We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Thornhill Safari Lodge

    Portion 144 of the Farm Guernsey 81 KU, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
    Best prices for your stay
    03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    SAVE US$5
    Traveller (221)
    Room & Suite (50)
    Dining (13)
    • Excellent77%
    • Very good18%
    • Average3%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Family Rooms
    Laundry Service
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Thornhill Safari Lodge
    Deals (9)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Standard Double Room
      View Deal
    • Standard Room (twin)
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room: 1683461661
      View Deal
    View all 9 deals from US$161
    Legend Golf and Safari Resort
    256 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
    Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
    346 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Phalaborwa
    Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
    311 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Phalaborwa
    The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
    156 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Tzaneen
    Write a Review
    Reviews (379)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 276 reviews

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Great people, happy faces, beating drums alert you to meals, good food, well stocked bar, clean huts (luxury), clean comfortable beds with nets, refreshing swimming pool perfect for the end of a busy day surrounded by wildlife. We were visited by troops of small monkeys...More

    Thank Stacey R
    Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

    Five stars is not enough for this lodge. Our stay was absolutely fantastic. Thank you to Leanne and Charmaine for making us feel like one of the family, and the food was amazing. Can't wait to get back again.

    Thank Amanda M
    Reviewed 26 June 2017

    Thank you Leanne, Daniel and Curtis for making our stay so enjoyable. From the Braai to the Viewing Platform to the beautiful cold beers and the exceptional wine list - oh and did I mention the great food and the game animals... Imagine our delight...More

    Thank Beth B
    Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

    This was my first safari, and I am so glad I chose Thornhill. They arranged game drives in both private game reserves and in Kruger national park. All staff and guides were incredibly knowledgeable. Charmaine and Martin were absolutely the best hosts anyone could ask...More

    Thank Brooke M
    Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

    I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights and we were blown away by our hosts Charmaine and Leanne who looked after us so well. They were very knowledgeable of the area and the organised trips were fantastic to visit Kruger and the surrounding...More

    1  Thank Laura H
    Legend Golf and Safari Resort
    256 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
    Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
    346 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Phalaborwa
    Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
    311 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Phalaborwa
    The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
    156 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Tzaneen
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • US$177 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 13
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, South African Hotels, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thornhill Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Limpopo Province >
    • Hoedspruit
    • Also Known As
    • Thornhill Safari Hotel Hoedspruit ,
    • Thornhill Safari Lodge Hoedspruit, Limpopo
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (221)
    Room & Suite (50)
    Dining (13)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Hotel & Grounds (185)
    Bathroom (17)
    Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
    311 reviews
    64.42 km away
    Legend Golf and Safari Resort
    256 reviews
    245.70 km away
    Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
    346 reviews
    65.00 km away
    The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
    156 reviews
    124.24 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
    409 reviews
    25.52 km away
    Potluck Boskombuis
    313 reviews
    35.04 km away
    Austrian Coffee Estate
    6 reviews
    36.50 km away
    Cala la Pasta Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
    285 reviews
    25.61 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Camp Jabulani Elephant Experience
    74 reviews
    14.64 km away
    Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
    796 reviews
    21.56 km away
    Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
    29 reviews
    30.96 km away
    Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre
    718 reviews
    7.35 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    20 July 2017|
    Response from SKItourists | Reviewed this property |
    Tea and coffee on tap in the main area. Sockets in the room, so bring your kettle if you wish -if you have time to use it before the 0530 start for the safari. Great place, authentic and memorable. Well run with excellent... More
    Bernard L
    28 December 2014|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from Thornhill1 | Property representative |
    Hi Bernard, Sorry for the delay via this mode of media but I've been away on leave, albeit I see that you have had some excellent advise. I did respond via your facebook enquiry and I know that my reservation team have been... More
    Room Tips
    "Small compound, the silence is deafening, fantastic"
    Read review
    "wildlife on your balcony"
    Read review
    "Be prepared to spend a fortune on water"
    Read review
    "All the rooms are the same."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing