We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makalali Private Game Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Makalali Private Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Makalali Private Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With thanks to Marvin and Godlove for giving us the best bush experience ever! Bundu bashing at its best. Beautiful location, rooms are great ( Room 102) and currently having an 'upgrade'. The best for a 'get away from it all' we've ever had!! Food what I would all 'basic home cooking' but you wot go hungry! All in all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wonderlust13
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for writing of your experience at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We appreciate the favourable review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Makalali Private Game Lodge after our refurbishment.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the food was really not good. the game viewing was excellent. the rooms need work and are missing a relaxation chair in the main area of the room. the reception area of the lodge has no couches or relaxation area where you can sit and read a book. there is also no area in the reception area that is closed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at Makalali Private Game Lodge. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. We do however appreciate the constructive criticism you have giving through to us. We are currently undergoing construction and upgrades which should address all these concerns. Thank you...

Colombo Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Makalai for three nights in February. The lodge was beautiful. It had an outdoor shower and an outdoor sit out to read during the day. The pool was cool and shady and nothing could have beaten that after a morning game drive. The game drives were outstanding. The team was great. From our trackers to the chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rajeeka
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. Thank you for sharing your impressions of Makalali with others on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the high ratings you have afforded us and hope to see you return one day. Thank you for choosing to make Makalali...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed with you previously in 2012 and fell in love. We booked again in 2014 for our Honeymoon – which was cancelled last minute due to flooding. Awful circumstances for you and stressful for us to rearrange our Honeymoon at such late notice. Booked again back in January to stay for my 30th Birthday and Wedding Anniversary departing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bow5912
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests My sincere apologies to you for us having to cancel your reservation at such short notice. I cannot express to you how disappointed I am that you will not be staying with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. Ussually refurbishments or construction is planned well in advance, however due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to do...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2017

As a South African this game lodge hit all the right notes, in our short stay we managed to come across the big 5 in 4 very enthusiastic and enjoyable game drives. Not only did we see Lion, Leopard, Buffalo, Elephant and Rhino we were treated to amazing sightings of Carakal, Cheetah and the ever elusive wild dog..... what a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carl526
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience of Makalali Private Game Lodge with fellow travellers on Trip Advisor. I am soo pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your tine with us. The game viewing at Makalali is very good and we love to showcase all animals that call Makalali their home. Seeing a caracal is exceptional and I am...

Edmonton, AB
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Had a fantastic 2 night stay at the Em Tomeni Lodge. What a beautiful Lodge! Each individual cabin is superb! Spacious, great king bed, great outdoor shower, great design! Safe, veranda, and separate unique quiet room off the veranda. The meals were superb. Our driver/guide, Shedric is an excellent driver and guide, and he Land Rover vehicle glues anywhere. We...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrKins
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We take such pride in ensuring to try and make each of our guests stay special. I am pleased to read that we seem to have created some wonderful memories and moments for you. Thank you for the high...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Just returned from a weekend in Makalali and wanted to thank everybody in Camp 1 for making our experience really memorable! Loved every minute. Our game drives were among the best we have ever had. The food, room and setting just felt exclusive, secluded and luxurious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 799worldtraveller
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We will definitely sure your feedback with the team at Tandane Camp. Thank you for sharing your your feedback with fellow travellers on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the high scoring you have afforded us. We strive to create special...

Fortaleza, Brazil
Reviewed 27 February 2017

It was a very nice experience. Everything was perfect. We enjoyed a lot and saw many animals - the big seven were there. The lodge services are just wonderful. We recomend this lodge. The only thing we missed is some offers for extra safari in Kruger Park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marininab
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write of your experience with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We take such pride is ensuring that all our guest have a wonderful safari when staying at our lodge. Having the Big 5 as well as cheetah and wild dog on the property can make for a...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

My partner and I have just returned from a three night stay at Makalali Private Game Lodge. It was a truly amazing experience. The service we received was absolutely 5 star from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Our every need was catered for with pleasant smiles, professionalism and all the staff went the extra mile to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dtommasi66
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for sharing your feedback of your stay with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We absolutely love to create memorable moments for all our guests and I am so happy...

Poole
Reviewed 31 December 2016

From the moment we were welcomed with hot towels and a drink, a feature which continued every time we returned from a game drive, to our sad parting from staff we now considered friends the experience was one we will never forget. Accommodation and food of the highest order. The heavy rains that fell during our stay, which brought the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for sharing your review of your experience at Makalali Private Game Lodge on Trip Advisor. I am so very happy to read that your so enjoyed your time with us. The team takes such pride in ensuring that all our guests have a wonderful time with us and leave with many a happy...

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (408)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (260)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
24.2 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
253 reviews
13.0 km away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#8 of 102 in Hoedspruit
242 reviews
6.2 km away
Garonga Safari Camp
Garonga Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Makalali Private Game Reserve
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 102 in Hoedspruit
285 reviews
23.0 km away
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
#4 of 102 in Hoedspruit
343 reviews
15.5 km away
Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makalali Private Game Lodge is a 4 star graded luxury safari lodge situated on a 26000 hectre private game reserve in the Limpopo Province of South Africa. The lodge consists of 3 camps with 6 rooms per camp. Nestled on the banks of a river one can often view animals in and around the camps. Makalali Private Game Lodge offers game drive twice a day to guests which is included in the rate of accommodation. The reserve is home to the big 5 as well as cheetah and wild dog and a number of other plains game and mammals. Over 250 species of birds have been recorded on the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makalali Private Game Lodge

Address: PO Box 809, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: $613 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makalali Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makalali Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makalali Private Game Hotel Hoedspruit
Makalali Private Game Lodge Hoedspruit, Limpopo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makalali Private Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Roodepoort, South Africa
6 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Makalali Private Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are of a high standard and are similar”
287bobc, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“no comments”
atheliah, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Read my review re Family rooms.”
Mom-likes-travelling, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms overlook the river bed and have outdoor showers”
ChaslyB, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
CdnWorldTraveller14, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates