We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We had a great experience from the food and service at the lodge to the 2 safaris each day. Having a morning coffee break and an evening cocktail in the wild of Africa was wonderful. We appreciated the extra effort to make sure we saw the big 5. A top notch lodge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian And Charl... G
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brian And Charl... G - Thank you for sharing your Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the bushveld hospitality and the successful safaris. Come again soon!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Words aren't enough to portray what an amazing lodge, safari and experience we had. From the moment we arrived the atmosphere and unbelievable staff set the scene. Being greeted with bongos and horns and smiles, inspiration set in and our safari experience was second to nnone. Victor our guide demonstrated sound knowledge and love for the animals and our surroundings....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachaelw288
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear rachaelw288 - Thank you for taking the time to review your Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, especially the safari experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I stayed at Hoyo Hoyo for 4 nights and had an incredible experience. The staff was extremely kind, the food and lodging was fantastic and the drives were absolutely amazing! I'm looking forward to going back some day!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank antonionicoleleec
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear antonionicoleleec - Thank you for sharing your amazing Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Hoyo Hoyo, and that the team here took such good care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hoyo Hoyo soon!

norway
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Beautiful place, bright colours and interesting interiours. Nice bungalows. But nothing beats the wildlife and animals you see from the deck , drinking from Hoyo Hoyos private waterhole.We saw elephants, giraffe, buffalo, deer, hyena,and leopard by the Tony waterhole. The gamedrives were also exellent with a great guide and sightings of lions and the most beautiful leopard only 7 meters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kariNorway
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kariNorway - Thank you for posting your review of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we are honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travellers - thank you.

Potenza, Italy
Reviewed 19 January 2017

This was a unique experience. The lodge is as luxurious and cosy as anyone might expect. I wouldn't treat it for any other of its group of lodges. The friendliness of the staff is astonishing. The experience of living in a lodge without any fence is unique. Very comfortable lodge with great services. Will go back again if lucky enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank larry a
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear larry a - Thank you for sharing your Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that the Hoyo Hoyo team took such good care of you. We look forward to your next visit also!

Skukuza
Reviewed 12 January 2017

It`s a beautiful place, with very friendly peoples and a very good safari. We have get a very amazing time and a very good food. We had wonderful Christmas, also the dinner. The team was just great. All was perfect we come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryX837EQ
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear maryX837EQ - We're honoured that you chose to spend Christmas here with us at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience, and we wish you all the very best for 2017 - including a speedy return to Hoyo Hoyo!

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. was very hot but our room had air conditioning. Staff were excellent, very friendly pleasant. Food was very disappointing for what we paid. Game guide was excellent although we got lucky as the other one was very talkative! Overall nice but not value for money, it seems the owners are looking to maximise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk G
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dirk G - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're glad you enjoyed most aspects of your experience and we will be urgently looking into your comments on your dining experience. We're sorry to hear that you have no plans to return to Hoyo Hoyo.

CHELMSFORD
Reviewed 9 January 2017

A wonderful 5 day stay in November at Hoyo Hoyo, very remote and so relaxing. The staff without exception, were so friendly showing respect for all their guests, Ralph was amazing knowing the names of everyone there and the lady manageress was lovely, the game drives with nicholas were excellent, he was a great guide. Eating breakfast and watching the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anne K - Thank you for taking the time to review Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we very much hope you will visit again soon. We're honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travellers.

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This is a small lodge with very friendly staff. The layout of the rooms is a bit unusual and this was not helped as we had a lot of luggage The food was ok but not great and the wine was included in our plan. The game viewing was not great caused by some animals moving to another part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panamamike2016
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear panamamike2016 - Thank you for sharing your Hoyo Hoyp Safari Lodge experience. We appreciate the feedback which we will use in our continuous improvement programme going forwards - thank you.

Skukuza
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This is a stunning lodge, well off the beaten track where you're guaranteed to see most of the big and smaller 5. The service is exemplary but I would hasten to add that when the rain falls - it's necessary to have a 4x4 for access, its a long drive to Skukuza Airport, and the guides are mixed. You should...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinemL2085ZY
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jacquelinemL2085ZY - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we're also grateful for your constructive comments on your safaris, which we will certainly use as part of our programme of continuous improvement.

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.3 km away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#53 of 171 in Kruger National Park
292 reviews
3.3 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#60 of 171 in Kruger National Park
375 reviews
20.6 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
283 reviews
14.9 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
373 reviews
245.5 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#47 of 171 in Kruger National Park
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range: $564 - $1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are identical and equally spaced in relation to the amenities”
436nigelp, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ANy one of the 6 lodges on site as all as good as each other”
357joannap, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This lodge only accommodates 12 so book early and enjoy!”
judumm, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are great!!”
67palakm, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Close to the waterhole”
kariNorway, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates