We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kwambali Riverside Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kwambali Riverside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Kwambali Riverside Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The resort is busy being renovated and the lodges are comfortable. We had a braai in the lapa which was very pleasant. The staff are efficient and polite. The lodge is close to Induna adventures for those wanting activities and is close to spas and restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lani M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A beautiful lodge undergoing a stunning transformation. Old world country living transitioning to a more upmarket riverside lodge. Loved the cottage 'feel' on the banks of a rushing ( rain season) Sabie river. The owner and staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. Reading other guests negative comments I'd like to toss in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
Kwambali_Lodge, Manager at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. As you rightly say we are in a transition period, with around half of our cottages having undergone an upgrade - River Cottage is next on...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception area has been redone. It give a great first impression of a well run lodge.That is all that is good of the entire lodge. A big shame that the money was not spent on the guests experience rather. The cottages are terrible. They smell, the beds are old and uncomfortable. The linen is old, damp and dirty. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 382marius
Kwambali_Lodge, Owner at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

It is very unfortunate that guests are allowed to post unverified reviews on sites like Tripadvisor and make the most outrageous allegations which are simply not true. We welcome guest reviews as this helps us to improve our service, but sometimes a review is so far from the truth that a more detailed response is needed. This is one such...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We spent 2 nights in room 10. We didn't enjoy the stay at all, because there were too many lowveld insects along the riverside. I understand that the lodge is situated in the low veld and all that, but it's not a place for people unaccustomed to bugs.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chantal L
Kwambali_Lodge, Owner at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

As you rightly say bugs are a part of life in the Lowveld. Fortunately they are for the most part harmless and can be dealt with by using one's common sense. For example we advise guests not to leave all the lights on at night with the doors and windows open, which is an easy way of solving this 'problem'....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed at this lodge for a week for my husband's birthday. Tracey and Barry were amazing hosts and even though it was not peak season they did everything in their power to ensure that we were comfortable. The staff are very efficient, well informed about the area and very pleasant. We will indeed return at the next opportunity and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aneshree85
Kwambali_Lodge, Owner at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Kwambali. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that your husband's birthday was very special. We will pass your comments onto our staff and look forward to your next visit.

Nigel
Reviewed 8 November 2016

An relaxing place to unwind and close to all attractions in the low veld. Well equipped cottage and neat gardens. Loved the new pool and braai area. Enjoyed the birdlife and walking along the river side.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hzeelie
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

A lovely stay with very friendly staff in beautiful surroundings. The accommodation is pretty modern, beautifully decorated. I certainly would recommend a stay at Kwambali. All the staff we encountered were friendly at all times

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
Kwambali_Lodge, Owner at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we trust we will see you again in the near future.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Kwambali Lodge is located close to all amnesties. Induna Adventurous completed my excursions. We really had fun and some refreshing outing. The cleanliness of the area outside...pools, the yard, the restuarant and all other facilities and the cleanliness of the room too is really something that makes one to consider coming back soon. We really had enjoyable moments!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Makgabo
Kwambali_Lodge, Owner at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Citrusdal, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

very nice clean place with friendly and helpful staff. you can go rest your soul and mind at this lodge. it is situated near all things you want to see and do. this stay bring you close to nature and i can recommend a stay at this lodge

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanelie C
Kwambali_Lodge, Owner at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the peace and tranquillity while still being close to civilisation and tourist sights. Nothing gives us greater pleasure than to share this with our guests.

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. Good value for money. Good service from staff. Very friendly Rooms are kind of old but clean. Fully furnished for self catering. All overlooking the river. New pool area is very nice. What I loved about this place is the sound of the river and the birds. It's very peaceful indeed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nobuhle N
Kwambali_Lodge, Owner at Kwambali Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're in the process of renovating all our rooms. Please have a look at our website for pictures of some of the renovated cottages - cottages 6 and 12 (six bed) and cottage 10 (four bed). We will be updating a further three cottages this year and the remainder early next year. We will also...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.3 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.7 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
364 reviews
0.0 km away
Bush Baby Glen
Bush Baby Glen
#10 of 43 in Hazyview
104 reviews
19.7 km away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 43 in Hazyview
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only four hours' drive from Johannesburg, Kwambali Riverside Lodge offers the ideal tranquil setting from which to explore the Lowveld and Escarpment. Situated 12km from Hazyview, close to scenic drives and tourist attractions and only 18km from the Kruger National Park. Four and six sleeper fully equipped self-catering cottages overlook the Sabie river. Experience Lowveld hospitality at its best! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kwambali Riverside Lodge

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: $77 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kwambali Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kwambali Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kwambali Riverside Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kwambali Riverside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps there could be just a few more handy kitchen utensils.”
 of 5 bubbles vanessamO2224RJ, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose Cottages 1 -6 if you want a good view of the RIver. But South side cottages if you want quieter rooms and space.”
 of 5 bubbles SelectorT, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We loved our bungalow (which I think was no.5) but all the bungalows looked lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles KChristou, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All cottages have river views”
 of 5 bubbles hannesb555, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No complaints. It is not a 5 star resort but then a 5 star would would spoil the experience out there.”
 of 5 bubbles francoisr500, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5