We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kubu Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Kubu Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kubu Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 28: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Unfortunately the lodge is not worth its high fees, and the website photos are very deceiving, and that is upsetting. If you are hoping to get the mountains scenic view that you find on the website photos, forget it! Those beautiful hills on the website cannot be seen from the lodge, in fact they are far away from Kubu Lodge,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Paula C
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Staying at Kubu Lodge we experienced nothing but good will and hospitality from the owners. The lodge has a great location, comfortable and cosy rooms of a good size and tasty food. What else does one need for a lovely holiday? We can only recommend it! All the best to Nicole and Manfred from Aneta and Dirk (Berlin)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atinkasz
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Beautifull environment near Kruger Park, very comfortable accomodation with good service by friendly and hospitable people. Even with a few guests, breakfast and dinner are well provided for. The owners are very pleasant people, willing to take time and share their knowledge and experiences. The staff is charming and cheerful. They make you want to stay a lot longer....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bonder6
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We stayed at Kubu on our trip around South Africa and were pleased that we had at last found an affordable game farm in the Limpopo area. My kids, 5 and 16 months were treated by the staff like royalty and on the days that activities were not arranged by the owners, they spent most of their time in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisafrika
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My stay at Kubu Lodge was horrible. Prices were over the top, a friend of mine was even charged for a cup of hot water. The owner showed no professional attitude my whole time there. Her customer service disgusted me. And upon our leaving she tried to hustle (swindle) more unecessary charges. My group leader paid an additional great amount...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank nashntulsa
Kubulodge, Owner at Kubu Safari Lodge, responded to this review

All these negative reviews result from one group of American missionaries staying at Kubu Safari Lodge. They groups tourleader responsible for the main account breeched the contract and refused to pay the contracted value. This group who claimed to bring prosperity and the word of God to the African people exploited our great hospitality and friendliness to the outmost. As...

Reviewed 17 December 2010

A great experience was dampened by the atmosphere created by the owner of Kubu Safari Lodge. In their effort to extract more money every single glass of water or cup of coffee came with a rediculous charge. The unfriendly and stingy attitude left us feeling uncomfortable and unwelcomed. Very unprofessional and rude to my group leader. Hospitality would have had...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank billjnash
Harrisburg, Oregon
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I would do all that i could do to stay away from staying at the Kubu Safari Lodge. Even though the accomodations look wonderful, and the outside is well kept, the attitude of the owner's remove the peace and joy one should have in staying next to Kruger National Park. I persoanlly witnessed such thrift, and frugality in the staff's...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank trishfras
Fenton, Missouri
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I stayed at the Kubu Lodge with several friends, the leader of our group made the arrangements, however upon arriving, during the duration, & upon our exit the hosts continually changed the arrangements finding continual ways to swindle us out of more & more money, I was charged for asking for hot water (for my own tea bag in my...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank rljones7777

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
2.3 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 96 in Hoedspruit
245 reviews
0.9 km away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#2 of 15 in Hoedspruit
52 reviews
20.1 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#6 of 96 in Hoedspruit
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#29 of 96 in Hoedspruit
131 reviews
43.1 km away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#11 of 96 in Hoedspruit
125 reviews
2.4 km away
Loerie Guest House
Loerie Guest House
#54 of 96 in Hoedspruit
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kubu Safari Lodge offers exceptional close wildlife encounters deep in the African Bushveld of the Kruger National Park. Warm hospitality and dedicated service welcome you in this luxurious accommodation, where all rooms are designed in a warm African style, enhanced by German craftsmanship and natural materials. Experience unforgettable moments in the stylish Kubu Restaurant or in the romantic Boma and indulge in the most delicate mix of Pan African and Western cuisine which is served under the night sky, complemented by a fine stock of wine. Detailed knowledge of landscape and wildlife through extraordinary tailor-made tours and safaris by multilingual guides underpin the high level of service and will make your stay unique. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kubu Safari Lodge

Address: Argyle Road, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: $131 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kubu Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kubu Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubu Safari Lodge Hoedspruit, Limpopo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kubu Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away and find another lodge”
 of 5 bubbles carole0809, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The location does not matter, the hotel has a great location.”
 of 5 bubbles Alexi7777777, 23 Aug 2013 | Read review
“No aircom!”
 of 5 bubbles PaulaC389, 5 Dec 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay