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“north side suites are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles D9454LCmark, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5