We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vuyani Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vuyani Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vuyani Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 411: English reviews
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a 5 night safari a week ago and had the best time ever. From the minute we were greeted at the airport the hospitality was fantastic. The lodge is beautiful and the game drives awesome. Tayla and her staff are wonderful and our guides, Hendrick and Aggie, did an amazing job tracking cheetah, lion, leopard, rhino and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlisonS917
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alison, What a lovely review! :-) many, many thanks! It's so lovely to read when our guests enjoy and appreciate all we offer at our lodge. And yes, it is our strict policy to be very generous across the board when it comes to what makes a stay memorable: food, drinks, room cleaning & tidying, safaris, braais ... those...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I'm not usually one to gush but the week we recently spent at Vuyani was one of the best ever. If you want excitement, service, peace and relaxation then this is for you. We elected to take the transfer by road organised by the lodge and although it's another 6 hours in the car after an already long flight we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MikeJulier
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mike, What a lovely review! So detailed, and it is always nice to get praise for all the work. We are indeed very proud of the team, and of what has been achieved. We work in one of the most challenging nature environments, so it's all the more rewarding to hear when we make our guests' stay comfortable and...

Reviewed 19 December 2016

Stayed here a few nights recently. The main lodge was under construction which was kind of disappointing, but we were provided with an room upgrade which was nice. The main pool was still open but wish we could have had access to the second level deck on main lodge. The upgraded presidential suite was very nice-large with hot tub. We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gary k
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Many thanks for leaving us a review. We always take criticism very seriously, and so we took a particularly close look at all points you raise. We are alarmed by a fairly large amount of inaccurate/factually false points you are raising. Our socket converters are not for sale for ZAR450 per piece, but only ZAR150/piece which is less...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I would just like to echo pretty much every other review here and say that the safari experience here was superb and all of the staff back at the lodge made the remainder of the time relaxing and enjoyable. Two things I'd like to mention are firstly our guide and tracker, Uyai and Aggy, went above and beyond what I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Many thanks for this super kind review. Indeed, I dont mind moving bookings, if it works. I am happy it all worked out for you and that you could see the game! Aggi and Uyani are extremely appreciative of your comments, and they are sending their regards! All our best wishes for a Happy New Year! Please do...

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

After reading all the positive reviews, we had extremely high expectations. Boy did they get blown out of the water! Starting with the beautiful & tastefully decorated reception dining area then being introduced to our honeymoon suite, wow just wow! A traditional round thatched chalet with a gorgeous 4 poster bed in the middle, huge bathroom and outdoor shower. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lisamerton
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, I am so touched, I really am! It's such a pleasure to hear that after these 2 tough years for you, something so dear to you came true, and that it was all you expected it to be, and by the sounds of it, even more than that. I could not possibly be happier! :-) It was an...

Reviewed 3 December 2016

From the moment we stepped foot in Vuyani, we had an amazing experience. The presidential suite was great. The food every day and night was fantastic. We had game drives with Uyai and Krest and they were ideal guides. We had a lot of fun with both of them. I still try to pronounce everything in Uyai's voice. Every game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celder989
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

This is amazing! Many, many thanks! A honeymoon is arguably the most important trip in a lifetime, so it's all the more rewarding to hear that you have so many memories to cherish. There is nothing better than a safari for a honeymoon, that's just my opinion of course. Uyai and Krest enjoyed spending time with you, showing you the...

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Like many of you I read the reviews and thought this this is the place to visit as a Safari was a dream of mine since I was a child. We did a self drive to the Lodge, as we were travelling around,fairly straight forward. Lots of speed traps!. Rooms, food and welcome were all lovely, and then instruction and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnFoster352
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John, What can I say? There are no words to express how proud we are when we hear that we were able to meet the expectations for a trip that has been a lifelong dream of yours. Jesse has very much enjoyed spending time with you, showing you the impressive and beautiful wildlife that lives freely on our reserve....

Formby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We enjoyed a 5 night stay at this beautiful lodge. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who were all great food was excellent. All inclusive meant all inclusive with room and mini bar stocked daily. It is a really social holiday with the lodge only having 10 rooms so 20 guests at a time sharing two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frank K
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Frank, Many thanks for the lovely review you left us. Hendrick and Aggy are sending their regards, they really enjoyed spending time with you out in the African bush, showing you the many amazing animals that call Moditlo their home. We are all delighted that you had a great time here, enjoyed the food and the time spent with...

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Even if we spent the rest of our lives travelling and had an unlimited budget, I have no doubt that our 5 night stay at the Vuyani Safari Lodge will always remain within the top few most wonderful and memorable experiences of our lives. The presidential suite that we stayed in could not be faulted in any way and was...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Alan367
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Or 7 stars, so that we can compare to the Burj al-Arab. ;-) Just kidding ... you have elft us one of the most amazing reviews we have ever received, and on top of that, your review was an "anniversary" review. It is our 400th! We are so pleased, and, dare I say, proud. Many thanks for taking time to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 November 2016

My mother and I booked a trip to South Africa to celebrate her 65th birthday and #1 on her bucket list and Vuyani Safari Lodge exceeded all our expectations. From the moment we arrived the service and attention to detail was outstanding. The lodge itself was stunning and the rooms were impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. (The bed was so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Naomi B
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Naomi, I have no words to say how happy I am to hear that we exceeded your expectations for this No.1 item on your mum's bucket list. I think there is a very good reason it was No.1 in the first place ... an African safari is indeed something out of this world. I am also glad that you...

656 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (634)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (393)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
5.6 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,531 reviews
9.5 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
413 reviews
3.9 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
543 reviews
10.6 km away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 99 in Hoedspruit
239 reviews
14.9 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 99 in Hoedspruit
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Vuyani Safari Lodge is located on the Moditlo Private Game Reserve within the Blue Canyon Conservancy which is more than 36,000 acres in size. Located next to the Kruger National Park, at the foot of the Drakensberg mountain range, Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of South Africa's premier luxury safari lodges, in the country's most famous area for African wildlife. The Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of only 3 lodges on this reserve, and with only 10 suites, it offers one of the most exclusive African safari experiences in South Africa. The reserve offers a unique opportunity to observe all of Africa's large game such as the lion, leopard, rhino, elephant, hippo and crocodile as well as some of the very rarest species, amongst others the wild dog, the brown hyena, the ground hornbill, cheetahs and several other highly endangered animals. Almost 400 various species of birds have been counted. Some of the rarest European migratory birds visit the reserve in the European winter months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vuyani Safari Lodge

Address: Moditlo Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: $526 - $921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vuyani Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vuyani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vuyani Safari Hotel Hoedspruit
Vuyani Safari Lodge Hoedspruit, Limpopo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vuyani Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Vuyani Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Presidential suite”
 of 5 bubbles 890katherineb, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we had a room in the main building which as fab, but I'm sure the other rooms were just as good.”
 of 5 bubbles karonparsons, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a Honeymoon Suite - with the outdoor shower!”
 of 5 bubbles G1835LQsharonm, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms excellent. Beds luxurious. Great bathroom facilities. Presidential suites have private jacuzzis on the deck outside.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyTilley1, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all the lodges are luxurious and the prices does not break the bank.”
 of 5 bubbles Cheryl100761, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5