We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Birdsong Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Birdsong Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of Birdsong Cottages
 Click to rate
Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room was Sunbird and it suited us well. We were at Songbird for two nights while attending nearby wedding festivities. Actually I would have liked to have spend more time on this property, quietly reading and relaxing in the jacussi - especially as the roads in tthe area were a challenge. Would have been great to just stay put....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my friends had a wonderful time at Birdsong cottages. We rented an 8 sleeper. it was clean and nice. The guides/assistants were also helpful. the only challenge is the 8km road from R101 to the venue. its not nice at all, thank God it did not rain. And only one vehicle can drive on the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sollyjnaidoo
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Solly for your review. We do appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you had a memorable stay. We understand that our dirt road is quite a distance to travel in order for guests to reach our property, but since our location in the heart of the bushveld means that we can offer a unique experience, we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you William and the team. Your place is too beautiful. The quietness and your hospitality is amazing. Thanks a million and see you soon. The place is good for Teambuilding and bonding. The hiking trails while watching game is incredible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 309docm
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

We always enjoy hearing from our guests after they have stayed with us. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to William and the team.

Vaalwater, Limpopo, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a cottage in September '16 for a weekend in Feb 2017; you would think enough time to make sure everything was clean and working. Firstly there was no receipt of the deposit paid in September, we had to phone to find out if reservations actually had us on the books. The messages we left were not replied to....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan S, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for the lack of response from our reservations department. We will be investigating this and take corrective action. We will also be addressing the housekeeping issues you have listed with William and the housekeeping department and apologize profusely for this. We'll...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

First of I had the best experience with William, my friends and I had a warm welcome from him, he made sure everyone was comfortable and regularly checked that we are doing okay. We were staying in the Kingfisher Cottage, the cottage was really beautiful and comfortable, the rooms were set up beautifully. The cleaning lady came in on Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mvraganya
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. We do take note of the gravel road feedback. We can however confirm that as this is a public road maintained by local municipality, all the residents in the area take regular action to keep this road maintained...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I enjoyed the main suite. It was very luxurious. The service was friendly and we didn't struggle to get anything. All the facilities were working. I did not like that the kitchen area was separated from the suites

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thuli3552
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Thuli for your review. As advertised, our Flycatcher Villa does in fact have 3 bedrooms - each with their own private entrance - and a shared kitchen with a separate entrance. We are sorry that this was not to your taste but appreciate that you still enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed 3 January 2017

The location is STUNNING. Beautiful bushveld and within close proximity to Jhb so great for quick getaways. William , the manager is outstanding and very attentive to needs. But apart from William , the venue is understaffed. We had our little cottage serviced on only 2 of my 4 day stay. Pitching up at 6pm in the evening to clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara V
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Cara V. We take note of your feedback and will pass this on to the team to attend to, take note of and action.

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

No water, couldn't even flush the toilets. No TV connection. Dirty / dusty rooms and bathrooms. Kitchen poorly stocked. Will never visit again. I even tried to contact the manager who never phoned me back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 268lizelv
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Lizelle We wish to draw your attention to the letter you had sent us on 21 November at 6:56PM where you confirm in writing that you did in fact speak to Joseph from our Head Office. Following your two letters, our Guest Relations department responded to you on 22 November at 1:17pm, addressing all your feedback. Your post on...

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

The guys really get their best to make your stay comfortable. The rooms were clean. Manager very friendly. We went there as two couples with two kids. So we booked FlyCatcher thinking it's one big room for six. The pictures give this impression so we were disappointed seeing that it's 3 different suites with the Kitchen and dining area separate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SelectorT
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you were under the impression that the rooms were en suite to the main building, but as per all our copy advertised on the web, we do describe the unit as having 3 separate suites sharing the main building. We're happy however that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 18 August 2016

Birdsong was wonderful but the best part of the stay was William Monjeki. His excellent service and help when we lost our keys was remarkable. Thank you William. The place was wonderful, it was unfortunate that the stay was so short.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boyd T
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Birdsong Cottages. We'll be sure to share your review with William, who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
13.9 km away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
301 reviews
7.3 km away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
25 reviews
29.5 km away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Modimolle Funky Stay
Modimolle Funky Stay
#8 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
9 reviews
27.0 km away
Summerset Place Country House
20.4 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#18 of 49 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy farm-life and warm hospitality in our overnight accommodation or self catering units. Choose from a self catered farm stay or enjoy lodgings in the rondavel or our beautiful guest house. This popular bird watching area is within close proximity of the Nylsvley wetlands. Hiking trails on the farm offer breathtaking views. Birdsong is ideal for small functions, conferences, weddings and parties, with a beautiful chapel with seating for 50-60 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birdsong Cottages

Address: Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $74 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdsong Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Birdsong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Birdsong Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“anywhere on the farm.”
 of 5 bubbles sollyjnaidoo, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views and lovely animals as well”
 of 5 bubbles itu2015, 1 May 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have steep stairs, enquire first if you have elderly people”
 of 5 bubbles markthomson248, 30 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a Bosveld Boma, it is a must to experience.”
 of 5 bubbles MagdalenaDeLange, 29 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Sunbird cottage or the Villa”
 of 5 bubbles Jabulani1981, 24 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5