We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Potenza, Italy
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a unique experience. The lodge is as luxurious and cosy as anyone might expect. I wouldn't treat it for any other of its group of lodges. The friendliness of the staff is astonishing. The experience of living in a lodge without any fence is unique. Very comfortable lodge with great services. Will go back again if lucky enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank larry a
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear larry a - Thank you for sharing your Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that the Hoyo Hoyo team took such good care of you. We look forward to your next visit also!

Skukuza
Reviewed 1 week ago

It`s a beautiful place, with very friendly peoples and a very good safari. We have get a very amazing time and a very good food. We had wonderful Christmas, also the dinner. The team was just great. All was perfect we come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryX837EQ
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear maryX837EQ - We're honoured that you chose to spend Christmas here with us at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience, and we wish you all the very best for 2017 - including a speedy return to Hoyo Hoyo!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. was very hot but our room had air conditioning. Staff were excellent, very friendly pleasant. Food was very disappointing for what we paid. Game guide was excellent although we got lucky as the other one was very talkative! Overall nice but not value for money, it seems the owners are looking to maximise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk G
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dirk G - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're glad you enjoyed most aspects of your experience and we will be urgently looking into your comments on your dining experience. We're sorry to hear that you have no plans to return to Hoyo Hoyo.

CHELMSFORD
Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful 5 day stay in November at Hoyo Hoyo, very remote and so relaxing. The staff without exception, were so friendly showing respect for all their guests, Ralph was amazing knowing the names of everyone there and the lady manageress was lovely, the game drives with nicholas were excellent, he was a great guide. Eating breakfast and watching the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anne K - Thank you for taking the time to review Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we very much hope you will visit again soon. We're honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travellers.

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a small lodge with very friendly staff. The layout of the rooms is a bit unusual and this was not helped as we had a lot of luggage The food was ok but not great and the wine was included in our plan. The game viewing was not great caused by some animals moving to another part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panamamike2016
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear panamamike2016 - Thank you for sharing your Hoyo Hoyp Safari Lodge experience. We appreciate the feedback which we will use in our continuous improvement programme going forwards - thank you.

Skukuza
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a stunning lodge, well off the beaten track where you're guaranteed to see most of the big and smaller 5. The service is exemplary but I would hasten to add that when the rain falls - it's necessary to have a 4x4 for access, its a long drive to Skukuza Airport, and the guides are mixed. You should...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinemL2085ZY
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jacquelinemL2085ZY - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we're also grateful for your constructive comments on your safaris, which we will certainly use as part of our programme of continuous improvement.

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...a little cliche, but it really was. This is a small, private lodge (6 units only) and all inclusive. The setting is quite remote - no wifi or phone service...THANK GOD! And the outdoor showers was an experience. The rooms are well appointed and different from any other place I've stayed. The safaris were great - special shout out to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim s
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jim s - Thank you for taking the time to review your Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge "experience of a lifetime". We're thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed every part of your stay at Hoyo Hoyo and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I had the experience of a lifetime at Hoyo Hoyo. I can't imagine a better way to experience all of what the African wilderness has to offer all while enjoying the comfort and hospitality of a five star hotel. The lodge can only host 12 guests at a time so you get to know everyone that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jacob C - Thank you for taking the time to review your Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Hoyo Hoyo and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Our stay at the Hoyo-Hoyo lodge was an unforgettable experience. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Rooms are beautifully decorated and fit in well into the surroundings. The options for food were really good. Most of all, the guides for the game drives were great. Salani, who was our guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable about the animals and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TL1004
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TL1004 - Thank you for recommending Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge to future travellers - that means a lot to us. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

A truly unforgettable experience. The staff were fantastic, the game drives delivered every day and there was so much great food and drink on offer. I would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to everyone as you will not regret it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Emma W - We're delighted to read your review of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge - thank you. It's great to hear how much care our team took of you, that you saw great wildlife - and most of all, we're honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travellers.

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.3 km away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#52 of 167 in Kruger National Park
273 reviews
3.3 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#51 of 167 in Kruger National Park
353 reviews
20.6 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
245.5 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 167 in Kruger National Park
100 reviews
10.5 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
269 reviews
89.6 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 167 in Kruger National Park
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range: $814 - $986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are only six huts at the lodge and all are secluded.”
 of 5 bubbles ANNEKNIGHT1956, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location & view”
 of 5 bubbles PratapPal, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with clear view of the water hole”
 of 5 bubbles rhondap91, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All individual lodges (6)”
 of 5 bubbles Peterobs, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“No special but take number 3 or 4 they are closest to main restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles Kari1961, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay